We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location!”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb location!”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed here whilst attending a conference in September. I had a lovely spacious room with a balcony and although my room was on the side of the hotel, I could see the pier and the sea from my bed. Each night, I opened the balcony doors wide so that I could hear the sea - just wonderful and so therapeutic! I found all the staff to be friendly and welcoming and could not fault the service. The food was tasty with plenty of choice. I also enjoyed the free wifi in my room. Parking was easy: I bought parking tickets for £1 each (valid until 11am the following morning) and found a space on the seafront just outside the hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Eastbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdLucem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    931
    137
    41
    15
See reviews for
463
1,321
224
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Cumbria.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have stayed here before,some years ago but when I booked this time,I couldn't believe my eyes, because of the changes and upgrading to 5 star standard, in all but no swimming pool, or gym'.
Apparently it had the changes made over a three month period during the winter season, at a cost of £3 million, the place was completely gutted and refitted with all the best and most modern fittings, even new lifts.
The service is first class, the food is to die for, in a lovely dining room, served without any waiting by very helpful staff.
They have fully disabled rooms for those who need them (I do), and if you bring a mobility scooter (I did), They look after that for you, take it downstairs to charge it up, bring it up when you're ready to go out, the lot.
Yes I would recomend this place, if you want a comfortable, pampered holiday.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra charge for a balcony room, the views along the front, both ways are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here for a conference last weekend of September. The food was excellent, and the staff were extremely friendly. My room (210) was a palace compared to some rooms at other hotels I've stayed in. My only complaint about this hotel is that, considering it's a conference centre, there was no mobile phone reception in my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

From the outside it would be difficult to describe the building as anything other than ugly. Particularly as it is amongst some very nice sea front architecture.

However, first impressions disappear as soon as you walk inside the modern interior.

The reception area and rooms are modern and tastefully decorated.

I had a single room, which was quite small, with just a single bed in it, but it did have a balcony overlooking the sea front from which the views along the prom were stunning.

The room was comfortable, clean and well maintained.

Positives
Comfortable rooms
Great Location
Friendly staff

Negatives
The batteries in the remote control for the telly packed up on the second night, but you can hardly hold the hotel responsible for that!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors offer stunning views over the beach and sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from yet another stay. Rooms very modern, spacious and clean, enormous super kingsize bed. You need to look beyond the outside which gives the impression of being very dated. Staff very helpful, bar meals great value. Unfortunately for the first time ever the receptionist was not very welcoming, not good for anyone on their first stay. Take it she was having a bad day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Had a very warm welcome on first day which helped as parking can be an issue. We had a room with a balcony looking over the sea towards Hollywell Gardens. The staff are friendly with a sense of humour with a relaxed atmosphere. The room is very comfortable with kingsize bed and underfloor heating and aircon. The food quality is excellent loved the rib-eyed steak with diane sauce yummy. The breakfast selection suits very picky eaters. We did not have to queue for a table even though there was a convention on. The location is good the town center is 10 minutes walking distance the pier can seen from the entrance. We went to the theatre twice during our week long stay booking the tickets through the Tourist Info Ctr in the town once to the hippodrome which is the furthest walking distance of 40 mins and once to the Devonshire a 5 minute walk away. There were various different ages staying in the hotel from babies to seniors.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starieeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Eastbourne is one of those places which is geared towards the over 60s, so it can be hard to find a hotel which has a more youthful vibe.

We booked our room at the Eastbourne Centre last minute and were very pleased with our choice.

The location was great for walking around town and for strolls along the beach. The bar was well stocked with tasty food available to buy. There was even a disco in the evening and a good crowd enjoying themselves.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing