We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend”
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
706 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from a fabulous Ladies weekend here. The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere, the rooms were bright and airy, and the food was excellent, both breakfast and the evening meals. Their chef created the most amazing choux desert in the shape of two swans! Breakfast was served at the table, and was top quality.But what really made it so good were the staff; from reception to bar staff, waiting staff to maid service, everyone was courteous and polite, yet smiling and friendly. So refreshing to see people apparently enjoying their jobs. Special mention to the lady with short red hair behind the bar on Saturday night, you did a great job. Reasonable drink prices too, nice not to feel ripped off. One of the few hotels I would go back to without doubt.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with sea view are worth any extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Andy-S60

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience. I am really pleased you enjoyed our food and hospitality and have passed on your kind comments to the team. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    231
    70
    23
    8
See reviews for
147
365
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We live in Eastbourne and were asked by a close elderly friend if we could recommend a hotel for a short stay.We have used the Langham for meals and drinks on many occasions and so had no hesitation in her using this hotel for her stay,We picked her up from the station and took her to the hotel where she was greeted with great friendliness and courtesy.We joined her that evening for dinner and she was so complimentary about her room and the friendliness of all the staff especially the owner Neil who really made her feel special.On the second day she was joined by some of her family and they could not praise the hotel more highly and they are very seasoned travellers,they are all thinking of returning for another stay at the hotel;so please thank all the staff for their help and courtesy they gave our friends on their stay ,it is so good to know the good old British values still do exist;many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Keith t,

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. It is good to read of your friends positive experience with us. I am glad we made her feel so welcome, comfortable and cared for. I have passed your kind thanks on to Neil and together we very much hope to welcome yourselves and your friend back in the future.

With kind regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Our second visit as part of the southern vandyke reunion .. Wondered if we would find the same standards as last year ... OH YES .. This is a hotel that does not scrimp on staff and it shows .. It's like a wonderful walk back in time .. Breakfast is cooked for you and served to you ... No hot plate buffet style here .. Every member of staff I met were happy and helpful, yes they are still smiley !! We booked a sea view room it was extremely clean and comfortable. We enjoyed 2 dinner nights and food was great . Just to say thank you to Neil and his team and our John & Heidi for organising everything . LOVED IT !

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sprite643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear sprite643,
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that on a repeat visit we are still smiling and are still delivering great experiences. I have passed your gratitude on to Neil and Wendy who join me when I say ' we look forward to welcoming you back again next year, if not sooner.'

Kindest regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My partner and I have just come back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We had a warm welcome and throughout our stay the reception staff couldn't do more for us. Our sea view room was excellent which made it such a relaxing break. The dinner menu was very good, we had the fattest, tastiest bit of cod! Breakfast in the conservatory was lovely in the sun overlooking the beach- (the weather was very kind to us). We will be coming back here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear NWJD,
I'm really pleased you took the time to share your experience. On behalf of the whole team (and the Cod) we really do appreciate your great comments. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent the weekend at this hotel on a trip to Eastbourne. This is one of the most enjoyable breaks I've had in a while. The rooms were of a very high standard. The meals were first class and plentiful. All the staff, from the manager (Neil) down to the waiters / waitresses were very polite and could not do enough for you during the stay. They were very cheerful and seemed to be happy at their work. All in all a very pleasant stay and I will definately return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are obviously perfect for the view, but I'd recommend a room at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Ronald J,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am really pleased to read of your great experience and I am glad you got to meet the team throughout your stay too. Good of you to recommend the rear facing rooms; those seaview rooms take all the limelight!
I look forward to welcome you back again next year if not sooner.

Kind regards
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent four nights in this very pleasant hotel,all of the staff were so helpful & friendly.room was very comfortable lovely to have a sea view.food very good & everywhere was so clean.we would definitely recommend to our friends & hope to return ourselves very soon.

Room Tip: Any with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Maddy D,

Thank you very much for your lovely little review. I am delighted you enjoyed your short break with us and that you enjoyed the sea view, good food and friendly team. We look forward to see you return soon.

Kindest regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The service from friendly, smiling staff was excellent, the food was very high quality, accommodation fine, and location ideal for a few days rest and relaxation overlooking the sea.Even in Feb the weather was great.

Room Tip: Sea view an advantage at any time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Graham736,
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the weather was also good. We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Property: Langham Hotel
Address: 43-49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run AA four-star hotel yards from the beach and overlooking the magnificent bay. A short walk to the pier, town and amenities. There is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel too. The Langham has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining for the past 8 years in a row. Has a thriving Lunch Club with top class speakers; regular Jazz Lunches, Cabaret Dinners, and a Pudding & Wine Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing