We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay again at The New England”
Review of The New England

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New England
Ranked #15 of 76 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just arrived back from another stay at The New England Guesthouse in Eastbourne. I booked Room 1 which is the largest and highest room in the guesthouse and I stayed with my three children. It was just as relaxing as our first stay in May 2013, except we had one day of rain in May and complete sunshine in August! The rooms are well looked after and clean with lovely touches of a fresh sea side decor. There are so many things to enjoy about this place; the immaculate rooms, Steve and Phil's hospitality, the wonderful breakfast which is served fresh with so much choice, the view from the window of the blue sea etc.
It was really sunny throughout our three night stay and we enjoyed spending time on the beach which is a short walk across the Royal Parade and through the small pleasent Pavilion Gardens.
I recommend eating at the Soveign Harbour which is a bus ride away on the '99 wave'; there are many choices of restaurants there, such as the Harvester, Simply Italian,Thai Marina (very expensive) Ganges Indian Restaurant and Pablos Mediterranian Restaurant (the last two I have yet to try). You can also take a 30 minute harbour boat tour around the harbour which is very entertaining and enjoyable.
Another place to eat is the Beach Deck near Treasure Island; you sit on a decking area overlooking the beach. Please do take a cardie though as the sea air in the early evening can get a little cooler! You can also opt to eat inside. For lunch you can eat almost anywhere in Eastbourne; there's such a great choice of restaurants, fish and chip places, cafe's and hotels servicing lunch or afternoon tea.; even sandwiches on the beach from M&S or sainsburys (from the Arndale Shopping Centre on Terminus Road).
We also took a bus ride on the special vintage '110 bus' which sadly ended this week as it was only running this summer, celebrating 110 years of buses in Eastbourne. We also liked the Dotto Train which you can take either to the foot of Beachy Head from the Pier or the opposite direction to the Soveign Harbour ( or you can do both trips). The open top red sightseeing bus was good fun, taking passengers up to the top of Beachy Head with an interesting commentry on the history of Eastbourne.
Overall we throughly enjoyed staying at The New England and judging by the number of guests (from Europe and the UK) so does everyone else! Even if all the rooms are full we never felt that the guesthouse was overcrowded. Breakfast times was fine as Steve and Phil had set individual tables for each room and showed us our own table, which had a nice view! Everyone was very friendly and you find yourself chatting to regular guests about what you did yesterday!
We recommend this guesthouse as a lovely place to stay while visiting Eastbourne and other places in East Sussex. My children and I will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the biggest room for families with children with two windows viewing the sea (one to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessNalinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

A fantastic pace to stay, cannot be faulted in any way. Had two rooms, excellent accommodation, hosts, and food totally over the top for a b & b, you would not gt a better breakfast in the 5 star Grand Hotel! Lovely place.

Room Tip: Suite if you would like space and quiet, but any are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I can only reiterate those very positive comments posted previously by scores of delighted visitors. A three night visit to a very warm and sunny Eastbourne was made so very comfortable by our stay at The New England. Excellent hosts. Excellent accommodation. Excellent location. Excellent breakfasts. (Oh those breakfasts)! What more can we say? Our sea-view bedroom was blessed with a small front and side balcony which allowed us to sit with a good wine and watch the sun go down. The New England when visiting Eastbourne? An absolute MUST!

Room Tip: Sea-view room with front and side balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollick95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Have just returned from 6 days at this B&B and couldn't have wished for more.....Phil and Steve were very helpful and friendly....the rooms immaculate with towels changed every day and toiletries replaced and excellent showers...There was a good selection of tea/coffee biscuits etc which again were topped up daily.....We had to change rooms after 4 days (which we knew when we booked as the original room was already taken )and found the same standard in both rooms...Faultless apart from maybe the second room being a bit small....The breakfasts were delightful... served buffet style with a good selection of cereals, fruit salad, juices and all variations of cooked breakfast including vegetarian and also lovely pastries......Phil and Steve were always on hand to replenish supplies and provide tea/coffee as requested....and were very helpful regarding where to visit and where to eat etc...All in all an excellent establishment which we would not hesitate to visit again and recommend to anyone else...Thanks Phil and Steve

Room Tip: Room 3 was slightly larger than room 5 and had an excellent balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our two young grandsons for one night when we were visiting Druscilla's Zoo nearby. Our family room had a sea view and was quite big enough for four beds. The bathroom was smallish but immaculately clean and well fitted out. The breakfast was the real star turn - as good, if not better than in most five star hotels. Everything was on the buffet- from delicious vegetarian omelette for us, to doughnuts for the boys! Lots of fresh fruit and excellent coffee. The two owners were friendly and helpful without being over the top. I would strongly recommend this guest house to anyone wanting to stay in the Eastbourne area

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flissie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A lovely home from home bed and breakfast by the sea. The warmest welcome you could wish for with wonderful hospitality continuing until departure. Rooms very comfortable although not spacious they are not lacking in facilities. Breakfast stupendous especially when served buffet style as choice is exceptional. We have returned many times and cannot wait for the next visit. Room 4 is our favourite. Keep up the good work Phil and Steve and please don't think of retirement for many years to come. xx

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 have a lovely balcony perfect for sharing with a bottle of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were overjoyed to find such a gem of a B&B. The food, décor, cleanliness, friendliness and attention to detail is second to non. Both Phillip and Steven run an amazing establishment. We recommend room 3, it has an amazing balcony overlooking the sea front.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a really nice balcony overlooking the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
977 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#3 of 76 in Eastbourne
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England

Address: 60 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The New England! Conveniently located on Eastbourne Seafront and only 15 minutes walk from the Peer, we are a family run Guest Accommodation with a contemporary US East Coast maritime feel. Take in the views from our ocean front Dining Room and relax in our comfortable Guest Lounge. Enjoy our renowned Full English breakfasts and choose from our extensive buffet, including freshly prepared fruit salads and home made compote. All our rooms are en-suite and are either doubles or large family rooms, with comfortable mattresses and luxury linen. All have flat screen TV with FreeView digital channels and include Tea and Coffee making facilities. Wifi is free and available throughout the property. Please contact us by phone or email for best available options. Come stay with us and we will endeavour to make your stay memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The New England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing