We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Conference Facilities - Great Views!”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Conference Facilities - Great Views!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Staying at the Eastbourne Centre for the 1st week in December 2014 as a party of 5 for a conference. We didn't get off to the best start as only 2 of our rooms were ready when we arrived. However this was soon resolved and was allocated room 314 on the third floor.

I should imagine for anyone wanting a see view in Eastbourne will not be disappointed with this hotel as all rooms offer a good views.

The staff were friendly and the working facilities were excellent. The conference hall was second to none and all went without a hitch.

The rooms were all clean and tidy with en-suite bath or shower, and the food served in the restaurant was to a high standard also (I was quite surprised reading other reviews regarding this). Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all most enjoyable.

All in all a great, pleasant working environment and an excellent place to unwind. I'll be back to the Eastbourne Centre soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Grozzer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
It was great to read that your conference was ‘second to none’ and that you felt that the food received was of a high standard.
Many of our rooms do have great views of the sea and coastline and those with balconies offer great opportunities to enjoy this.
The friendly team here hope to welcome you back again for business or pleasure sometime soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,835
    932
    138
    41
    15
See reviews for
465
1,322
225
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is one of the best UK breaks I have been on and this is mostly due to this hotel. The rooms were very stylish and the breakfast was magnificent! The staff were very friendly and any problems that we had, they fixed. it was a great stay. It is also right by the seaside and the pier with only a road to cross. Great! I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Nikhil S
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
It was fantastic to read that you rated your experience ‘one of the best UK breaks’ and that the hotel contributed to this!
I’m pleased you were able to experience our friendly service and that we were able to quickly react to anything that you needed.
Finally, thank you for your overwhelming recommendation for others to stay.
Wishing you all the best for 2014.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked this hotel through my Husbands union and was aware there was not much going on as it was the first time they had opened at New Year. Saying that we had a great time. The Hotel is lovely and I would recommend it to anyone. It was clean and very tastefully decorated. Nice bar area and the breakfast was buffet style and was lovely. Our room was on the front of the hotel and had a balcony which we did venture out onto weather permitting. It was very affordable and we will definately go back next New Year if they dont overprice it. Staff very friendly also. A great hotel. On a personal note I did find the pillows very hard and maybe you could be offered an alternative.

Room Tip: I would go for a room with a balcony lovely views out onto the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear oldhamgirl
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review of your New Year’s stay with us at the Eastbourne Centre.
Apologies for my delayed response but Happy New year to you anyway!
It was great to read your comments and I thank you wholeheartedly for saying that you’d recommend us to others.
I’ll look into what we are able to do regarding the Pillows in the bedrooms to have some spares for those that have differing preferences.
Thank you once again.
Regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked myself on an R&R break:

Positives
The view
Ensuite has a bath!
Complimentary hot chocolate as I don't drink tea or coffee
Comfy bed
Friendly staff-let me into my room early & gave me extra room key

Negatives
Room service did not answer my call and neither did reception.
10:30 check out 14:00 check in

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Anglea F
Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review of your recent stay with us for your R&R break.
It was encouraging to read that the positives outweigh any opportunities and I am pleased you enjoyed the view from your room and that you found the facilities comfortable.
I’m sorry that you struggled to get through to room service and I assure you I will share you feedback with my team so we can look into this. We’re also reviewing the arrival and departure times and in particular for weekends with the aim to suit all guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in 2014.
Warm regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Several times we have stayed here and every time the standard never lets us down. A 5 star experience with comfy bed and great sea views. My advice is to book an executive room with balcony and stay a least 2 nights so you have all day on your balcony. The only place that you don't need to leave your room! Breakfast is a buffet and very good. Great location and parking only £1 a day. If you are a Unite member discount is given. All balcony rooms are good.

Room Tip: executive room with balcony always best if you are staying a couple of days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasuretoserve007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear TAMember12282011

Thank you for your review of your latest stay with us.

It is always rewarding to read reviews from customers who have experienced the Hotel more than once, and even more so that we meet your expectations each time!

Thanks for the recommendation of booking a room with a balcony. We certainly agree that the little extra for the great view chance to watch the world go by is well worth it.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon and in the meantime…Happy New Year!

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in the Eastbourne Centre in late December for a short family break to relax and enjoy the fresh air of the sea! The room was very spacious and of great comfort! The staff were fantastic and always available to help whatever the request! Samer at breakfast was a great host and remembered exactly what our requirements were on the second day since we are all vegetarian and he arranged vegetarian sausages as soon as we arrived! His attention to detail was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. It is refreshing to find such good service these days so it must be complimented upon receiving such hospitality. The hotel is right on the Seafront and very convenient to explore the town and surrounding areas. We really enjoyed our stay and will visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Saira T
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your short family break with us.
It was great to read that you received the level of attentive service that we strive to achieve at all times and in particular thank you for highlighting the team member in the restaurant as outstanding!
We do aim to cater as far as possible to all individual guest requirements and it was pleasing to read that not only did we manage to do this but also we remembered the following day!
We do hope it won’t be too long before you are back to see us again and in the meantime, Happy New Year!
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Brilliant setting on Eastbourne sea front - great views from the balconies on the front - staff all very friendly from reception, bar and restaurant (breakfast) made to feel very welcome. Room has everything you need - iron/board, safe flat screen TV free wifi (slow) tea/coffee - full bath and shower. Room wasn't 100% clean - dirty surfaces on unit hair on bed and towel dropped on floor in bathroom certainly could not be used again. Plates at breakfast were not all clean (had to check) good selection at breakfast - do ask for anything not there (veggie sausages can be supplied) and German couple next to us asked for some cheese and excellent plateful was supplied. All in all a great weekend and we would stay here again - just a few things to improve. They do supply parking permits @ £1 per day which is very useful - no problem parking this last weekend in Dec but wonder what you do with your car in the summer !!!!

Room Tip: High floor and front with balcony certainly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear ExeterUKMagoo
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.
I was pleased that you were made to feel very welcome by the team here, although I’m sorry to read that there were a few elements in your room which needed attention.
The standard of cleanliness throughout the Hotel is of the utmost importance and I would ask if you could kindly contact me directly so that I may investigate and identify the room you stayed in.
Parking is generally available all year around (except on special event days) and the great value £1 parking permits are available at all times.
It was encouraging that you had a ‘great weekend’ and I do hope you will come back to see us again sometime soon.
In the meantime, Happy New Year.
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing