We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Afton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Afton Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is our second year at this hotel, great location opposite the pier, love the staff here, they are very welcoming and friendly, entertainment including a couple of houses of bingo for those who want it loads to do,with the theatres, shops and bandstand close by,special thanks to Steve our waiter, Fiona and Jason your great. See you next year..

Room Tip: Front rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dia1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

When booking at short notice and arriving from Brighton, Fiona was very helpful in meeting me and organising the evening meal at short notice.

The room was very clean tidy and wanted to stay longer.
The kitchen staff were rushed off their feet and worked well. Keep up the good work and will return. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank kiwiboysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

That's just what we like to hear! Many thanks for your review & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent 3 lovely evenings at this hotel is was really good. Food was excellent spotlessly clean brilliant staff entertainment not bad and they also play bingo if you don't want to leave the Hotel at night. The company we were with on the coach was brilliant for the 4days very nice people.
We went with Edwards Coaches well worth the money. Will defo go back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in twin room because that was all they had left and have no complaints...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Susan, many thanks for your kind review and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was here for one night only, but found hotel charming, staff very nice, location brilliant. room was basic but clean and bed one of most comfortable i've slept in.
Breakfast was very well run.
Shower could do with a bit more power.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Floladygooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

I'm glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable. I suspect you stayed on the third floor where some of our showers do suffer with a lack of pressure, especially when lots of other showers are being used at the same time and the hotel is full. I'm hoping to be able to replace some of the showers on that floor with electric ones which would give more power.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for one night only but happy with the experience.

Location great, safe and room clean with useful complimentary tea/coffee. Breakfast was good, well organised and with attentive staff.

Generally Staff friendly and really very helpful which counts for a lot. Inadvertently locked myself out of my room at 3am and needed to drag personnel out of bed. He responded pleasantly, was up to my floor in no time letting me in with a smile and declined to accept a tip for his troubles despite my insistence.

Short but pleasant stay and would recommend! If in Eastbourne, will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YabanTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review. As myself & wife live in the hotel it was I who helped you back into your room. it was no trouble at all. The only 'tip' i need is to know that my guests have had a pleasant stay. I hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked the Afton for our 25th wedding anniversary and also booked 2 night's accommodation. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Good sized bedroom, excellent food and evening buffet and disco was superb.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Glenys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Glenys, Many thanks for your review. Congratulations on your 25th Wedding anniversary and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed spending it with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

went on a 5day coach trip with Mayfield to this hotel at meal time no teaspoons on cup & sauces no soup spoons pepper pot full of wet pepper ,Desserts cheese cake very dry rice pudding not cooked. Little things add up Very friendly bar staff Entertainment Rubbish Would not recommend it very noisy in night with young people shouting and fighting from 12pm till 3am in street police game

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timmyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I believe you came with Maxfields and of course, I'm very sorry indeed that you had such a terrible time. I do wonder why you didn't complain to your waiting staff who would have been more than happy to help you. I eat the hotel food myself & particularly like the cheesecake but we all have different tastes. Certainly the pepper should not have been damp and I will check this and your other complaints with the restaurant. Most people enjoy our food but we're always happy to accommodate individual tastes if they're asked for. We do have an occasional problem with youngsters being noisy when they leave the Pier at night and it's a constant battle to try to do something about it. We could have offered you another room if you had mentioned the problem at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Hotel

Address: 2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £29 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Afton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Afton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing