We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving all the time”
Review of Langham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Langham 2 years ago and loved it hence our return this year. Knowing that the hotel management is continously upgrading the rooms, we experienced the new ones this stay. Beautifully completed. It's always lovely to have a fabulous looking room but the most important element of a hotel stay is the customer service. This was exceptional during our last stay and exceeded our expectations again. The majority of staff were the same as 2 years ago and nothing was ever too much trouble. All staff were standouts and look forward to experiencing the Langham top class service again, soon we hope.
As an additional bonus location is fabulous right on the seafront and the food. ....... From breakfast, snacks and dinner all super... highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jane T,

Thank you very much for your tip top recommendation! It is so nice to read of your positive observations (past and present) and that you feel we are always moving forward. Great comments reference the team and service also. We look forward to your imminent return!

With kind regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Langham with our friends for one night on 12th July.The excellent service started the night before our visit when Nick phoned me regarding a request I had made regarding our rooms.He was able to offer a solution to my request and was just checking it was suitable.Check in on arrival was very friendly and quick with directions to the car park and room keys issued.The four of us enjoyed drinks and lunch on the sun terrace before heading into Eastbourne.The bar staff were very friendly and the service was good.We enjoyed tasty sandwiches while enjoying the sun and the sea view.On arrival back at the hotel some hours later having been unable to find some late night supper to suit us we were able to enjoy some snacks in the bar area which were very welcome.Our rooms were excellent.Believe they had recently been refurbished.Very stylish and comfortable,spotlessly clean and well equipped.Breakfast was cooked to order so it was fresh and hot.It was not the tastiest breakfast Ive ever had,the sausages were bland and the egg was tiny.The fried bread was hard and I dont think the mushrooms were fresh.It was well presented and served with toast .The prunes in honey were lovely and served with a high quality natural yoghurt.When checking out we asked if we could look at some other room options prior to a planned visit in Feb 2015.We spoke to Fay at reception who was very helpful despite being very busy with people checking out.She was able to show us some rooms and noted all our requests.She was very professional,cheerful and helpful.All the staff were friendly and welcoming,the hotel is very comfortable,stylish and clean.It is in an excellent location within walking distance to the town.Thank you to the Langham and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 314 and 318 were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear diane m,

What a lovely review about the Langham. Thank you so much for your kind comments and also your helpful feedback re: breakfast; incidentally we are looking to introduce a different sausage in the future - yummy! Good job on mentioning the team and also singling out Nick and Faye, I am glad to read that they all served you to such an exceptional standard. The praise you have given is a joy to read and we all look forward to your next visit soon.

With kind regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family had a superb birthday dinner in the restaurant. We sat in the conservatory overlooking a calm blue sea. The menu did not disappoint. Delicious steaks, fish and a filling risotto which my teenage granddaughter thought amazing (her first one!). The service was exemplary and we will return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank supelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear supelham,

Thank you for your great recommendation and, belated happy birthday to you! I am glad you enjoyed your family lunch whilst taking in those spectacular sea views and delicious food. We hope to see you all again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A business trip to Eastbourne, I wanted to avoid the travel lodge and find something with a sea view, the Langham had some good reveiws and appeared to be a step ahead of the other sea front hotels. I was not disapointed in any way. My Room had a great sea view with wide opening windows and the included breakfast was taken in the conservatory again with a great sea view, I arrived late and left early so free parking at the front of the hotel was a bonus. The only comment would be, and this is directed at all hotels please can an ironing board an iron be standard in all rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loydy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear loydy007,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and also your note re: Iron and boards which although not standard in our guest rooms are plentifully available upon request. I am so pleased we gave you such a positive experience, it sounds like you had a great time. Well done also to catch that evening parking opposite (before the charging period starts), what a bonus! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We visited this hotel in March for a one night stay whilst visiting the area. The hotel was near the final stages of a complete refurbishment programme and it was looking very good. Our room was excellent as indeed were the other facilities. The hotel is nicely positioned overlooking the sea front & the best part of the stay was breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the sea, with the sun shining through. Service from the staff was excellent and we look forward to revisiting the hotel in 2015 when we shall be there for a one week stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear graham r,

Thank you very much for your review - we wish you had stayed longer too! It is a pleasure to read of your experience - in particular the breakfast sounds like quite a treat! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in March, and I look forward to welcome you back again in 2015.

Warmest regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel and staff could not be better. The room is top quality and perfectly clean.
The whole experience is fault less. From booking to checking out the staff could not have been more helpful.
The view from the hotel bar and the room is spectacular and the sea view stated on booking surpassed my expectations giving me a panoramic view of the promenade.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane4llen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jane4llen,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and delivered a great experience. Please do visit us again soon.

With kind regards

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed at the Langham on four separate occasions. We love it here. The food is amazing, the service superb, the staff brilliant and, in our opinion, it is the No 1 hotel in Eastbourne. The Langham provides the perfect package for any celebration or function, formal or informal. Ladies Festivals are out of this world. Team Langham are Tops!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are wonderful, all with plenty of light. The bathrooms are very stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at Langham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Allanna N,

Thank you for making us your No 1 hotel in Eastbourne. I am delighted this is how we have made you feel and I really appreciate your kind comments. Please do visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Simon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,339 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,657 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Hotel

Address: 43-49 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £62 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run AA four-star hotel yards from the beach and overlooking the magnificent bay. A short walk to the pier, town and amenities. There is a bus stop directly opposite the hotel too. The Langham has been awarded an AA Rosette for Fine Dining for the past 8 years in a row. Has a thriving Lunch Club with top class speakers; regular Jazz Lunches, Cabaret Dinners, and a Pudding & Wine Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing