We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts Great B & B”
Review of The New England

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New England
Ranked #15 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A lovely home from home bed and breakfast by the sea. The warmest welcome you could wish for with wonderful hospitality continuing until departure. Rooms very comfortable although not spacious they are not lacking in facilities. Breakfast stupendous especially when served buffet style as choice is exceptional. We have returned many times and cannot wait for the next visit. Room 4 is our favourite. Keep up the good work Phil and Steve and please don't think of retirement for many years to come. xx

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 have a lovely balcony perfect for sharing with a bottle of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were overjoyed to find such a gem of a B&B. The food, décor, cleanliness, friendliness and attention to detail is second to non. Both Phillip and Steven run an amazing establishment. We recommend room 3, it has an amazing balcony overlooking the sea front.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a really nice balcony overlooking the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Excellent B & B glad we found it. By choice we had one of the smaller rooms, but there was a good en-suite and more than enough hanging and drawer space. The beverage selection in the room was great. The hotel was spotlessly clean with well themed decoration. We enjoyed a superb breakfast, especially the vegetarian options and the fresh fruit selection was excellent. Shall avoid the scales for a couple of weeks!

Really cosmopolitan atmosphere with so many different nationalities staying there. (Hope the Kiwis get home safely when they return home).

Philip and Steve were friendly and helpful hosts and the hints in their books on restaurants and places to visit came in really handy. We used the Thai they recommended (Seeracha) and enjoyed a good meal with the bonus of air-conditioning and it's only a short stroll away which was a blessing as we had "walked our socks off" during the day.

We were there at the hottest part of the year and it seemed everyone had flocked to the coast to make the most of the glorious weather which made parking a little difficult, but we managed to find free parking within easy walking on the Sunday, and much nearer to the hotel on the other days. Metered parking on the seafront is free after 6pm but you need to put money in by 8 am if you use the metered bays.

Free WiFi.

Would most certainly recommend (the only reservation being if we do it may be full should we come again)!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazelnut1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just got back from a last minute weekend break for our wedding anniversary. The New England was a great choice. Good location, beautifully decorated, very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing - so much choice - even for veggies like me. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from three nights at The New England and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 4 which was at the front of the hotel with a shared balcony overlooking the sea. Because of this there was some noise from traffic during the day but it was quieter at night. The comfortable bed was a super kingsize with good quality linen and the bathroom had a power shower over the bath with plenty of hot water, nice thick bath towels and complimentary toiletries.
The breakfast was a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds with a fantastic fresh fruit salad, grapefruit,strawberries, water melon, blueberries as well as the usual cereals, croissants and muffins. The cooked breakfast was excellent with a wide choice for both meat eaters and vegetarians.
Phil and Steven are excellent hosts who put a lot of effort into making sure that their guests enjoy their stay in Eastbourne with lots of advice about where to visit and places to eat. It is about a ten minute walk to the Pier and most of the restaurants.
We would definitely recommend The New England to anyone visiting the area. Thanks again Phil and Steven.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at The New England in room 2 at the top for three nights and couldn't fault it at all. The owners were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, what ever you wanted to ask, they were willing to help. It is a great location, good for parking and close by to local attractions. The theme fits in really well and it was so clean and tidy, everything was thought of and you can tell that a lot of time and effort is put into making guests feel welcome. The breakfast was the best I have ever had, and everything was considered, from fruit, to cereal, to full english and vegetarians are thought of too!! We would certainly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeGroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for two nights and were very pleased with our choice. The location opposite the seafront but a little away from the very centre with its coaches and traffic jams was ideal for us. The breakfast was top notch with a pleasant setting looking towards the seafront. The decor, art and "feel" were excellent throughout.
Be aware that parking is an issue around there, particularly at the weekend and in good weather.
There are local facilities (Tesco metro, restaurants etc) about 5 minutes walk away on Seaside Road.

Room Tip: We had the suite at the back - no view but quiet, comfortable and a bit of space to expand into. Loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaldieBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,624 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,877 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England

Address: 60 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £72 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The New England! Conveniently located on Eastbourne Seafront and only 15 minutes walk from the Peer, we are a family run Guest Accommodation with a contemporary US East Coast maritime feel. Take in the views from our ocean front Dining Room and relax in our comfortable Guest Lounge. Enjoy our renowned Continental Buffet Breakfast, including freshly prepared fruit salads and home made compote. All our rooms are en-suite and are either doubles or large family rooms, with comfortable mattresses and luxury linen. All have fans for your comfort, flat screen TV with FreeView digital channels and include Tea and Coffee making facilities. Wifi is free and available throughout the property. Please contact us by phone or email for best available options. Come stay with us and we will endeavour to make your stay memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The New England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing