We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Afton Hotel after our son and new daughter-in-law's wedding reception which was held in the ballroom. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful from the time we booked in on Saturday. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, we had an excellent nights sleep.
We believe the hotel should have a higher star rating. A big thank you to all the staff, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Angela,
Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review. It's very motivating for all of us to get such encouraging remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    103
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
62
117
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel staff all friendly and whatever you asked for they helped sort out. It was lovely and clean. Good location for visiting the area. Only drawback was the rooms were quite warm as my room led onto a flat roof felt I couldn't have a the window open far.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, General Manager at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Many thanks for your review Jacky but sorry you felt a little too warm. I'm just wondering if you mentioned this at reception? The individual radiators need to be fully turned off in each room. Also, we are very secure at the back with gates that are locked early evening so it would be quite safe to open the window further. We have a 24hour night porter as well who checks that everything is secure. The other alternative would have been to ask if we had another room available. We're always happy to move people if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

From our initial arrival to our final departure,nothing was to much trouble for the staff,from Jasons welcoming speech to his departure oracle hoping that everyone had enjojed their stay at the Afton and had thoroughly enjojed their holiday.The bedroom although on the small side and the bathroom were immaculately clean, with the towels changed every two days.The breakfasts and dinners were tasty and we were served promptly and efficiently. The entertainment was excellent, the singer guitarist Eddy Mudderman on the Thursday night was absulutely brilliant.We enjoyed our stay at the Afton as it is opposite the pier and the shops. All of our party of 25 had a wonderful holiday and thoroughly enjojed their stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor, our room 313 had an excellent seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Alan,
Many thanks for your positive review. Eddie is now one of our regular performers so I hope you'll come back and see us all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Another enjoyable weekend at the Afton. Jason, Fiona and team did their usual excellent job of looking after us.
If you are looking for a hotel well placed for both seafront and town this one fits the bill well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Iain, thank you for you review and I'm very glad that you & your friends felt looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We held our wedding reception in the ball room at the Afton Hotel yesterday, and whilst it is all so fresh I wanted to give a truly honest review. From my first visit with my initial enquiry right up to the night itself - the staff, and in particular Jason, could not do enough to assist. No request was too much, and they did everything to help my day go smoothly. We had a lot of guests staying in the hotel, and all said the rooms were comfortable and accommodating, all clean. It is noisy of a night time in the rooms as it is not far from a nightclub and sadly the leaving guests all pass by the hotel - so advice is to take ear plugs so as to have a peaceful nights sleep - but this is not something the hotel can control - and I know several complaints have been submitted regarding the nightclub to the local council and noise levels when customers leave. Anyway, the breakfast was tasty and was served quickly. I could not have asked for a better reception venue, as the staff made this day complete. Jason - you have been amazing from day one and we cannot thank you enough. Would I use this venue again .....without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Cheryl,
Warmest congratulations on your wedding. We're all absolutely thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience. We take our responsibility very seriously in trying to make such a special day successful. Jason will be aware of your comments and I know that he'll be very pleased with your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Brendan and myself had a nice, relaxing 4 night break at the Afton hotel last week. As usual we were made to feel welcome by the staff, all of them being polite and friendly from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. Good value for money. The breakfasts and the dinners were tasty and we were served promptly by our waiter Ian. We like staying at the Afton as it is handy for the pier, and the shops. Look forward to another break there soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Margaret, many thanks for your kind review. Returning guests are the biggest compliment a hotel can have and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We held our graduation ball at the Afton Hotel and had an excellent evening. The hotel made the process very easy and helped to sort out catering, disco etc.The food was good value for money and the service was excellent.Very relaxed and flexible with friendly and efficient staff. Would highly recommend this hotel for events.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Grace, we're very glad you enjoyed yourselves at your Graduation Ball. Congratulations to you all on your achievements. We love a party of any kind at 'The Afton'. Our motto is: "We take fun seriously"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#28 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Property: Afton Hotel
Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing