We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy times by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Happy times by the sea”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for another long weekend in order to watch the tennis county championships across the road at Devonshire Park. Hotel rooms have all been updated, beds are excellent - very comfy, flat screen televison and tea and coffee making facilities. Rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard. Excellent location - short walk to the seafront, opposite the theatre and close to numerous fantastic restaurants in the town. Breakfast is plentiful the service is slightly hit and miss with delays and wrong orders occurring occasionally but the staff are pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the very top are smaller with small showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    120
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
59
266
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Quiet, spotless, comfy beds, friendly staff, excellent location, opposite Congress Theatre, near beach, car park, really good breakfast in pleasant dining-room. This is an unusually good 3 star hotel. There has been attention to detail throughout; only 'beef'. The shower pressure really needs to be bumped up. The lift is excellent for older visitors, the towels are big & fluffy & there's a bottle of water, kettle & biscuits. The lounge bar is welcoming. I really appreciated the modern keyless entry
system giving guests the freedom to come in late.

Room Tip: Room 29 on second floor is large, with a pleasant balcony, opening windows & is v quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel was chosen for its central location and access to cultural venues and esay walking distance to seafront and town centre. it also has its own car park. The hotel is opposite four venues ie the Towner, the Conference centre, the traditional theatre and Eastbourne college art centre. All had events on during our stay late june early July.
The hotel is of the superior private variety. Family owned and run.
We had a lovely spacious room looking to the rear which is a garden area. The bathroom , with walk in shower and bath, was roomy and all services in it worked and were kept clean.
The beds were comfortable and choice of covers was available.
The breakfast was buffet style for continental and hot items to order. Quality very good.
Evening meals were varied and mostly of very good quality but some meat dishes were tough or stringy.

Room Tip: A room to the rear is quieter but the front was not a noisy road. The lift runs to the car park leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotmech40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Once again we returned to the Devonshire Park Hotel in the full knowledge that it would be a truly wonderful stay. As always, the room was clean and tastefully decorated, the large bed was most comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. There was a wide choice for breakfast and the dinner menu offered a selection, which changed daily, of tasty well-cooked food. Comfortable lounges in which to relax complemented the general feeling of restfulness. The staff of this family run hotel were most pleasant and efficient and this added to our feeling of wellbeing.

Edward Glynn South Croydon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've lost count now how many times I've stayed here and am still amazed at how well kept and well run. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and courteous. The food is really good. I'm just sorry I can't get back more often.

Room Tip: The setting is quiet so all the rooms are good. Just be clear to identify your needs and preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlington_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a Saturday night stay as we couldn't get a hotel in Brighton where we were seeing a show. We were very impressed by the hotel rooms and lovely location just off the seafront. I had seen the hotel on booking.com on a deal however when I rang the hotel to see if it was cheaper to book direct we were offered an upgrade for the same price. Lovely big room with huge bay window, sofa and very comfortable king size bed. Power shower was amazing as was the breakfast. well worth a visit and would book again if in the area.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 15 which overlooked the rear of the hotel. lovely garden, green park and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixtyschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this excellent hotel.Loved the different lounges and dining rooms which were beautifully furnished. The menu was varied each day and the quality and preparation were certainly of the highest standard. I had a superior single room with a double bed,the furnishings which also included two arm chairs were of the highest standard.Hotel was spotless throughout and the staff were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Address: 27-29 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms, quiet lounges, modern facilities and a delectable restaurant; the Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne combines a Victorian seaside holiday with Sussex Country Hotel luxury. Its boutique size, handsome rooms and knowledgeable staff make for a cordial and relaxing stay, and its location is ideal for exploring the seafront, the Sussex Downs and local towns of Battle, Rye, Hastings and Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing