We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always coming back.”
Review of The New England

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New England
Ranked #16 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Konigswinter, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Always coming back.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our stay at The New England was our third there in 4 years. The rooms are not large, in fact they are a bit small, but they are beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. We have stayed in three rooms on the various occasions, but would always recommend the ones facing the sea, so that you can sit outside in the evening sun and enjoy the view. Parking is limited but so far we had no trouble finding a spot in the streets surounding the b&b (we are always on shoulder season, do not know what it is like in the middle of summer).

The hosts are very friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast is fantastic. Excellent quality and selection, doesn't matter if it is buffet style (when there are many people) or made to order (when there are few people staying) always very good. The whole house is beautifully decorated not only the guest rooms (as mentioned) but also the common rooms and hallway.

We'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the sea (and deck) it's really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
187
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here New Year's eve which is also partners birthday. Very comfortable and welcoming. Nice bed. Hosts recommended hilarious decorated pub (Marina) very entertaining. Fabulous breakfast sublimley cooked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a weekend away, chose this b&b for it's ratings and was not disappointed.
Spotlessly Clean and comfortable.
Excellent location.
Excellent full English breakfast.
Excellent hosts.
I would highly recommend this B&B
And no pets too which was great because that meant no horrible stale smells.
Deserves it's 5 stars

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpvids9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Made to feel very welcome as soon as I we arrived! Good clean rooms and value added service!
Had seaview room with large balcony and made full use of it! Easy parking outside and all local amenities within walking distance. Even brought champagne flutes to room when they saw we had a bottle!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipper66261246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

An absolutely perfect stay from start to finish. The B&B was so clean, it had a comfy bed, great decor and delicious food. We thought the bathroom suite had been put in brand new it was that clean! The owners were so friendly. They couldn't do enough for you. They really try so hard with breakfast and it really pays off, everything was cooked fresh, exactly how you want it. Great coffee too. Huge well done!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The New England, From the moment we stepped inside the doors we were welcomed, Phil and Steve greeted us and showed us to our first floor room, No 4.

On first impressions you notice that the reception area and public areas are clean, bright and immaculate, not a speck of dust or cobwebs to be seen, the decor is tasteful and relaxing, and it smells lovely! (not one patterned carpet to be seen! Fab!) everything is done to the highest standard, lovely comfortable leather sofas, a flat screen tv and a book shelf full of books and games for the guests, the breakfast room is simple and uncluttered, with lovely clean wood floors and wicker chairs.

Our room No4 was at the front of the B & B sea view with a shared balcony, this room can either be a twin or a double, again tastefully decorated to the highest standards, Phil showed us how the curtains worked and the patio door etc, And gave us some ideas of where to go to eat and what was on in Eastbourne.
Attention to detail is fabulous, a well stocked drinks tray, and for the first time in any hotel/b&b a tea towel on the tray, clean kettle with no scale, lovely good sized mugs rather than the normal titchy bog standard cup and saucer.

The bed linen is lovely and the beds comfortable, the double glazing kept any road noises at bay, a haven of calm and relaxation.
The bathroom, was stocked with lovely toiletries, a face bar as well as a body bar of soap, as well as shower gel, shampoo and body lotion, towels to die for, again spotlessly clean.

The best part for me in any stay away is breakfast cooked for me, and this didn't disappoint at all! Steve cooks the most fabulous breakfast, locally cured bacon, fresh local eggs, meaty sausages and mushrooms, and tomatoes, not a speck of fat on the plate, there's also the usual cereals, yoghurt, fruit, and juices and lovely hot coffee, a continental style breakfast is also available but we didn't have that.

All in all a fabulous B & B I would honestly say the nicest one I've ever stayed in, well deserving of their high trip advisor scores, Phil and Steve have got it spot on, We would defiantly stay there again if we went to Eastbourne, and would highly recommend it.

Thank you again guys for a wonderfully relaxing weekend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Knittalottia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome on arrival, Phil The manager showed us to our room which was a good size with nice sea views, this family bedroom with ensuite facilities was spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable having nice soft mattresses and pillows so we all had a good nights sleep.
There was also plenty of cupboard space for your things, and there were nice little touches like small packets of biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities, and scented soaps and small bottles of shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser in the bathroom.
The full English breakfast was excellent, there was also the choice of different cereals and fruit juices, plus a nice pot of fresh tea or coffee was served with toast and jams.
The guest house was situated on the coast road was about a 20 minute walk from the town centre and pier.
On street parking was a bit of a lottery, but at least it was free to park when you did find a space.
Overall I could not fault the The New England, I would definitely stay again and would recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Buddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
971 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England

Property: The New England
Address: 60 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The New England! Conveniently located on Eastbourne Seafront and only 15 minutes walk from the Peer, we are a family run Guest Accommodation with a contemporary US East Coast maritime feel. Take in the views from our ocean front Dining Room and relax in our comfortable Guest Lounge. Enjoy our renowned Full English breakfasts and choose from our extensive buffet, including freshly prepared fruit salads and home made compote. All our rooms are en-suite and are either doubles or large family rooms, with comfortable mattresses and luxury linen. All have flat screen TV with FreeView digital channels and include Tea and Coffee making facilities. Wifi is free and available throughout the property. Please contact us by phone or email for best available options. Come stay with us and we will endeavour to make your stay memorable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The New England reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing