We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing”
Review of Latimer House - CLOSED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Latimer House
Mainz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most relaxing”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed a week and booked the Carlton room. I must say, I have never slept so good as in this bed. Ground floor, very spacious room with a large bed, the best matresses ever. Michael and Mary are very dear people, doing everything to make you happy. We really enjoyed our stay there and can only recommend this B&B. We will definately be back if we hit that area again.

Room Tip: The Carlton room has it's own enterance, making it really nice to come and go ans you wish witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Ginsheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is the third time we have stayed still the same standard is kept up by Michael and Mary
They cannot do enough for you and treat you like a family member It is very clean and tidy here
If you enjoy a stroll along the sea front this is the place for you

Room Tip: NO SWIMMING POOL..clicked by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Offleymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I made the mistake of trying to book a room in Eastbourne during the tennis championships - luckily there was space at this B & B - and in retrospect I cannot quite work out why it wasn't snapped up. I stayed in the Latimer Room - which is located on the second floor. The B & B is very reasonably priced but despite this the Latimer room is massive - and there's a huge amount of cupboard and storage space. All the usual facilities are to be found - and there's a good breakfast cooked to the order you provide the previous night.

The B & B is located about a mile form the centre of Eastbourne - but there's local shops within about 200 yards - and the sea front is also 200 yards way (in the opposite direction).

Unfortunately there's no off road parking so you take your chances in the unrestricted side roads. When I visited mid week there was plenty of space.

One small matter - the outside of the B & B is not well signposted so whilst I easily found a B & B on the corner of Latimer Road and Carlton Road - I actually knocked on the door of the wrong one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had a lovely stay in Eastbourne this April. Mary and Michael are very friendly and helpful. The Carlton room is spacious and very comfortable with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit salads every morning. Furthermore, it is very easy to find parking spaces in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed on the May bank holiday weekend. The downstairs room was huge with a big comfortable bed and quality bedding. The designer curtains are made by the landlady herself and are greatly admired.
The spacious power shower is brilliant.
Breakfast was perfect, with a fresh mango, kiwi fruit and blueberry fruit salad, and the yellowest eggs possible. The sausages , bacon, mushrooms, and tomatoes were excellent, the toast extremely well done, crisp and tasty, fresh coffee, and tea.
The landlords are friendly and pleasant people and we enjoyed chatting and finding out about local events.

Room Tip: Don't go when we go, we want to keep this room for next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Have stayed a few times now at this excellent venue which has easy access to seafront, town centre with the added bonus of free street parking.
You will find a warm welcome by Michael and Mary who always serve up a 1st class Full English breakfast, including homemade bread, which sets you up for the day!

Can't wait for our next stay and interesting chats and laughs. Thank you Michael & Mary.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We really enjoyed our two nights at Latimer House. We were two couples travelling together, so had both the Carlton and Latimer rooms, both of which were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was most enjoyable. Mary and Michael were most welcoming. We enjoyed the special treats provided, and renewed each day. Latimer House is most central, not only to the elegant beach side buildings in Eastbourne, but also Brighton and beyond.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Latimer House

Property: Latimer House
Address: 144 Latimer Road, Eastbourne BN22 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stable is a lovely self-catering cottage situated just a few minute's walk from Eastbourne seafront. Located next to Latimer House B&B, it offers a well-equipped 'home from home' accommodation complete with a small outside area with a table and chairs. Latimer House offers two en-suite B&B rooms. The Carlton Room is on the ground floor with a private entrance. The room is exceptionally large with a super-king sized bed and double shower enclosure making it suitable for wheelchair users. The Latimer Room is on the top floor and is also a very comfortable room with a bath and shower. A choice of full English or continental breakfast complete with homemade bread is served in the bright and sunny dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing