We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I can echo most of the favourable comments of the previous reviewers:

- Great service
- Good food
- Comfortable large room
- Free wifi
- Great lounges
- Good location
- Good view from bedroom over park

If I was going to quibble there were three small problems:

- Car park a bit tight - and cannot cope with a full hotel.
- My room (27) was very warm and made sleeping a little uncomfortable despite it being cool during my stay - and window left fully open day and night.
- The bedside alarm was actually a 3 in 1 ipod dock, DAB radio and alarm - but wasn't intuitively obvious to operate and had no instructions so it was effectively useless.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 27 if you don't want to be overheating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    107
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
247
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Spent two nights at the hotel with my cricket team and they all said the same about this hotel "Great staff at the recieption who are the most helpful in the world" the owner of this hotel should note how hard working these members of staff are. The rooms were clean tidy and a good size, breakfast was hot with plenty of choice and no EU workers who could not speak english. Will come back again soon :)

Room Tip: My room was room 16 no bath but for a quite nights sleep and big leather sofa in room ask for this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Stroller-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 day break in this fabulous gem of a hotel.
It could not have been nicer. The staff are uniformly excellent - professional, helpful and caring. The hotel is very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all first class. The beds are extremely comfortable and the facilities lack for nothing. Splendidly situated, a stone's throw from the front, Devonshire Park and the theatres, we cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Just don't tell everyone - or we'll never be able to book a room again. Superb in every way!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rudham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Having stayed in many Eastbourne hotels as monthly visitors once we found the Devonshire Park we haven't been anywhere else since .. Fabulous London restaurant quality food .. Great rooms with historical features .. Fab position .. Friendly staff .. Free parking .. We always feel welcomed and can't recommend it enough ... 11 out of 10!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgb00b00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Everything about this Hotel exceeded our expectations.The food was very well cooked and presented and the dining room was comfortable.The bedroom was spacious and spotless .The location was perfect for our needs,being opposite Devonshire Park and a short walk to the promenade.A car-park is a bonus!

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helendefalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We decided on a last minute break with our relatives over from NZ. We had a bit of a search and chose Eastbourne. We found The Devonshire on Trip Advisor and I have to say we were not disappointed ! Harry was a super star and James was the perfect. We were so well looked after. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening and the food was exceptional. Breakfast was very comprehensive. The ladies tennis was on - the hotel couldn't have been better located. To top that the till system was down so we all got in free ! Summary - excellent value for money, fabulous service - we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justbubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

If you want a hotel in Eastbourne, look no further. Friendly staff, spotlessly clean and well-appointed rooms, excellent food at moderate prices. The location is at the better end of town and is convenient for the sea front, shops and theatres;the only drawback is the lack of a sea view. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haslewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms, quiet lounges, modern facilities and a delectable restaurant; the Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne combines a Victorian seaside holiday with Sussex Country Hotel luxury. Its boutique size, handsome rooms and knowledgeable staff make for a cordial and relaxing stay, and its location is ideal for exploring the seafront, the Sussex Downs and local towns of Battle, Rye, Hastings and Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing