We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reliable hotel right on the seafront”
Review of The View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The View Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good, reliable hotel right on the seafront”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've stayed at the Eastbourne Centre on several occasions now and can really recommend it for good value accommodation right where the action is in Eastbourne. Its trade-union roots aren't immediately obvious - it has the same feel as a holiday inn or travel lodge - but look closer and you'll see the painting of the Tolpuddle Matyrs ;) Breakfast buffet good standard fare and evening meals a little variable but on the whole fine. This place won't blow your mind with originality but neither will it let you down and if you're looking for something reliably good, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Carla M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

It is always great to receive feedback from guests who have stayed a number of times and I thank you for using the Hotel once again.

I was pleased that you class us as ‘reliably good’ and thank you in particular for your feedback on breakfast.

As you may be aware we have some exciting plans for the Hotel and hopefully when complete these will really complement our already consistent service and product.

We hope to see you again soon for another stay.

Kind regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    901
    135
    41
    14
See reviews for
439
1,281
217
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a night at the Eastbourne Centre as a little birthday treat for my wife. We have often taken a light lunch on the terrace and had wondered what the rooms were like.

We weren't disappointed. Lovely, clean, light and airy room and the supplement for the balcony was money well spent indeed. We took a glass of the palatable (but expensive) house Merlot up to our room and 'people watched' an hour or two away very nicely. The bed was, quite possibly, the best hotel bed we've ever tried. No complaints about the decor or comfort of the room at all, then. The bathroom, too, was spotless and entirely adequate.

I can't comment on the hotel restaurant, as we dined in a nearby (favourite) Italian, but the breakfast was outstanding - both in amount of choice and quality. Full marks for that, too.

All the staff we encountered were friendly, efficient and welcoming. A good team indeed. Overall, then, a very positive and enjoyable experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Simon D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
Firstly, a belated Happy Birthday to your wife!

I was thrilled to read that after your lunch experiences you chose to book and stay and had such an enjoyable time with us!
Thank you in particular for mentioning the service received, which is encouragement for the hard work the team make on a daily basis.
We do pride ourselves on our services and facilities and its always such a pleasure to read that a guest has had such a good stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The accessible room was fantastic and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bathroom was one of the best I've seen for wheelchair access with a huge shower and lever operated taps etc. Our room (second floor) had a wonderful sea view and we were very comfortable during our visit.

The hotel food is very nice, although fairly basic and well cooked with a fish or vegetarian choice always available for dinner. The lunchtime bar food was also nicely presented and tasty.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Harriswife,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I am very happy that you found our accessible rooms fantastic, we really our proud if these rooms as they are a great facility, secondly thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff I will be sure to pass it on at our next customer focus meeting.
It is such a pleasure receiving positive feedback as it makes all the hard work worthwhile.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with an Amazon local deal and we were thoroughly impressed. The exterior of the hotel may look like an old office block but inside is a pure delight. Our room was spacious, clean and with tasteful modern decor. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and a sea view and it was wonderful to lay in bed with an early morning drink and watch the sea lap onto the shore.
Breakfast was delicious, plentiful with a fabulous choice. The scrambled eggs were some of the best I have ever tasted.
All of the staff we encountered were friendly and welcoming. We hope to stay here again in the future as in just two nights we felt as though we had been away for a week. Thank you , keep up the good work!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni110873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Toni 110879,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I acknowledge your comments regarding the exterior of the building and am very happy to confirm that we do have some plans in place to refresh the outside of the building in the near future, so keep your eyes out.
I also would like to thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast offering, we really do strive to make breakfast the best it can possibly be as it is a great way to start the day.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you once again
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our first ever trip to Eastbourne & we were pleasantly surprised!
We stayed for three nights over a weekend. The hotel was beautifully modern, clean & spacious. The staff were very helpful, cheerful & catered to all our requests. There was a bit of refurbishment going on whilst we were there which had to be walked through on route to the breakfast/dining room but this didn't disturb us at all.
Our room (408) was on the 4th floor which wasn't a problem as there were lifts. The room itself was large with a super king size bed! Large desk/dressing table area, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, Air conditioning, hairdryer (however one of those that you had to hold in the button constantly for it to work) plentiful storage space & best of all...Wonderful sea views & a balcony! A little table would have been nice on the balcony & the sliding doors/windows could do with being cleaned a little more often perhaps! The en suite was very clean & modern with toiletries supplied.
Breakfast was held in the dining room & could not be faulted! With a wide choice of foods served (mostly buffet style) to suit every taste. However dinner was a different matter! Not much choice on the menu, not the best of food, a strange atmosphere (that of a canteen) & miserable looking staff! We then decided to try the bar for dinner after that. Again not much to choose on the menu, the food & staff were a little better but the large screen TV was almost unbearable with the sound coming & going & channels changing at random & with only one person watching! Also the air conditioning could have done with being turned down a little especially for the tables around the edge of the room underneath the vents! After a hot day... Brrrr..
It is £1 a day for a parking permit (purchased from the hotel) valid for the local area & beach front (zone H) The road outside the hotel is quite busy with parking all along it. You can pay at the machines if you have no permits but obviously it is more expensive.
Eastbourne itself was lovely. Everywhere was clean & bright. The garden areas were beautiful with plenty of seats. Lots going on. The only downfall was the pier! It badly needs updating!! Such a shame. They could do so much with it!
Overall we had a wonderful weekend & would recommend it to anyone of any age.

Room Tip: Choose a front sea view room with a balcony. Lovely to hear the sea in the quietness of the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovey50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Lovey50_11
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
I am grateful for your constructive feedback, it is always a pleasure to receive this at it really helps identify and develop our services.
I was very pleased that you found our staff and bedrooms to your satisfaction and will be sure to pass your comments on.
I was however saddened to read that you were not totally satisfied with you dinning experience in our restaurant, we are in the process of planning an full refurbishment of our restaurant and also developing our food offering to a more modern concept which I am confident will be far more to your satisfaction.
I apologise that you found the staff to be miserable in the evening as this is unusual as we normally get such great feedback regarding their service.
This all said I thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past but this was the first time under the new ownership. The refurbishment of the bedrooms has been done to a high standard and it was very clean. Paying £189.00 per night we did have a few issues. In a double room, I would expect 2 armchairs and in the bathroom I would expect shampoo and conditioner not just a combined hair and body wash. There should be a small table on the balcony for drinks, papers, books and there is no fridge. Drinks in the bar are very expensive although there is a discount if you are a union member. This is not advertised and we only found out on the second day. A price list for drinks should be prominent, as I heard other guests making complaints regarding the cost after ordering their drinks. The dinners, although delicious, were a disppointment with very limited choice and small portions, but the breakfasts were good and plentiful. The staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. If staying in Eastbourne again we would look around for a better deal. There is not any entertainment now in the bar in the evening only a huge TV screen that is on constantly without any sound. The only time the sound was on was during the World Cup games.

Room Tip: Good views from rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briarleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear briarleas
Thank you for your feedback as your opinion is very important to us
Firstly I would like to confirm that the ownership of the Hotel has not changed however we have and continue to review the business and make changes where necessary.
With regards to the beverage prices we have recently carried out a comparison of all the hotels in Eastbourne and can confirm that we are a competitively priced within our style of property, I can only apologise that you felt we were overpriced and that you were not aware of the concessions we have in place. I can also confirm that there is a price list on display at the end of the bar however I will look at relocating it to a more prominent position and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the professional, helpful and friendly staff. With regards to offers please keep your eye out on our website for the latest deals or alternatively if you would like to be added to our mailing list for our latest offers and promotion please feel free to contact the Hotel.
Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your experience as it really does help us manage the Hotel more effectively.
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Following my last stay in Eastbourne in June 2013, we returned for the annual tennis once again.As the Cavendish Hotel was fully booked, we used the Eastbourne Centre instead. Situated on the Promenade, it was clean & comfortable. We had a larger double room than at the Cavendish, which suited my wife & I more.Staff were pleasant, breakfast was good & it was CHEAPER than the Cavendish. Think we will stay here next year. WARNING : This hotel does not have a car park. They issue vouchers at £1.00 a time for one days' off-street parking. However, if you have to park on the Promenade itself (quite safe) the vouchers only cover specific hours. Therefore, if staying for several days, the cost of car parking will mount up !

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea-view. Ask for a side room as you can still see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Huddart, General Manager at The View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear BigBrian,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
I was very happy to read that you found our hotel to your satisfaction and that it was clean and comfortable for you. It was also highly encouraging to read that felt the hotel offered great value!
I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding the staff I know they will be thrilled to here this. I was also pleased to see that you enjoyed our fantastic breakfast offering.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back the Hotel in the future.
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Property: The View Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DN, England (Formerly Eastbourne Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Centre Hotel Eastbourne
Centre Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing