We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish Tower Tour 26 July 14”
Review of The Wish Tower

The Wish Tower
Ranked #22 of 60 things to do in Eastbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wish Tower is a historic Martello Tower built to protect the UK from possible invasion by Napoleon. It's a fascinating structure and free tours are available via our website. The Tower is nothing to do with the cafe next door, called the Western View and run by the local council. They have a separate Trip Advisor page.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Martello towers are a feature of many seaside towns in Sussex and Kent, and are in themselves interesting historical buildings.
The Wish Tower has had a chequered recent history, but currently offers the chance to have a free tour of a building that is in desperate need of restoration.
The tour itself is run by volunteers who are doing a fantastic job in publicising the fact that they are trying to bring this important buidling back to life.
The interior offers a fascinating glimpse of life in the Napoleonic years, with 20 odd soldiers living in a space we would think fit as a master bedroom.
The views from the roof are stunning, and it is clear to see why these towers were such a good idea.
I will definitely return, and if there is anything I can do to assist the gradual restoration process, then I will gladly help out.
An hour very well spent!

3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our visit to the Wish Tower was well worthwhile, especially for the fantastic view from the rooftop. In addition, the short history tour of the building was very interesting and our guide was entertaining and knowledgeable. A fun visit on a sunny day!

4  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Would like to respond to the moan from NIGEL H of Swansea, you are entitled to your
opinion? I guess!!, you obviously did not HONESTLY search the area which you are
moaning about, I see that you are a SENIOR CONTRIBUTOR, to be quite honest, without
being rude, Seniors such as yourself, moan about everything, The Wish Tower is working
very hard, also their cafe is to be highly recommended with a fantastic view. Think twice
please before you try to put others off from a visit, you should of look on the net for tours as
you are obviously very good on a keyboard. Good Luck Nigel, its a great place, lived here
for most of my life after travelling the world, always I come back, I am a very young 58 year
old HUMAN" LIVE AND LET LIVE" HUMAN

4  Thank Easttraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will C, Manager at The Wish Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks for your comment. At the time Nigel posted the review we were still finding volunteers to help with tours, so there wouldn't have been much to see.

The cafe you mentioned is run by the local council, not by us. We're the Wish Tower Friends, a group of volunteers. We hear their cakes are pretty good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you're going hoping to have a museum or a castle experience, then don't bother. However if you're interested in history, particularly local history and war history, then this is definitely for you. The place is very small and there is not a lot to see, but it's steeped in history and I found the tour fascinating and interesting. Very worth while and highly recommended!

1  Thank SiDa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It's great to see the tower opened to the public again after so long. The Wish Tower Friends group have done a great job clearing out evidence of previous less than authentic uses of the building and the volunteer guides are extremely knowledgeable on the building's history and the events connected with their construction.

If you can get onto one of their free tours - or your passing and you're lucky enough to find they have a space - I recommend you cease the opportunity to sneak inside one of Eastbourne's great landmarks!

1  Thank lambouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wish Tower also viewed

 

Been to The Wish Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing