We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turkey and tinsel”
Review of Glastonbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glastonbury Hotel
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“turkey and tinsel”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just got back from Eastbourne.Had a lovely time at the Glastonbury.Could not fault the food and the service was very quick.Had a lovely sea view room,the beds were very comfortable.There were three coaches in whilst we were there and the waiters had your food on the table before you knew it.The bar was very good once again the service there was good.Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chepgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    49
    42
    23
    28
See reviews for
28
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Very nice location on bay front and very clean hotel. The carpets were smelling so nice like they were just came out of washing machine. Excellent for the price. City centre is just 5-10 mins walk. Comfortable beds with sea view. Slept so well with the sound of waves.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbpekicten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenfig Hill, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

coach trip with leisure time good food and service fab bar staff great views, needs a little make over ,great entertainment every night ,read some reviews about the hotel but u get what you pay for i would go back there again ok its not the ritz but it was clean ,plenty of hot water every day ,cleaners went in every day ,couldt fault the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

room 307, small dirty out dated,hot water takes 10 mins,windows rock in wind don't open,free view dodgy kept freezing.holes in walls and tiles,shaving point didn't work ,food basic house spirits have died,fish pie no fish,vegetarian sausage hot pot no sausages just stuffing?bar/restaurant ok

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

coach party, check in was o.k.[quick] room fine very clean, sleep was great,food wery good and service in the bar & restaurant was excellent,snooker room was also very good,And all the staff were very friendly. But the Hotel need's a revamp like most of the hotels of this age, But overall good value

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckles40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

On arrival at The Glastonbury Hotel we thought it would be very nice. We went to our appointed room and I could have cried. It was very pokey not much bigger than a boxroom but that wouldve been ok. I went into the very small shower cubicle and was shocked.. there was a huge crack from one corner to the other and thick black gunge all the way round and up the tiles. the toilet was dirty the air vent was thick with dirt etc etc in the room. So I went down and asked if we could have another room please. I was very rudely told no they didnt have any. Another lady asked cos hers was the same if she could have one and told yes. So I stood my ground and finally got a third choice which was ok for 4 nights as long as you didnt want a shower very often. The rest of the staff were lovely and the manager was very nice. Now to the food. Very basic, breakfast was very sparse but the porridge was nice. The Monday we got there a bread roll was dropped on the floor which we picked up again on the Wednesday otherwise I think it would have still been there when we left. On the up side the entertainment was good and the bingo paid well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and it was obvious as soon as we saw the hotel that it needed plenty of tlc. Check in was ok but as soon as we entered our room our problems began. The room is the worst we have ever stayed in, small with a sink in the room and a very small bathroom with toilet and shower which never got hot. A small wardrobe was built into the corner of the room with only 4 hangers ,all different, the window frame was screwed and nailed together so the window could not be opened and one pane of glass was broken. One of the glass light shades over the bed had been broken and some of the glass was still on the floor, hence my 1st visit to reception, the response I got was 'we will get it sorted tomorrow'. I returned to the room and picked up the glass myself making sure there was not any glass in the bed. My next visit to reception was to replace a tea cup which had a very bad crack in it, cup was thrown into a bin and replaced with a cup from under the counter, they obviosley keep a stock of them there, no apology what so ever. We had been told on arrival that the hotel was full so it was no good asking for another room. I reported these issues to our coach driver and he said he would have a word at reception and when we returned to the room after the evening meal the light shade had been changed and new coat hangers had been provided. The rest of the hotel needed a good clean and a coat of paint. On the plus side the food was good and the service and entertainment was also good. We will certainly visit Eastbourne again but not at the Glastonbury Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 40 in Eastbourne
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glastonbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glastonbury Hotel

Property: Glastonbury Hotel
Address: 4-9 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hotel Class:2 star — Glastonbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run seafront hotel, some bedrooms affording magnificent views of the sea and pier. Home cooked traditional English cuisine, regular live entertainment. The hotel has a full length sun lounge, and for warmer days and evenings, a sunny outside patio with seating (smoking area). There is also a Snooker Club on the premises, which is open to the public, and residents can use this at concessionary rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glastonbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing