We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convienient and comfortable”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“convienient and comfortable”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel clean and comfortable (Nice bed). A good hotel and a short walk from town, bandstand,pier and wintergardens.Lots of restaurants a short walk from hotel.We were in a room at front which was fine.Parking not a problem as hotel provides a permit for the days you stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilyjean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    43
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
27
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had had a horrible time getting to the hotel, the weather, Bank Holiday traffic and an unexpected event delaying us. We arrived at about 9 pm, bedraggled and tired. We had phoned ahead to give the heads up on our late arrival and were told it was OK, someone was coming later than us and that there would be 24 hour reception.
We were dismayed to find our double room was in fact a twin. Apologies were offered by the night reception, but nothing could be done, as it was late.
It was clean and friendly, and we dropped off our bag then went to find a restaurant, as the hotel restaurant had closed at 7. Had a lovely meal in a nearby Italian restaurant, then sauntered back.
Breakfast was great, service great, and staff very prompt and attentive.
We checked out and spoke about our twin room issue. The guy was.....on the surface polite, but he made comments about our late arrival and said we couldn't expect staff to 'zip the beds together'. Apparently, the twin beds zipped together. Why weren't we told? I'd be happy to sort it myself. I didn't like being judged for being late, and we had had a horrible day with hold ups. Who wants to arrive for a short break at 9 pm?
The more we spoke to the guy on reception, the more we realised that this was a fait accompli. We didn't expect anything more than an apology, which was proffered once they had had our money. He said ' come again and next time we will put a complimentary bottle of wine in your room'. He didn't say this with sincerity, and we will not be returning! Big tip - make sure they are giving you what you ordered, and get it in writing first.

Room Tip: Confirm you are getting the room you booked in writing! We were lied to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineT880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and i have just spent two weeks at the Palm Court Hotel. This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel and on each occasion we have always found it to be clean, comfortable, and excellent food. We stayed for two weeks this year, taking in the Air show. We were not disappointed. One good aspect of this hotel is the provision of a ramp, offering access for the less able. The hotel is also within easy reach of the Sea front, Bandstand, Theatres, and the town centre.The owners David and Louise offer a warm welcome, and do everything possible to make your stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in this hotel are furnished to a good standard. Some are larger than others. Most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Yes, a few of the bedrooms need a little bit of attention but this family run hotel is a well run and welcoming. All staff were friendly, the hotel overall very clean and tidy and breakfast faultless with tasty food. It's very central to the train station, beach, town centre and the pier is a short walk away. My single room was excellent and modern although on the small side whereas my mothers room slightly bigger but a tad dated and a tiny TV which she struggled with a little at times being a pensioner. 2 of members of my family had rooms which they were happy with. That aside all very good and positive and we all would return. It was the Eastbourne Air show and so all hotels were very busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTPW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our arrival (my wife and I – part of a group of nearly 30) was greeted with a cup of tea and the room keys were given out. The room number was also the number of your breakfast and dinner table for your stay.
The room was reasonably well presented but was quite small. The size of the wardrobe matched the room. Fortunately we always carry hooks and chains which allow us to hang clothes vertically instead of horizontally, thus giving us greater hanging space in smaller areas. The room refreshment tray was replenished daily and the towels changed upon request. The beds were comfortable and clean but for somebody who is a light sleeper, black out blinds/curtains would have been a bonus to cut out the early morning light.
The variety of food was good as was the presentation and quality but we felt there were two drawbacks as far as catering was concerned. Firstly, the meal times are strictly limited to 08.00 - 0900 in the morning and 18.00 – 19.00 in the evening. Secondly, you had to decide at breakfast what you wanted for your evening meal and they would not serve your table unless the whole table was present.
All in all, the dining room staff were very hard working, efficient and friendly with one exception. The night porter (forgot his name as there are two) who served behind the bar, had an attitude problem as far as service and manners are concerned.
A special mention should go to the young lady who manned reception. She was always very helpful and polite with a lovely smile.
As it was a very warm time of the year air conditioning would have been appreciated'.
Would we return – yes? Would we go again in high season and pay top rates – no?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunner2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay following the RAFA 70th Annual Conference. We stayed in room 210, there were a few issues, the window was rotten and rattled in the wind when open, this was quickly rectified with an M & S magazine! The dressing table has a TV where a mirror should really be, the floorboards from the room above are very squeaky and the room needs redecorating. HOWEVER, there are many good things to say about The Palm Court Hotel, our bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size. The hotel is situated in a great location and within walking distance of the Winter Gardens, town centre and seafront. The lounge and dining area are very nice and the food is very good, although I must advise the menu is very limited but they were very accommodating when we asked for our meal to be slightly changed. The staff were very nice and it has to be said that Ray who served our evening drinks at the bar is a real character and is an asset to them, he was more than accommodating and made our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KandN69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel in April as part of a touring bowling group. My wife and I had a twin bedroom that had all the facilities one requires; twin beds, 2 "lounge" armchairs, wardrobe and dressing table with a flat screen 19" freeview TV. Unfortunately all this was contained in a space appoximately 7' 6" wide, one side of each bed was against the wall with a maximum 18" gap between them, and 13' maximum length! A result of the positioning of these beds was that there was a definite slope on the matress to the middle of the room as no-one had been prepared to sleep with their noses pressed hard against the wall and you basically needed binoculars to see the TV whilst in bed. The en-suite, although spacious, could be improved with a full size square shower, not one with the corner cut off which would restrict a larger person! and the room also needed some redecoration. We had considered asking for a different room but another couple on the tour put their request in before us which meant the only room vacant was the one that they left. Avoid room G05 at all costs, even the view from the window was over the back of the hotels in the block, parked cars and the adjacent hotel being renovated complete with full scaffolding; and you could alo hear what sounded like the boiler start up in the morning
From comments made by other members of our group it would appear that the bedrooms at the front of the hotel are of a better standard.
Whilst this review may appear negative it must be said, although being part of a group of 46 and therefore requested to select our evening meal at breakfast, the food choice was good and the meals served both at dinner and breakfast was excellent this in some way compensated for the dismal room I had. The service provided by the office staff and waitresses was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor at front of hotel as they appear the best standard. Reject rooms G05 & G06 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: 15 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated a short walk from the Beach, Bandstand and Theatres. All 38 rooms are ensuite with hospitality tray, Cd radio, Television and Telephone. There is a licensed bar with comfortable lounges and a large Plasma screen. A large permanent ramped entrance and a talking lift to all floors make the Hotel fully accesible to wheelchair users. A warm welcome awaits you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing