We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good keep on reading”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at a few hotels in my time , this hotel is extremely good for the price. Very clean and presentable. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. i had a accident in the hotel room my fault closed the window down a bit too hard my bangle caught the glass and it shattered informed a member of staff and told them what happened. Straight away got moved to another room with a balcony looking over the sea front. Many thanks to receptionist who was working on the night of 31/may/2014 you reasured me after i felt guilty. The breakfast was superb with a wide range of selections. Definitely stay there again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay and offered good value for money.
I’m glad that we were able to reassure you following the incident and were able to move you to an alternative room immediately.
Finally, thank you for the ‘superb’ rating of breakfast and we hope you’ll be back again soon to enjoy this once again!
Best regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,258)
There are newer reviews for The View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,963 - 2,969 of 3,258 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We checked into this hotel after checking straight out of the Queens Hotel on Saturday 31st May. What a difference between the two. This hotel has excellent, polite and professional reception, great waiting staff and the rooms are spotlessly clean. Had two rooms, a double and a twin, being sea view on fourth floor with a balcony. Comfortable beds, small but very functional bathrooms with a lovely shower and the rooms were modern and clean. Will definitely use this hotel on our next visit to Eastbourne. Thank you Eastbourne Central.

Room Tip: Go for a front sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Sarah H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our recent stay at the Eastbourne Centre.
It was great to read that you received our usual professional welcome when you arrived and noticed our the efforts we make to keep the hotel well presented.
By comparison to many of the older style properties locally, we are modern and I’m grateful that this met your expectations.
We hope it won’t be too long before you are back to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after our second visit to this really super hotel we are still as impressed as we were on our first visit. We booked in for Bed Breakfast and an evening meal and had a sea view room on the fifth floor with a balcony. The room was was first class and absolutely spotless and was kept to this high standard throughout our stay. The bed was very comfortable and huge slept better here than we do at home. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space provided. We enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals served in the restaurant and lunches that were available from the bar all were tasty and well presented, we have both gained a few pounds.
We also found that all the staff we came into contact were very welcoming and friendly while remaining professional, nothing was to much trouble to ensure that we all enjoyed our stay.
The views from our rooms on both occasions have been very pleasing, but to get the view that must be the best in Eastbourne I would recommend a trip to the roof garden which is accessible to guest via the seventh floor the view is spectacular. Thank you all at Eastbourne Centre for helping to make our break so enjoyable we will be back.
David and Angela from Gloucester

Room Tip: The fifth floor with a sea view you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear David H
Thank you for a great review of your recent return visit to see us.
I’m delighted you were ‘impressed’ with your experience once again and it was great to read you slept really well!
Thank you for highlighting the level of cleanliness you have experienced. The team here pride themselves on looking after the hotel and your observations go a long way in rewarding their efforts.
After reading your feedback on the quality of the food you enjoyed I hope you’ll have the appetite to come back and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A most enjoyable stay. 3 Adults/1 child in our party and we had Rooms 503 & 505. 5th floor both with balconies. The hotel was refitted around 3/4 years ago and is very well maintained and very clean. Admittedly the exterior, 1970's appearance, is not great. Buffet breakfast is on par with what you'd get at a Premier Inn and more than acceptable. The dining room is quite large and we never found it be that busy and there is an outside terrace which would be nice if the weather is good. At night, we found this this hotel to be remarkably quiet so the sound-proofing must be good. The road outside is pretty quiet too at night time. It is located in the best end of Eastbourne, just around the corner from the Theatres and there are some nice restaurants and cafes within a few hundred yards to Carlisle Road. The "Wish Tower" is diagonally opposite. On-street car parking is quite expensive but you can purchase, at a very reasonable £1, one of these scratch off display cards which will last you all day and until 11 am the following morning. Just follow the instructions and make sure you park in a bay with "H" on the signpost - definitely not immediately outside the Hotel. If I was to be really picky, the beds are a bit hard and some of the chairs in the dining room could have done with a revarnish. There were also some minor works in progress to the mezzanine level outside the dining room. Overall, I would more than happy to return to this Hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a high room with a balcony. The views are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear david03
I’m pleased you made ‘a good choice’ and thank you for writing about it!
As you note the hotel has benefited from extensive improvements and we are continuing this in phases to include the mezzanine and first floors. We also hope that we will be able to start the sympathetic improvements to the exterior to enhance the 1970’s retro appearances.
Thank you for highlighting both the level of comfort and cleanliness and we agree we are in the ‘best’ spot just across from the beach.
Finally, thank you for sharing the parking arrangements for the Hotel. The voucher offer for residents offers great value making Eastbourne a very attractive place to stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break that was everything you could want.The hotel,staff,bedrooms and food was first class.Our room was kept spotlessly clean with the bathroom sparkling.We have stayed in hotels all over the world and our room was up there with the best.Special thanks to Joe the porter who was extremely helpful and very passionate about his job there.We look forward to returning soon.Dennis&Laurieann

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis_percival1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear dennis_percival1
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent 3 night break with us.
It was great to read that you felt we offered everything you wanted and I hope the continuing improvements we are making will give you even more!
Thank you for the personal mention of the service you received and I will ensure that I pass on your sentiments directly.
I hope that I may be able to meet you and thank you personally on your next visit.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I went for some rest and recouperation (as a Unite member/staff member) and my husband (wheelchair user) accompanied me. We requested an accessible room and were given a huge room on the second floor. It had two balconies, one accessible by a ramp (the view was fantastic). We had a sitting area and lots of space to move about with the wheelchair. The beds were supremely comfortable and the room was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge, newly refurbished with 2 walk in showers. The room was very quiet and we heard very little noise from other guests. (Some noise was heard from the ongoing renovation but it was minimal and did not in any way spoil our stay) We ate on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and enjoyed all the food. The main comment we would make is about the staff. Each and every staff member who we came into contact with was so helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble for them. We would like to particularly single out for praise Pauline, Lisa and Sammo who organised the dining room and made our mealtimes a pleasure - not forgetting all the serving staff who were so pleasant - each and every one. Also the housekeeping staff on our floor (Maria and Marta) who were such lovely helpful ladies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to come and stay again in the future. Well done! Jan and John D

Room Tip: Pick a balcony room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jan D
Thank you for making the effort to write a review of your R&R visit at the Eastbourne Centre.
It was great to read that you and your husband had a comfortable stay with us and it was particularly encouraging to read you were able to enjoy the facilities in your accessible room.
Thank you for the praise of the individual team members and I will ensure that I pass on your thanks to them!
I’m pleased that the improvements that we continue to make did not affect your stay and I hope you’ll be back to see them!
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great Stuff! Very comfortable and fresh, elegant, modern rooms. Efficient and polite service (Gaz in the bar, Ania in reception, breakfast and housekeeping teams, duty manager with a pony tail). We will return!

Peter & Ewa

Room Tip: you may have a sort of side sea view without paying a supplement for a balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear PeterGonda (Peter & Ewa)
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I’m glad you were surprised and satisfied!
Whilst the Hotel does have modern rooms (more exciting changes are on the way) our plans to continue to give a great level of service will be our main focus. It was therefore really encouraging to read your ‘named’ feedback and rest assured I will pass on my thanks to the individuals personally.
Hope we’ll be able to welcome you back with the same service sometime soon.
Kind regards
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.6 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £64 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing