We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice helpful staff and spacious, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“Nice helpful staff and spacious, but expensive”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed overnight whilst attending a Ball at the Winter Gardens, which is conveniently just opposite, as is the Congress Theatre complex, so we did not dine in. It is also only a few minutes walk from the sea and town centre.

Our room was spacious and well fitted, and breakfast was excellent and apparently freshly cooked. We looked out over communal gardens to the rear.

We were warmly welcomed and, because I had to dash off to catch the shops, my wife was helped to the room with our cases : the male receptionist had just helped another elderly couple with their luggage from the car park, so obviously this level of assistance was the norm.

The downside was paying £140 for one night's B & B, which I felt was way above what it ought to have been, especially out of season.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    121
    22
    1
    4
See reviews for
64
270
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I came on a business trip at very short notice for two days. I was on my own but given a double room on the top floor which was more than adequate. I was also offered a deal for dinner, bed and breakfast on one night for £70 which was equivalent to the bed and breakfast rate for the other night. All in all a perfect base for a business trip, I had very little time to do anything else but work so the hotel fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Having a car park is a major plus in Eastbourne, it's not massive but reception will move vehicles around until a space is available, as it happened we found a parking bay before we had checked in, so a big tick there.

Reception and all other staff encountered were very friendly and efficient. First inpressions of the hotel is that it's clean and well maintained and that theme continues throughout the building.

We were upgraded to the Charsworth suite, this was fine for the price we paid. It's large, clean and with two flat screen Tv's, however it is on the third floor (in the roof) and if you happen to be in the 6ft tall region like us watch your head!

Location wise it's just a couple of mins from a few shops, a pub and the sea, maybe a ten min walk into town.


Overall it's certainly better than it's three star official rating and I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're not so good on your feet avaoid the third floor as the lift stops at the second, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samlesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business for one night in September. The Location is very central and easy to find. The reception area is large and welcoming. My room was on the very top floor. There is a lift up the second floor. The room was large as was my bathroom. The view was pleasant, looking out onto a small park. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. The bathroom had a bath and separate shower. Unfortunately the shower was cold which is the only bad thing I can say. Breakfast was very good with a cooked option as well as a buffet style cold offer. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Grand looking hotel, set slightly back from the seafront, literally a 5 minute walk if that. We had the Chatsworth Suite. Large, clean room, decor in need of some tlc, peeling wallpaper in the bathroom. The suite was like a small flat, bathroom with shower and bath, lounge area with 2 sofas and a television, small study area and then the bedroom with extremely large bed. The bed was actually 2 beds pushed together but was very comfortable if you like a firm bed.

Staff were friendly. Liked the separate room downstairs with books and games for guests. The bar was very pleasant to relax in in the evening. Location of the hotel was fantastic. Extremely quiet, just the slight hum of the generator off of the room we were staying in and the odd chime of church bells in the distance.

Breakfast was superb, one of the best we have had at a hotel. Loads of choice, kippers, full english, yogurt and fruit, cereal, toast, danishes, nothing too much trouble. We never ate in the hotel but if the breakfast is anything to go by, I imagine it would be fantastic.

We went to a pub called The Marine, just a 10/15 minute walk along the seafront, following reviews on Trip advisor, the road its in is far from picturesque but inside the pub its a wonderful atmosphere and the food and portion sizes are fantastic and staff pleasant (you need to book at weekends).

Only downsides to the hotel was the parking is limited and people do block you in, also there was not enough hot water in the morning for both our showers, only one of us had hot water, the other one it was barely warm. This should be a basic requirement in a hotel. Complained to the reception on the way out, they said they didnt know how this could be as the Chatsworth Suite had its own hot water tank, regardless of what they said, there was still no hot water. At £160 a night I would not pay for the Chatsworth Suite again but I would stay at this hotel as the location and food were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ambertigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed for three nights between the 12th and 15th September for a Conference at the Winter Gardens complex. The hotel is well maintained with every thing you could ask for. The staff, especially Hugh were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was first class and one of the nicest I have had in a hotel. On one afternoon we had a sandwich in the bar and the quality was excellent and at a reasonable price.
When we come back to Eastbourne this is the only hotel I would wish to stay in. Please keep up the excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is clean and cared for and cherished by those that work there. All staff were happy and cheerful. An old building not showing its age. Enjoyed the experience and would certainly use again if ever going to Eastbourne. The whole town was delightful,friendly and clean with lots to see and do. At no time during our stay did we feel intimidated, as we have in other places, and found walking around in the late evenings very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms, quiet lounges, modern facilities and a delectable restaurant; the Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne combines a Victorian seaside holiday with Sussex Country Hotel luxury. Its boutique size, handsome rooms and knowledgeable staff make for a cordial and relaxing stay, and its location is ideal for exploring the seafront, the Sussex Downs and local towns of Battle, Rye, Hastings and Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing