We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend visit with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“weekend visit with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Another enjoyable weekend at the Afton. Jason, Fiona and team did their usual excellent job of looking after us.
If you are looking for a hotel well placed for both seafront and town this one fits the bill well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Iain, thank you for you review and I'm very glad that you & your friends felt looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    103
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
62
116
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We held our wedding reception in the ball room at the Afton Hotel yesterday, and whilst it is all so fresh I wanted to give a truly honest review. From my first visit with my initial enquiry right up to the night itself - the staff, and in particular Jason, could not do enough to assist. No request was too much, and they did everything to help my day go smoothly. We had a lot of guests staying in the hotel, and all said the rooms were comfortable and accommodating, all clean. It is noisy of a night time in the rooms as it is not far from a nightclub and sadly the leaving guests all pass by the hotel - so advice is to take ear plugs so as to have a peaceful nights sleep - but this is not something the hotel can control - and I know several complaints have been submitted regarding the nightclub to the local council and noise levels when customers leave. Anyway, the breakfast was tasty and was served quickly. I could not have asked for a better reception venue, as the staff made this day complete. Jason - you have been amazing from day one and we cannot thank you enough. Would I use this venue again .....without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Cheryl,
Warmest congratulations on your wedding. We're all absolutely thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience. We take our responsibility very seriously in trying to make such a special day successful. Jason will be aware of your comments and I know that he'll be very pleased with your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Brendan and myself had a nice, relaxing 4 night break at the Afton hotel last week. As usual we were made to feel welcome by the staff, all of them being polite and friendly from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. Good value for money. The breakfasts and the dinners were tasty and we were served promptly by our waiter Ian. We like staying at the Afton as it is handy for the pier, and the shops. Look forward to another break there soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Margaret, many thanks for your kind review. Returning guests are the biggest compliment a hotel can have and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We held our graduation ball at the Afton Hotel and had an excellent evening. The hotel made the process very easy and helped to sort out catering, disco etc.The food was good value for money and the service was excellent.Very relaxed and flexible with friendly and efficient staff. Would highly recommend this hotel for events.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Grace, we're very glad you enjoyed yourselves at your Graduation Ball. Congratulations to you all on your achievements. We love a party of any kind at 'The Afton'. Our motto is: "We take fun seriously"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a really good value traditional British seaside hotel in in the charming report of Eastbourne. The rooms are small but properly equipped, with good TV tea making and clean and properly organised bathroom. The breakfast is good and up to the standard of a higher level hotel. It is a lively party venue but the late night revelry did not impinge on my sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nymca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Your positive review is much appreciated and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our engagement party here with all our friends and family and we had a great time! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice. They put aside a room for us and we booked a buffet which was nice, they helped us sort out a karaoke disco and we all had a great time, thank you! X

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kate,
It's very good to hear that you had a great time for your special celebration. We'd all like to offer you and your fiance our warmest congratulations and we hope you'll come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very comfortable and clean hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, We were very lucky to have a room with a sea view and a balcony. The food in the restaurant was very good and plenty of it. Our waitress, a lovely young Polish woman, couldn't have tried harder to please us. She is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamhalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. I have a great team of staff who all realise the importance of good friendly service. I'll pass on your kind comments to the waitress you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#28 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing