We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all-round hotel”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed for a two-night Amazon Local deal for a £99 total B&B & found it a clean, comfortable hotel in a great location with stunning sea views from both our bedroom windows.
The staff were attentive & very helpful, service at breakfast was slightly slow on morning one & spot on the following morning.
We dined out both nights but for no other reason that the set menu choices did not appeal.
To summarise a good hotel & would not hesitate to return to.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear johncollins
Thank you for taking the time to write the review following your 2 night stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the outstanding views and that you were comfortable in your room.
Thank you for saying that the staff were attentive and helpful and I’m sorry if there was a bit of a bottleneck for one of the breakfasts during your stay.
We do try to ensure that our ‘set menu’ has as much variety on a daily basis, and I do hope that you’ll be back again to when our new restaurant and menus are in place.
In the meantime thank you once again.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,339 - 3,345 of 3,623 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

From check in to check out the staff were great - very freindly and helpful. Room was great, we were on the 4th floor with balcony the views are stunning. Room was all we could ask for - Very clean, comfortable king size bed the bathroom was very clean and well equipped. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of hot and cold buffet and the staff were very attentive clearing away used crocs very quickly and on hand for more tea or coffee if required. The bar area was clean and comfortable and we ate in the bar, the menu and food were very good. We did not eat in the restaurant - the menu seemed small for that size hotel and did not float our boats, although other guests said the food and service were excellent. The lounge area at the front of the hotel was very comfortable although we only used it to wait for a rain shower to pass. We both like Eastbourne and will use this hotel again. I am only being picky but did not give 5 * because the restaurant menu could have been better and it would have been nice if the large picture windows and balcony glass had been cleaned

Room Tip: If you havent already booked one it is worth the upgrade for a balcony with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Mike H
Thank you for your balanced review of your recent stay.
It was fantastic to read that you received our great level of service from start to finish across all areas of the Hotel.
Thank you in particular for mentioning breakfast was very good although I’m sorry that the restaurant evening menu wasn’t to your liking.
For the benefit of future guests we do only operate a daily menu in the restaurant although plans are in place to introduce an a la carte option in line with the improvements that we hope to complete this year.
Due to our location we do battle with the elements and keeping the windows spotless with the sea salt air can be a challenge at times. I will however look at what more we can do to keep on top of this.
Finally, I hope we can invite you back when we’ve made the improvements to the restaurant for a 5* stay!
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Booked 2 rooms for 2 nights through Amazon Local (£99 each room for 2 nights + £40 balcony upgrade). Stayed here during Easter week. Looking from the outside, the hotel appeared to look old and dated, as soon as we walked into our room, was surprised it was delightfully decorated.

I learned that the hotel owner, Unite had spent £10 million renovating this place. All of the bedrooms and lobbies of this four-star Eastbourne Centre hotel, previously known as the Transport and General Workers Union Centre, where suites cost as much as £280 a night, have had a facelift. The restaurant was also being improved. We did not use the restaurant apart from breakfast. It has a lovely space and clean decor, great variety of warm food to choose from.

This is my first visit to Eastbourne, Loved and fascinated by the lovely view and great access to Beachy Head and Belle Tout Lighthouse. Shops and restaurants are all nicely located nearby. Would love to go back here again in the near future. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Local-Scarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Local-Scarlet
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your first visit to Eastbourne.
The Hotel is situated in a conservation area of the seafront so we are limited to the extent of improvements to the external appearance. This said we are making plans to sympathetically make some changes which we aim to get agreement with very soon!
Unlike many midmarket Hotels we are fortunate to have had great investment in many parts of the Hotel and on top of the external works we plan to work towards remaining one of the best Hotels in Eastbourne. The great news is that ALL of the bedrooms and bathrooms have been refurbished and are not only contemporary but also fully air-conditioned.
We agree our location is perfect for exploring both Eastbourne and the surrounding villages and we hope that you’ll be back to experience more (and see the changes we are making) very soon.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a weekend break here, can't fault the room, even had sky sports, we got a free bump up to a balcony. It's located right on the sea front, with good parking (buy your parking ticket from reception - £1 for 24hrs, it's more at the parking machines) One morning we had a continental breakfast to the room, it was great! you can ask for loads, though make sure you get enough tea and coffee (we didn't), We ate in the dinning room the second morning, the hot food was alright, but they'd run out of vegi sausages.

A very pleasant hotel to explore this part of England from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Stuart S
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent weekend break with us.
It was great to read that you found your room without fault and I’m pleased that we were able to upgrade you for your stay.
Parking is great value using the Hotel vouchers and makes staying in Eastbourne very attractive compared to similar locations – thank you for sharing this.
Sorry we ran out of Vegetarian Sausages! We do try to keep stock levels at the right levels to avoid this but sometimes it does happen. I do hope you were able to enjoy the rest of the buffet and that the selection was suitable.
We hope you’ll be back again sometime to explore more of Eastbourne and Sussex.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Extremely pleasant and helpful reception staff. Excellent breakfast.

Comfortable room except for strong smell from cigarette stubs in drainage gulley of balcony which made balcony unusable and at £20 extra per night we feel that charge was unreasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wentw0rth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear wentw0rth1
Thank you for taking the time to write a summary of your recent 2 night stay with us.
I was encouraged to read that you received our usual high level of service from the reception team and rated breakfast ‘Excellent’
I’m only sorry that you were unable to use the balcony from your room and that we were not able to address this issue whilst you were still with us. For the comfort of all guests we do not permit smoking on any of the bedroom balconies and whilst this is difficult to enforce we are looking at ways of monitoring this more closely in line with the legal requirements for smoking on premises.
I will ensure that my operations team maintain extra vigilance over the cleanliness on the external balconies and thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.
Thank you once again
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend with my husband and I have to say the view from the balcony was wonderful we had a double room and it was spotless with a superbly clean bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast for the two days we stayed there good selection of hot and cold buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZimJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear ZimJam
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you weekend stay at the Eastbourne Centre.
We can’t take the full credit for the wonderful views from the balconies except that the incredible design of the Hotel means that many of our rooms do have an unspoilt outlook over the beach and sea!
Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness and I was pleased that you enjoyed the selection and quality of food at breakfast.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This place is really great. We got a deal through Amazon Local (£149 for 2 for 2 nights b & b) and were so pleased we paid the £40 supplement for a sea view room with balcony. The room was a perfect size, everything was comfortable and clean and the staff were really friendly. Breakfast was very nice and we got a sea view table on both mornings. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as they stopped serving at 9pm (think that could be a bit later?) so can't comment on that. The menu looked ok and reasonably priced though. I would definitely stay there again. Really good.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AliWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear AliWatford
WOW what a title and great review…thank you!
I was delighted to read that we fully met your expectations and you appreciated the great deal we recently offered.
Thank you for highlighting that the team here were really friendly and I’m pleased that you enjoyed the views from your table at breakfast. We are continually reviewing our restaurant opening times and hope you’ll be able to sample our bar or restaurant menu next time you visit.
Until then, thank you once again.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,048 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £52 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing