We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afton Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Afton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thank you for a wonderful 2 night stay. Very relaxing even sid (the dog) had a great time. Food was good staff very friendly hotel was lovely and location was amazing 2min walk to the pier and beach 5min walk to the shopping centre could'nt get any better :) already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karthy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and I'm very pleased that Sid also enjoyed his stay. We'll look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    103
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
62
117
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently as part of a group booking . Room on 3rd floor with sea view,room was clean and tidy, shower had poor flow but believe it is work in progress, all staff were pleasant and friendly, food was good with plenty of variation.
Position of hotel is excellent , easy access to town centre , pier,bus to Beachy head etc.
missed most of evening entertainment as within walking distance of decent pubs and theatres , decent bar area and lounges in the hotel with reasonable drink prices
All of group enjoyed the stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickorafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us but I'm sorry that you experienced a poor water flow in your shower. One or two of the showers on the third floor have been suffering with a lack of water pressure but we're hoping that this has now been sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed as part of a bowls tour and when we arrived the cases were unloaded and put in our room whilst we had a much needed drink in the bar. The manager (Jason) was brilliant and when we mentioned the shower head was cracked he got maintenance to change it straight away. The menu had a good variety and our food was hot, well prepared and served quickly. Our waiter (Steve) was great and very efficient. Bar prices no higher than most nearby pubs. The room was clean and tidy and had everything that would be expected.

The Afton is well placed for all the local amenities and buses run regularly from across the road (even though we didn't get time to take advantage of them).

Overall, the stay was very enjoyable and I'd like to compliment your staff for doing such a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
I'm grateful for your wonderful review and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll make sure that Jason & Steve are aware of your kind comments. We hope to be a bit smarter next time you visit as I've been round all the bedrooms today and I hope to be able to soon put right all the little things that inevitably need doing in a busy & well used hotel like ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from another stay at the Afton, I think this was our 3rd stay so far this year. We were booked in by the owner, a charming man he even offered to move the hotel's van so we could park in his space. As usual all the staff were polite and friendly. We usually book for the evening meal too, and were not disappointed a good choice for starters, main and dessert.
Breakfast was good too. Entertainment in the hotel last night was excellent, we really enjoyed it. Hopefully our next stay at the Afton will incorporate a Monday night so we can hear the singer/guitar player again. Thank you for another great stay, keep up the good work how you manage to keep your standards up on such reasonable rates is brilliant. Hopefully see you again soon

Room Tip: We had room a corner room on the 1st floor, nice room, nice large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments. We'll look forward to welcoming you when you next visit us. I agree that our guitarist on a Monday night is particularly good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

What can I say,stayed 7 nights at this lovely hotel,we had a first class room with flat screen tv and en-suite bathroom ,the room had a balcony overlooking the pier the perect location for us with lots to see and do all week including the airshow. The room was clean and comfortable,a fantastic cleaner who kept the room spotless as well as being a very pleasant girl
The hotel is very well managed with friendly and helpful staff on reception, the waiter we had serving us went out of is way to please everybody.
The meals were very well prepared and delicious with a meat,fish and vegetarian option.
Nightly entertainment as well as free WiFi downstairs.
We would definately use this hotel again Top Marks and Thank you ALL for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A room in the front is an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
How wonderful that you enjoyed your stay so much. Don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything we can do to make any future stay just as successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned home from the Afton after a blissful ten day break. Home from home comfort, food plentiful, fresh and a wide selection. All staff polite, cheerful and always helpful which makes a happy atmosphere for all guests. Room was kept spotless with fresh linen by hardworking housekeeping staff, nothing was too much trouble, a happy bunch!
Afton is my Gold Standard hotel, Eastbourne's Secret!

Thank you for a lovely holiday.
Sylvia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Getting such a great review like yours makes all our efforts seem worthwhile and it's put a huge smile on my face. I'll make sure that all the staff are aware of your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

A relative in Eastbourne booked the Afton for us, and having read the reviews I was looking forward to our 3 night stay. On arrival I was still feeling positive, and the gentleman on reception was very helpful, particularly when I asked if there were 2 rooms available instead of the family room which had been booked for us. There were 3 reasons why I requested a change of room. Firstly the bunk beds were EXTREMELY rickety, they literally rocked when they were gently pushed. Secondly, the room was very warm and as it looked out onto a roof, had very little air flow. We were given the last fan but it was a tiny thing and not fit for purpose. Thirdly, the room was VERY tatty with marks on the walls and a stained carpet.
To be honest, the double and twin room we were then given were equally tatty but we had little choice but to accept them. I was very disappointed to see that the carpets in both rooms had burn marks and lots of staining, the bed sheets had large rips in them and the chairs were also stained. The hotel beyond the reception area is in DIRE need of redecorating, refurbishing and a deep clean.
To further spoil our stay, the noise outside the hotel on 2 of the 3 nights was horrendous. It wasn't just a case of a few people leaving the pier late on, it was hoards of people shouting and swearing beyond 2am! I realise that there is little the hotel can do about this aside from installing air conditioning and fitting double glazed windows but I think it needs mentioning.
Finally, the breakfasts let the hotel down. The cutlery and crockery wasn't particularly clean, the coffee served was clearly a cheap brand and the food was average at best.
The one saving grace were the staff, most of whom were very helpful. Unfortunately they can't make up for the very tired state of the hotel or the noise issues.

Room Tip: Although a sea view is lovely it also means that you are opposite the pier which means a lot of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I'm so very sorry that your visit was disappointing. I'm aware that some of our rooms need updating and I am actively investing in doing this now by renewing carpets and so on. Unfortunately, we were full when you arrived and there were few rooms left. There is certainly no need for ripped sheets and this is the first time I've ever been aware of this. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeper. The same goes for the cutlery which you said wasn't clean - there is no excuse for this and i am following it up. Most people seem to enjoy the food at breakfast which is plentiful and fresh. We have more sophisticated coffee available in the bar upstairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#28 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing