We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly superb”
Review of The New England

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New England
Ranked #16 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly superb”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Some words to describe "The New England": very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, very clean, tastefully decorated, and a superb breakfast. After visiting at least 10 times, we have never been disappointed.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hverleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
179
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I went with friends today for a Christmas Lunch. We were greeted with a smile and as always they wanted to know how everyone was. The service is outstanding. We were made to feel very welcome. the table was set out lovely and with christmas crackers. I have been for Christmas dinners for the past 4 years and everytime everything is fantastic.

Room Tip: You will not find better anywhere else. I have never stayed here, but have had many meals and aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have just spent a couple of nights at the New England and its our 4 th visit. New England is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Phil and Steve maintain everything to an exceptional standard from lovely fresh fruit salad and non greasy full English to perfectly clean rooms. Even the weather was brilliant. Thanks again Steve and Phil for a great break. David & Hale

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The New England is a fabulous place to stay in Eastbourne. Most of the hotels I looked at online were large and aged (swirly carpets and curtains) and I prefer something more personal, more modern. The New England has just the right boutique feel. Located on the seafront, the bed and bathrooms are scrupulously clean. The rooms feel fresh, light and welcoming, simply furnished with a "New England" decorative theme - a simple colour palette with white walls, wooden furniture, white duvet covers, blue carpets and flashes of grey and red in the upholstery and pictures. Furthermore, the beds and pillows are comfortable to sleep on, so you get a good night's sleep. The rooms also provided a hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities and a selection of toiletries. All very pleasing.

The owners are charming and very hospitable. Full of information and ideas of what to do. In the great tradition of hospitality, they're there when you need them, invisible when you don't.

And now for the best bit - the breakfasts are truly fantastic. We had a buffet breakfast on both days we were there. There are five or six fruit juices to choose from; a wide variety of cereals. There was fresh fruit salad, a grapefruit salad, the most delicious New England fruit salad made from plums, apricots, raisins and flavoured with cinnamon. There's full English fried breakfast (choice of eggs, bacon, sausages, mushroom, tomatoes, vegetarian options, etc), but they go the extra mile to ensure everything is fresh and tasty - the fried eggs were served on a slice of fried toast and had a sprinkling of spring onions on top. And then, joy of joys, there were eggs Benedict on Sunday morning. Cooked in small batches to ensure they were hot and appealing, they were fabulous. Good quality, freshly brewed tea and coffee and warm toast served at your table. My husband having just got back from travelling was lamenting that the hotels he'd been staying in didn't offer such a good selection or quality of food but charged 5 star prices.

In terms of value this place is up there and I don't think you'd be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We pre-booked a seaview room with balcony for two nights and had room No. 4
We were able to park right outside the Hotel in the side road which was very convenient. A very friendly and welcome service on arrival. Thne Hotel is spolessly clean and the Owners have taken a great deal of care and interest in making sure everything is right and you can see their attention to detail. Room No. 4 is a nice room and is on the front sea facing side. We always have a window open so you do hear the traffic outside going along the sea front. This did not bother us. The bed was a good size but we found the mattress on the soft side and we would have preferred a firmer bed. The bathroom was well fitted and again you can see the attention given to it by the Owners.
The breakfast was excellent and in October an 0830 start was fine. Maybe in the summer an 0800 start could be useful. Service and food quality and choice excellent (especially the bacon). There was a choice of eggs but surprisingly you could not choose an omlette.
The breakfast room is really good, light and very pleasant overlooking the seafront and is a special feature of this boutique hotel with its unique style.
The adjacent lounge again very good with free Wifi.
The bus services in both directions including the hop-on/off stop right outside, again a very useful feature.
Overall if you are looking for a small B/B hotel in Eastbourne then this must be one of the best.

Room Tip: Call the Hotel when booking and arrange with them for the room you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had a lower ground floor apartment which was first class.....luxurious clean but if you have mobility problems ask for a room in the main building as steps down to the apartment were difficult for our visiting Auntie to manage. The breakfast was the best we have ever had with plenty of choice and with an American theme! Well worth a visit to Eastbourne to stay in this lovely Hotel.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot in Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We were taking my Mum to visit one of her oldest friends in Eastbourne and wanted to book somewhere for a couple of nights. My Mum is elderly and I need to be close at hand to help her. We didn't want to be in a large hotel and opted for B & B. I found The New England online and rang to see what availability they had. I spoke to Steve and knew immediately that this place would be right for us. When I explained the situation to him he very sensibly suggested that we have the suite that has two seperate bedrooms each with their own TV and shared bathroom plus it is on the ground floor......what a great idea. On our arrival we were greeted by Phil, shown to our suite and given all the information we needed about breakfast, times etc.The rooms were lovely, one twin room for Mum and a room with a Queen size bed for us, hurrah! The beds were very comfortable and lovely linens. Everything was spotless and spic and span. The breakfast is wonderful, Phil and Steve go to a lot of trouble to ensure that you have everything you want and their attention to detail is faultless. Everything is beautifully presented. So if ever you want B & B in Eastbourne on the front The New England is the place to go. We hope to be visiting Brighton but think we will be staying here.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect for people in our situation or indeed if you were travelling with children. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.9 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England

Property: The New England
Address: 60 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The New England! Conveniently located on Eastbourne Seafront and only 15 minutes walk from the Peer, we are a family run Guest Accommodation with a contemporary US East Coast maritime feel. Take in the views from our ocean front Dining Room and relax in our comfortable Guest Lounge. Enjoy our renowned Full English breakfasts and choose from our extensive buffet, including freshly prepared fruit salads and home made compote. All our rooms are en-suite and are either doubles or large family rooms, with comfortable mattresses and luxury linen. All have flat screen TV with FreeView digital channels and include Tea and Coffee making facilities. Wifi is free and available throughout the property. Please contact us by phone or email for best available options. Come stay with us and we will endeavour to make your stay memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The New England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing