We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
falkirk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Weekend away with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Myself and 15 friends stayed at the Afton Hotel 24th-26th January for a weekend away in Eastbourne to meet up with some family and friends. What a great hotel to stay at and i couldn't believe it's only a 2 star!!! It's yards from the seafront and pier, very central, what a superb location. The staff were fantastic, all very friendly and helpful. Jason and everyone looked after us the whole weekend. Very clean, the rooms were suberb, breakfast was excellent and the bar area was great to sit in and enjoy a drink. All of the group thought the same as myself and we got a great deal for the weekend as well. Would not hesitate to recommend the Afton Hotel to others and will certainly be back down to stay. Great place!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshfamilyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I'm very glad that Jason & the team made your family and friends feel welcome and comfortable and we'll hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    106
    42
    17
    7
See reviews for
66
117
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

76 Coventry CHA Rambling Club members enjoyed a five nights, attractively priced stay at this excellent hotel in January 2014. Everyone agreed their bedrooms were nicely furnished and warm with plenty of hot water in their bathrooms. All too often in some hotels we have stayed in some of our members have enjoyed plenty of hot water whilst others have had just a trickle. The public rooms were also nicely furnished, clean and warm. We were very pleased with the food. There was a reasonable selection on the menu for breakfast and dinner. It was served fresh and hot, with none of our large party having to wait for their food thanks to the efficient waiters. They even set aside a room with buckets and brushes to clean our muddy boots with; it was just one of the many things the hotel did to make our stay as welcome and as friendly as possible. We can recommend this well run hotel to any rambling group looking to stay in Eastbourne. Brian Keates, Honorary Secretary.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coventryrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Brian, many thanks for your positive and kind review. I'm very pleased that your group found us to be comfortable, welcoming and friendly and we would always aim to be just the same to any other rambling or activity group that might visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Having stayed at the Afton over many years for conference social weekends it never fails to live up to expectations and has been updated over the years. As most of our party (of 70 +) are visually impaired the staff are always extremely helpful. Situated almost opposite the pier it is in an ideal location and is open to non-residents. There is a ballroom and bar with inexpensive drinks and does have a separate 'quiet' sitting area. The food is average but equates to hotel tariff. Rooms vary in size so suitable for couples or families and are quite comfortable. Hotel is very dog friendly (for well behaved dogs).
We look forward to returning in November with guide dog.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I'm glad we again lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed staying with us. I have recently introduced more fresh vegetables into our menu's and deserts that our capable chef has created and cooked himself (rather than bought in) especially for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our 2nd year back to the Afton for our Christmas Staff Party and again ft was excellent
Total Value for money, great food, great staff, great Party DJ. What more could you ask for.
Happy Christmas x

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Religion20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your Xmas Party night - after all, people enjoying themselves is what we aim for. We take fun seriously at The Afton! I hope you'll be able to join us again next year (or for any other type of visit before then) Just let us know if there's anything else we might be able to do to increase the enjoyment levels still further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Having had several business trips to Eastbourne over the past year and having previously tried several other local hotels with mixed (often terrible experiences), I cannot recommend the Afton hotel enough. Clean rooms, exceptionally helpful and cheerful staff and very accomodating management have made each successive stay very pleasant. Situated on the front opposite the pier and close to all ammenities and shopping areas makes the location perfect. The rooms are of a good size and the housekeeping staff very friendly with a real 'happy to help' attitude. From the first stay, as a guest I was made to feel very welcome and it was nice to meet so many friendly acquaintances in the relaxed bar areas and over the well provided breakfasts and dinners. To sum up: The Afton is a gem of a hotel with a great 'family run' feel, where each guest is most certainly looked after - good facilities with a high level of cleanliness and friendliness! Highly recommended and thank you to all who made my stay so pleasurable and comfortable.
I look forward to visiting again in the future sometime (wirgmst)!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 17_doughnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I'm incredibly grateful for your fabulous review - it's absolutely the best Christmas present I could have hoped for! We'll look forward to welcoming you again and I shall make sure that all the staff are aware of your kind comments. Happy Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had a Christmas Party night. Food was very average. Staff did have a pleasant attitude though. Drinks not expensive. Overall Hotel appears not to have been updated for 30 years. Great lo9cation right on seafront though if staying overnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
What a pity you were disappointed with your Xmas party night food. With several choices on the menu, most people usually find something they enjoy and are complimentary. I apologise that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. I would just like to correct your assumption that the hotel hasn't been updated for a long time. The restaurant had new curtains, chairs and carpet three years ago and the whole of the front of the hotel was repainted two years ago. Since then, we've also been busy up-dating our bedrooms with new bedding, pictures,carpets and bathrooms. In the last couple of years, most of our kitchen equipment has been replaced and last winter we acquired new 'state-of the art' boilers. They're not "pretty" but necessary! I do notice that you're well traveled and have dined at some fine restaurants. Of course we're a modest two star listed Victorian building and we may not be to your taste. I'm very glad that you found our staff to be friendly & helpful though and I do hope you still managed to have a pleasant time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Went away with my mum & dad , as my dad is in a wheel chair, I thought the hotel was very nice, my room was excellent ,clean and great view, breakfast you get what you pay for bacon and tomato nice! The coach drivers bingo a good laugh, bar prices good , staff great, if down East Bourne again will book in .

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you and your parents had a good time & we'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#35 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing