We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

we stayed at the afton for 3 nights recently and the hotel was spotless, the room had a balcony overlooking the pier and had a comfy bed , nice shower and everything you may need. the staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them, breakfast was loverly and entertainment was ok, we are retired and were on the 1st floor but as the hotel has a lift this was not a problem. if you stay here see the reception to get parking permits which last from 11 am to 11 am next day and only cost a £1 a day. all in all great value for money and nice people.

Room Tip: every thing was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
I'm very pleased you had a great stay and that you found the hotel comfortable and the staff helpful. It's just what we would always aim for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    103
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
62
117
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We hadn't pre-booked this hotel, but the staff could not have been more friendly, accommodating and helpful. Very reasonable, clean rooms with nice hot shower and a 60s, 70s night thrown in... great stay right on the sea front. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaisleyStainesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday while staying with us. Making our guests feel welcome & looked after is the most important thing about running a hotel after all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just needed one nights accommodation for a girlie shopping and site seeing trip (herstmonceux castle - beautiful grounds ) and this was reasonable enough. I did find it cheaper to book direct with the hotel paying £70 for a twin with breakfast, rather than £68.00 for room only. room was comfortable and clean but very small, bathroom well let's just say if your over 14 stone and 5 ft 10 ask for a bigger bathroom as quiet a squeeze to get in the shower as you need to get in from an angle! Very friendly staff always had a smile. The only few down sides were the noise of party goers in the street below, the chatting at 4:30 am from the room next door and a lack of choice of hot food.... Come on it's not a full English without mushrooms and hash browns right! But what we did have was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us although I'm very sorry you were disturbed by people in the street at an unsocial hour. Unfortunately, being near the Pier we do sometimes get disturbance from the night club which is on it but I'm actively trying to get this sorted with the licensing dept and the police and I'm hopeful that this situation will improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Thank you for a wonderful 2 night stay. Very relaxing even sid (the dog) had a great time. Food was good staff very friendly hotel was lovely and location was amazing 2min walk to the pier and beach 5min walk to the shopping centre could'nt get any better :) already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karthy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review and I'm very pleased that Sid also enjoyed his stay. We'll look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently as part of a group booking . Room on 3rd floor with sea view,room was clean and tidy, shower had poor flow but believe it is work in progress, all staff were pleasant and friendly, food was good with plenty of variation.
Position of hotel is excellent , easy access to town centre , pier,bus to Beachy head etc.
missed most of evening entertainment as within walking distance of decent pubs and theatres , decent bar area and lounges in the hotel with reasonable drink prices
All of group enjoyed the stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickorafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us but I'm sorry that you experienced a poor water flow in your shower. One or two of the showers on the third floor have been suffering with a lack of water pressure but we're hoping that this has now been sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed as part of a bowls tour and when we arrived the cases were unloaded and put in our room whilst we had a much needed drink in the bar. The manager (Jason) was brilliant and when we mentioned the shower head was cracked he got maintenance to change it straight away. The menu had a good variety and our food was hot, well prepared and served quickly. Our waiter (Steve) was great and very efficient. Bar prices no higher than most nearby pubs. The room was clean and tidy and had everything that would be expected.

The Afton is well placed for all the local amenities and buses run regularly from across the road (even though we didn't get time to take advantage of them).

Overall, the stay was very enjoyable and I'd like to compliment your staff for doing such a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
I'm grateful for your wonderful review and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll make sure that Jason & Steve are aware of your kind comments. We hope to be a bit smarter next time you visit as I've been round all the bedrooms today and I hope to be able to soon put right all the little things that inevitably need doing in a busy & well used hotel like ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from another stay at the Afton, I think this was our 3rd stay so far this year. We were booked in by the owner, a charming man he even offered to move the hotel's van so we could park in his space. As usual all the staff were polite and friendly. We usually book for the evening meal too, and were not disappointed a good choice for starters, main and dessert.
Breakfast was good too. Entertainment in the hotel last night was excellent, we really enjoyed it. Hopefully our next stay at the Afton will incorporate a Monday night so we can hear the singer/guitar player again. Thank you for another great stay, keep up the good work how you manage to keep your standards up on such reasonable rates is brilliant. Hopefully see you again soon

Room Tip: We had room a corner room on the 1st floor, nice room, nice large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments. We'll look forward to welcoming you when you next visit us. I agree that our guitarist on a Monday night is particularly good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#28 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing