We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have been to this Hotel five times, and its predecessor with the same owners, twice.
We look upon it as home from home. The staff, mostly family members, are so friendly and helpful you feel as if they are "your" family too. The food very good, is home cooked and the portions very generous. The lounges are gorgeous - big comfy armchairs and peace and quiet. The bar is well stocked and there is always snacks and drinks of all sorts available. Originally the Hotel was used by the RNIB for blind visitors, so it has a lot of very useful additions, such as a "talking" lift, and a ramp up to the Hotel, and helpful rails in many places. A great place for the elderly and disabled. I have nothing bad to say about the "Palm Court". We love it and will return as often as they can accommodate us!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank springflower03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

I agree with the guest who said the hotel had the air of a nursing home. That is exactly how I felt! Pleasant enough staff, but tired, old-fashioned decor, boring food and a terrible shower. It was like going back to the seventies!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aitchlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Hotel was very clean, but the rooms we were given had the feel of a nursing home with aids for bathing etc, which I am sure are very welcome to people who have the need.
The price was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eckersleybren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Ok im gonna try to be as positive with this as i can, i stayed here for 2 nights just recently, apart from being placed in a shoebox for a single bedroom,(you outstretched your arms and you touched both sides of the room, and i mean a room where you open the door and your on top of the bed, the bedside cabinet being placed at the end of the bed as no room anywhere else for it, and if beside the bed would have been blocking the door and a single wardrobe, adequate for your clothes for a couple of days but never a week, and the fact this was placed in the corner of room was a problem getting in and out of as bedside cabinet placed in front and also the curtains from the window, by the way curtains never shut properly. The hotel is well placed for town and the seafront, the food was good and staff in restaurant pleasant, shame the same could not be said for the night staff on reception on first night, but we all have off days i suppose. The shower was much to be desired, no pressure at all from water and you could also not select water temperature. The bathroom was cold as no heating in there. The refreshment tray was replenished daily and the room serviced daily altho, bed only made. The toiletries were 1 sachet of shampoo and 1 sachet of bath shower gel not replaced if used. The door to room never fitted properly so the light from the outside corridor shined through on your face all night, leaving a restless nights sleep. Would i recommend this hotel, well as a 1 night stayover maybe but not to stay any longer unless maybe you got a bigger room. Breakfast seems to bve served between 8am and 9am every day, so not much flexibility and dinner is preordered by what i see and is served 6-6.30pm.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linniegirl1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed at this hotel on a National Coach holiday. The food was plentiful with a varied menu and was beautifully presented. It was served in a very pleasant dining room by friendly and very efficient staff who were very obliging. The hotel was a minute's walk from the seafront and 5 minutes walk from the town centre. There was a ramp to the front door and a lift to all floors. Our room was quite adequate and extremely clean. The only fault we could find with it was that a hairdryer was provided in our room but the hair dryer cable was not long enough to see in the mirror when drying your hair! We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorksramblingrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I was impressed on arrival the hotel looked clean and well kept I was not dissapointed when I foond my room very large for a single The evening meal was piping hot and well cooked The staff were all very helpful and looked after us all week There were 47 of us but they coped very well with the numbers Everyone of us were impressd We would not hesitate to recomend to all our friends

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughtewr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

have stayed here twice-decided to give a second chance-staff cannot fault-rooms tired-need upgrading-would probz avoid staying again -sorry

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilmso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: 15 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £37 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated a short walk from the Beach, Bandstand and Theatres. All 38 rooms are ensuite with hospitality tray, Cd radio, Television and Telephone. There is a licensed bar with comfortable lounges and a large Plasma screen. A large permanent ramped entrance and a talking lift to all floors make the Hotel fully accesible to wheelchair users. A warm welcome awaits you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing