We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
canterbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

From the moment we stood at the reception to the moment we left there was not one thing that I could comment on with a negative.
The reception staff were bright and friendly and well dressed
The catering staff were courteous, and obliging and well dressed
The chamber staff were so friendly and nothing too much trouble for anything we asked.
All in all a perfect stay and we would definitely return if in the area and definitely recommend.
TIP: Try checking the prices direct with hotel before going on any big search engines to book.

In all departments everything was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Go direct to the hotel to get best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1moonlightdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear 1moonlightdancer
Thank you for making the effort to write a review of your stay with us.
We continuously look of ways of improving and it does offer us encouragement that on this occasion we got everything right for you.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the service received from the teams you encountered it is most appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next need to return to Eastbourne.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    877
    133
    40
    14
See reviews for
415
1,250
211
526
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having spent a long weekend at the Eastbourne Centre attending a conference I felt I just had to write a review.
My sat nav took me directly to the Hotel, where arriving just after midday on Friday I found a parking space right outside, along the sea front, excellent for unloading the luggage.
The desk staff could not have been more helpful nor more bright and breezy, plus thier smart appearance put you totally at ease with reference to thier efficiency.
A slight mix up with who was sharing a room with whom, was sorted out without fuss and we were on our way to the room.
Given room 325, a corner twin room, without a balcony but with a side view of the sea, it proved to reflect the reviews I had read, very clean, tidy, a good size. The room had plenty of storage space and a lovely bathroom, crisp and clean.
Only a few small faults, there were only 10 hangers in the cupboard and with two women sharing more were needed really (of course we took more clothes then we wore, but that's just a female fault !!).
Due to the very windy conditions of a huge weather front on it's way, the window whistled on odd occasions, but it was not bad enought to request a different room.
The TV was excellent, however the remote is a little worn and so slow to react when pressed, again not annoying, just something I noticed.
Finally the efficient hair dryer is difficult to use when you have to keep the on button pressed when in use, especially if you have restricted finger movement and or strength.
A good nights sleep was had by all, once we had gotten used to being in single beds after so many years.
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, were good, however more of a choice for those who donot like soup as a starter would be appreciated.
Over all the conference rooms were fantastic, good sizes and great aircon. The speakers in the main conference room crackled quite a lot making listening to anyone difficult. The seating in all of the rooms was simply excellent.
The lounge area and Bar were very good for seating and space, however where the coffee and tea facilities were laid out during the day, next to the conference room, made it difficult for 126 people to access.
With that said, I had a very good stay over all and look forward to returning next year.
I'd like to thank all the staff who obviously work very hard to make the Centre a success.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a balcony are a must and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank data90013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sam072010
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a balanced review of your recent stay with us at the Eastbourne Centre.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the conference and received our usual warm and efficient welcome on arrival to the Hotel.
We aim to ensure that we have the right amount of amenities for guests in each bedrooms and I’ll check that we have spare hangers on hand for those who need them!
Thank you for your feedback regarding your mealtimes and I acknowledge your feedback about the starter selections.
Finally, we looking to see what we can do better with regards to our conference facilities and I also that you for your comment regarding your experience as a delegate.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back for your visit next time.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverhill
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just spent a weekend in Eastbourne at the Eastbourne Centre Hotel lovely clean modern hotel with great views good breakfast and we had room service for a snack in the evening and the food was very good only a jacket potatoe and a omelete very tasty and very good price,Lesley on reception was very good and helpful such a lovely girl she just so bubbly great place for a weekend

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieHaverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear laurieHaverhill
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent weekend stay in Eastbourne.
It was great to read that you had a comfortable time and enjoyed not only your room, but also your room service snack.
Thank you for particularly mentioning Lesley and the service received. I will be sure to pass on your sentiments.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I recently stayed at the centre whilst attending a conference on the premises.

The centre is on the seafront and many rooms carry a sea view. The centre was I believe built in the 1970's and the style of the building reflects this. Once inside however there is a more modern feel.

I was allocated a a single room on the top floor room 710. This room was only big enough for the single bed which it contained. I would imagine that these rooms are used mainly for conference guests. The room was perfectly adequate for my needs and was spotlessly clean. My sleep however was disturbed during the night by a loud banging and rattling that seemed to come from the roof ( my room was on the top floor). I reported the issue to reception in the morning and my room was promptly changed with no fuss.

My second room was a twin located on floor two. This was of the same standard as the first room but thankfully without the noise and I slept better.

Speaking to colleagues there were no complaints about the standards of the rooms. All rooms have air conditioning which helps to keeps things at a nice temperature.

All of our food was provided during our stay. Breakfast was buffet style and there was a good choice of hot and cold items. Dinner was three courses and food was of a decent standard with a reasonable choice. If you stay here look out for the mural in the restaurant which reflects the struggle of the working classes over the decades ( the centre is owned and run by the trade union UNITE).

All the staff I encountered were pleasant and polite.

If you are looking for a break in Eastbourne then this hotel would be a good choice. If you are a member of UNITE then you get a discount on the rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony. Also there are lots of different sizes of rooms so do your research...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Roger W
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us whilst attending a conference.
I was sorry to read that you were initially disturbed in your room but was pleased that we dealt with offering you an alternative room promptly.
Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience and I for highlighting the impressive mural which surrounds the galleried area.
We do hope to welcome you back for your next visit
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a modern hotel compared to most in Eastbourne, built in 1976, and recently modernised by the look of it. It is well located, right on the seafront near the Bandstand and Wish Tower, just around the corner from the theatres. Although owned by the TGWU anyone can stay here.

There is a reception area and bar on the ground floor which reminded me of a typical European city business hotel, clean, bright and comfortable but not luxurious, perhaps a bit Spartan in style. There is a two storey restaurant with a fascinating TGWU mural on the Mezzanine floor and the first floor is given over to conference and seminar facilities.

The room (423) was spacious, about 4m by 6 m with good beds and adequate cupboard space. It was very well lit , spotlessly clean and well maintained. A large dressing table/desk had a good sized mirror over it. The bathroom was small and a strange shape (triangular due to the building layout for corner rooms like this one) but adequate and again spotlessly clean and brightly lit with another good sized mirror and enough shelf space for your toiletries.

The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good (full English or croissants, pastries etc). In addition to the restaurant menu, food is available in the bar (from sandwiches through to fish and chips) and room service is available during the day and evening but I didn’t try any of this. A glass of very acceptable wine in the bar was £3.50.

One night in October, with breakfast for two included, cost £89 on a late booking deal for this premium twin room. It was on the inland side, overlooking the back of other hotels but what can you expect at this price?

Not a luxury hotel but it makes a good base for a holiday in Eastbourne and I would be happy to stay here again.

You can buy parking vouchers at reception for £1 a day, well worth it.

Room Tip: If you want a good view you need a room on the front. Check for corner rooms to avoid a triangular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 309Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear 309Chris
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay with us.
It was great to read a really balanced review of the facilities and as you note we are modern when compared to many other properties in the town.
Thank you for highlighting some of the quirks of the ‘corner’ bedrooms and I was pleased that you not only found the areas spotless, but also they suited you needs.
Finally, thank you for highlighting the parking cost for future guests. It is very affordable!
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The upgrade to an executive room was well worth the extra money. Room spacious, very clean and modern with 2 balconies giving excellent views. The bed a little firm but the rest of furniture in room was extremely comfortable. Bar snacks and drinks reasonably priced and staff very friendly throughout. Only downside was luke warm breakfast but overall thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. Will definitely reyurn one day.

Room Tip: Executive corner rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuce-n-in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Deuce-n-in
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience with us.
It was fantastic to read that you appreciated the upgrade and loved the views from the balconies!
I was sorry to read that you didn’t feel the breakfast was as hot as you’d have liked but do thank you for your comments regarding the ‘friendly’ staff.
Thanks for saying you’ll come back and we hope it won’t be too long.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Eastbourne Centre was the main accommodation venue for delegates of the annual District 1130 Rotary Conference. The facilities for dining as well as the seminar rooms were excellent. The bedrooms were also good but we did not stay there as we prefered some seclusion from the main conference delegation when the conference plenary sessions ended. The reception staff were professional and efficient. The quality of the meals were good. The main conference was held at the Congress Theatre which is ten minutes on foot. The only negative point is that if you were elderly and less mobile, you would have to navigate a flight of steps to get in. Perhaps there is another more accessible way to get into the hotel but it was not obvious to us.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms on the higher floors offer fantastic views of the promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitingRotarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear VisitingRotarian
Thank you for posting a review of your recent weekend conference at the Eastbourne Centre it is appreciated.
It was great to read that you enjoyed both the conference and the food at the Hotel and I do hope you’ll stay with us next time.
There is ramped access to the entrance of the Hotel and lifts to all floors and we do pride ourselves on having great accessible facilities. This said we’ll look to see if we need further exterior signage to make this clearer to future guests.
In the meantime, thank you once again and we hope you’ll return sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing