We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb birthday dinner”
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
eastbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“superb birthday dinner”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family had a superb birthday dinner in the restaurant. We sat in the conservatory overlooking a calm blue sea. The menu did not disappoint. Delicious steaks, fish and a filling risotto which my teenage granddaughter thought amazing (her first one!). The service was exemplary and we will return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear supelham,

Thank you for your great recommendation and, belated happy birthday to you! I am glad you enjoyed your family lunch whilst taking in those spectacular sea views and delicious food. We hope to see you all again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    234
    71
    23
    8
See reviews for
149
371
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A business trip to Eastbourne, I wanted to avoid the travel lodge and find something with a sea view, the Langham had some good reveiws and appeared to be a step ahead of the other sea front hotels. I was not disapointed in any way. My Room had a great sea view with wide opening windows and the included breakfast was taken in the conservatory again with a great sea view, I arrived late and left early so free parking at the front of the hotel was a bonus. The only comment would be, and this is directed at all hotels please can an ironing board an iron be standard in all rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loydy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear loydy007,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and also your note re: Iron and boards which although not standard in our guest rooms are plentifully available upon request. I am so pleased we gave you such a positive experience, it sounds like you had a great time. Well done also to catch that evening parking opposite (before the charging period starts), what a bonus! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited this hotel in March for a one night stay whilst visiting the area. The hotel was near the final stages of a complete refurbishment programme and it was looking very good. Our room was excellent as indeed were the other facilities. The hotel is nicely positioned overlooking the sea front & the best part of the stay was breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the sea, with the sun shining through. Service from the staff was excellent and we look forward to revisiting the hotel in 2015 when we shall be there for a one week stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear graham r,

Thank you very much for your review - we wish you had stayed longer too! It is a pleasure to read of your experience - in particular the breakfast sounds like quite a treat! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in March, and I look forward to welcome you back again in 2015.

Warmest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel and staff could not be better. The room is top quality and perfectly clean.
The whole experience is fault less. From booking to checking out the staff could not have been more helpful.
The view from the hotel bar and the room is spectacular and the sea view stated on booking surpassed my expectations giving me a panoramic view of the promenade.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane4llen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jane4llen,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and delivered a great experience. Please do visit us again soon.

With kind regards

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed at the Langham on four separate occasions. We love it here. The food is amazing, the service superb, the staff brilliant and, in our opinion, it is the No 1 hotel in Eastbourne. The Langham provides the perfect package for any celebration or function, formal or informal. Ladies Festivals are out of this world. Team Langham are Tops!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are wonderful, all with plenty of light. The bathrooms are very stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Allanna N,

Thank you for making us your No 1 hotel in Eastbourne. I am delighted this is how we have made you feel and I really appreciate your kind comments. Please do visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a short break away, and my thoughts are this hotel definitely deserves it's #1 ranking. The hotel is family run and it shows, all the personal touches go a long way. The room we had was of exceptional quality. We had a room at the rear of the hotel but this was no problem as the hotel has a lovely bar area which overlooks the sea, we spent time in here and the service from the staff was always spot on. We dined in the conservatory restaurant and had a marvellous meal, I believe the restaurant has a rosette award for culinary and boy did it show.
From my very first encounter with Paul on making my reservation right the way through to check out again with Paul! all the staff were brilliant and this is what makes The Langham stand out the attention to detail is amazing.
So special thanks to Paul on the front desk, the guys in the bar and our waitress who's name escapes me. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate booking here it's amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear 901Jesse,

Thank you very much for your high recommendation. We are honoured to receive such kind praise. I have shared your wonderful motivational comments with the team and we all very much look forward to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards

Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Was looking forward to an evening down in Eastbourne having secured a room at Trip Advisor's top rated hotel. However, feelings soon changed on arrival at our room. it was like a step back in time - the room was so dated it felt like visiting an old relative. the room was small and the bathroom was disgusting - very tired - out of the 70's!! To add insult to injury the soiled bath mat had been rolled up and tied with an orange ribbon to add a "nice touch"?
Now I have to say on the plus side that the staff were very friendly and helpful - I'm sure they would have moved us had the hotel not been full - I imagine that this room 342 is only used once everything else has been booked.
The room certainly did not resemble those on the website.

Room Tip: go to the Grand!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank whereverilaymyhat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear whereverileavemyhat50,

Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry to read you did not enjoy this bedroom. It is one of a dozen out of 80 still left to refurbish and I can therefore appreciate your expectations. I have looked at the bath mat and it is not soiled but it was slightly discoloured from all the different shampoos and body washes etc used over time. I have replaced this now. When you booked this was unfortunately the last bedroom; had we have had a different bedroom available we most definitely would have provided this to you. Thank you for your very kind comments about the staff. The Grand is a lovely hotel but it will cost you one hundred percent more. If you ever do choose to stay with us again you would be very welcome; my advice would be to please contact the hotel direct so that we can advise on the bedroom availability

With kind regards,
Simon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,960 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Property: Langham Hotel
Address: 43-49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run AA four-star hotel yards from the beach and overlooking the magnificent bay. A short walk to the pier, town and amenities. There is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel too. The Langham has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining for the past 8 years in a row. Has a thriving Lunch Club with top class speakers; regular Jazz Lunches, Cabaret Dinners, and a Pudding & Wine Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing