We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
71
41
6
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
41
6
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house full english minutes walk from the seafront the ground floor town centre devonshire theatre location is great yogurt late booking breakfasts were excellent biscuits parking permit mobility problems sea front breakfast was included tea or coffee friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I write this review with complete and utter sympathy for the unfortunate soul and dares to attempt this hotel before reading a review about it. More importantly, my review. Smelly, dirty, inhumane and simply disgusting. From pigeons nesting in the chimney breast/air vent.....to an old man hanging around the front. This hotel needs to demolished. Where do i begin. Do not waste a single penny, litre of petrol, breath of oxygen or even a brain cell. NEVER AGAIN.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole T, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Well! Read this persons review and the rest of our reviews and ......! Let us put is this way, he never stayed here, he come in, he blocked the hallway for other guests when he was talking in his mobile and then he left! .......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This hotel is just out of the town centre in a road leading to the promenade, so a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful during check in and at breakfast. We were only staying one night and this is a budget hotel, so we were not expecting frills, but it was comfortable and very clean. Our room was small for two, and the access was awkward, but we had asked for a bath rather than a shower, so we could hardly complain! I think we would have got a better room with a shower however. It was quiet, but had no decent view out of the window.
Breakfast was included in the price and was good, we were offered a full English but chose poached eggs on toast, and there was a reasonable selection on the buffet table. The coffee was very weak however, so don't expect a kick start from that if you stay here. Overall we were satisfied with our short stay for the price.

Room tip: Ask for a room at the front with a shower
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravellaDachsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

A warm and friendly welcome from Carole. A very clean and tidy room on the 1st floor. An excellent buffet and cooked breakfast which kept us full for most of the day. Close to the seafront, shops and theatres,The Sherwood had everything we needed in a B&B for our 4 night stay. Thankyou Carole and Bo. We hope to return again next year.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suesh0ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Very clean rooms, friendly staff. Excellent breakfast freshly cooked. Good position for the theatres and sea front. Would stay again. Only thing that could be updated is the bathroom but what was there was very clean.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Harrijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole T, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you very much! Very nice to read your kind words! CLEAN, FRIENDLY and EXCELLENT BREAKFAST wonderful to hear!!! Bathroom update, our main focus when we took over was to get things to be as you describe! Now we are in the next phase in order to update the bathrooms :-) 1 bathroom is not so expensive but 16 bathrooms are, but in time we get there! All the best and welcome back! We hope you liked the new bed as well, they are all new since a few weeks back :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We chose The Sherwood, based on recent reviews, and the fact that it has been ten years since we stayed here, and we fancied a revisit. The owners, Carol and Bo, made us feel welcome throughout our two night stay. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed, and breakfast was freshly cooked. The location is great for the beach, the Devonshire Theatre, and local restaurants. A parking permit is issued by The Sherwood also, which is a nice touch. It was great to visit this well established favourite once again. Thank you Carol and Bo.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole T, Owner at The Sherwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your nice words. It was lovely to meet you both and it is nice to know we didn't disappoint after your break away from The Sherwood. We hope to see you again some time, you are always very welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews