We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 DAY TRIP TO EASTBOURNE WITH WILFREDA BEEHIVE/EAGRE”
Review of Haddon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haddon Hall Hotel
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Monday-Friday (24 March 2014) holiday with Wilfreda Beehive staying at Haddon Hall Hotel in Eastbourne. Very pleased with the hotel. Nice clean bedroom, carpet and curtains. Although would have preferred a duvet and not a blanket on the bed. Also, did not like having a blanket covering the mattress under the bottom sheet to lay on. A mattress cover would have been preferable. Did not have to handle our luggage - taken up to bedroom and back down on leaving day. Newspapers delivered to the bedroom door before 7am - brillliant. The meals were very good - home cooking. Plenty of fresh veggies. Good choice at every meal time and all decent portions. Excellent service by the dining staff who were very busy but always managed a smile and a joke. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Usual entertainment at night - bingo and musician/dancing. Would have no hesitation in returning again and recommending this holiday and Haddon Hall Hotel. All in all a very enjoyable holiday with excellent service by Wilfreda Beehive from start to finish and the service of a very pleasant driver Peter, who had an excellent sense of humour and kept the coach party entertained with his jokes.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which was quite a trek although there is a lift but it only holds three p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

just had a week at this hotel and was very pleased with most things. the room was spotless and roomy. the bathroom was one of the best we have ever had in this price range. only downside, no pressure in the shower. the food was lovely, but the knives would only cut butter. well situated and very flat for walking out.

Room Tip: try to get a lower room. stairs very warm as you use them. lift only holds 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent all round, the service in the restaurant was quick and efficient, only one bad moment in the Dinner on the Friday, my portion of Beef had to be returned as it was unedible (to thick to cut with blunt cutlery). Our waiter for the weekend 'Gerti' was very efficient and prompt and nothing was to much of a problem.

The lift could be a problem to those with less strength than me, even so it was an effort to hold open two doors at the same time whilst entering and exiting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It is not the poshest hotel that I have stayed in, but Staff and comfort make up for it all, welcoming back groups of friends each year and nothing is to much trouble.It is clean and welcoming and with good home cooked food. Piggies can ask for more veg and toast it is all on tap.
The deserts are so yummy, Thanks to all you guys for giving us a great weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms are all clean and comfie, Not the largest but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Having been home for a few days after yet another fantastic long weekend stay at this hotel with friends, i could not help but write another review of this wonderful hotel and staff. I arrived earlier than expected for a 4 day stay but that did not change things at all. Being greeted by such fantastic people who always seem to have a smile on their faces puts you at ease straight away, even the manager remembers some of us by name. Restaurant staff are brilliant, they even join in with a joke or 2 while serving which is nice and friendly. The one thing that does amaze me about this hotel is, how they can remember certain people by name and greet them with a hug on arrival and departure. Everyone at this hotel are so wonderful that, I am going back to this hotel in October for another 4 day stay. I don't think i could go anywhere else, after the way i am treated so well by everyone at THE HADDON HALL HOTEL. I would like to publicly thank Mike ( the G M ) all ALL his staff for taking such care to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. Thank you Mike, see you in October xx

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 nights stay at this hotel & nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Meals are of 5 star quality with very good choices for breakfast & evening meals & of good size portions. Our room was perfectly adequate for our stay with an en suite which was spotlessly clean when we arrived & always cleaned to perfection daily. If I was to have one gripe it would be that the hotel does not use duvets but sheets & blankets but they to were spotlessly clean. Always hot water & central heating when required in your room & hotel warm at all times. Ladies be aware that there is no hair dryer in the room.We had a room at the rear of the hotel & you get sun in the afternoon. Entertainment of an evening was good. Ideally situated for the prom & only 10 minutes walk to town. Would we return again yes most definitely. Looking to do a turkey & tinsel this year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancingshoes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 Day Holiday at Haddon Hall an Excellent all round experience very friendly & helpful staff a special mention of Jeff our waiter nothing was too much trouble always cheerful excellent food nice & hot & fresh lovely surroundings always warm in all the rooms very quiet a good nights sleep great entertainment will definitely back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon Hall Hotel

Address: Devonshire Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddon Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Haddon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing