We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our stay, like many others who have reviewed this hotel, was booked through Travelzoo and there is no doubt that it was an excellent deal (£129 for two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night). However, whilst the actual building is an older, traditional style, with high ceilings and some original features, I would describe the hotel as uninspiring with a somewhat faded feel to it. There was definitely an air of old fashioned seaside hotel about the place. That said, it is reasonably well kept, peaceful, centrally located and has its own small parking area. We found the staff to be very helpful and our room was large, sufficiently comfortable and had a well stocked hospitality tray.

For us, though, this deal scored because of the food which was truly excellent. We enjoyed a superb dinner on the first night which we ordered from the main menu and which would have cost in the region of £60 for the two of us, had we ordered from the menu and not been on the Travelzoo deal. The breakfast on both mornings was also of a very high standard, tasty and with the hot food being freshly cooked to order. In some respects, though, I felt that the skills of the kitchen were not matched by the slightly worn and tired looking appearance of the hotel. Overall, though, we had no complaints and enjoyed a pleasant two night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    119
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
58
266
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Firstly I would like to comment on 'fairys' review. We stayed on a travel zoo deal AND upgraded. It is £20 per night not per person. You commented on a second breakfast meaning it was a two night stay.

The rooms were spacious and very clean, staff were friendly and attentive. They offered to change my partners starter (he will eat tomato soup which is runny but didn't like the thick - full of tomatoes soup on offer at the hotel! Which incidentally was delicious) I had a steak which was done beautifully and my partner had lamb and there was plenty of meat. We certainly didn't have overlooked vegetables. Our breakfasts were fine. In all we had NO COMPLAINTS. Location was ideal too being just off the promenade and cafés etc. perfect. Thank you again to all the staff at The Devonshire Park Hotel.

We shall certainly return and look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzza50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just got back from taking my elderly mum to Eastbourne over the long bank holiday weekend
The hotel is so geared up for older ladies and gentlemen. From the car park there is access to a lift to all floors. Our room was very spacious and very clean.
All staff were lovely and very helpful. The breakfast was hot and tasty and for the 2 nights stay we also ate in the restaurant. Both meals were very good.
As mum was a bit tired one evening we borrowed one of the DVDs avaliable and sat in our room on the comfy beds relaxing.
The hotel is within walking distance to the sea front and also the shoppping areas and as said on previous reviews very near the theatres

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel on a Travelzoo deal, when we booked we asked for an upgrade and was told it would be £20.00, when we settled our bill it was £40.00 when I made the booking there was no mention of £20.00 per person, we have upgraded in many hotels and we have always paid per room not per person.
The evening meal was disappointing the vegetables were overcooked and the meat was wafer thin. The breakfast was also disappointing it was swimming in oil and there was a hair on my mushrooms, the waitress was apologetic and very polite. The following day we had poached egg on toast and the eggs were hard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAIRYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice comfortable hotel. The room was a good size and comfortably furnished. The staff were very pleasant. Both the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. Would recommend when staying in Eastbourne and perfect for the theatre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatedmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my husband because of his birthday and we weren't disappointed we were kindly upgraded to a superior room which we were happy with we had a wonderful time and it is so close to quite a few restaurants and cafes would definitely come back again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eviekings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked this hotel over the internet and our welcome was very warm and efficient. Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious . The bathroom also spacious and clean. Our only negative is that the bar could have been staffed better to make it easier to get a drink and maybe a little music the make it more inviting.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms, quiet lounges, modern facilities and a delectable restaurant; the Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne combines a Victorian seaside holiday with Sussex Country Hotel luxury. Its boutique size, handsome rooms and knowledgeable staff make for a cordial and relaxing stay, and its location is ideal for exploring the seafront, the Sussex Downs and local towns of Battle, Rye, Hastings and Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing