We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eastbourne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glastonbury Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glastonbury Hotel
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Wales
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Eastbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good hotel in prime position,On seafront no central heating in some rooms only a fan heater but ok for this time of the year with good sea views, bit dated but you get what you pay, for excellent value for money food is very good choice of menu always hot , breakfast 8am dinner 6pm perhaps a little early ! entertainment most nights the lift is something else bit like awkrights till from open all hours press button at least 4 times but it does work you must try it would we go back again yes definatly

Room Tip: High numbers have sea views but have to use lift or walk low ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tonypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    47
    35
    23
    27
See reviews for
28
55
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and i spent 5 days in this hotel on a tinsel and Turkey Break. The staff was excelent the food was always hot and filling the room was tidy and clean and the entertainment was excelent.
I found this Hotel very good value for money my wife and i would defnatly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster Encland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We visited this hotel for 5 days on a Turkey and Tinsel break and found the hotel clean the staff were very helpful even when very busy happy to help. The food was very good and just the right amount and so you felt full but not to full. The bathroom needed a bit of up dating but we had lots of hot water, the bath filling quickly. The evening entertainment was very good especially on the Tuesday and Wednesday very professional (Christmas/Boxing Day) each evening was a bit different apart from starting with bingo. We had a large room with a sea view. Would recommend this hotel as being good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just come back from weekend away and stayed at the Glastonbury Hotel on the seafront at Eastbourne. Hotel is very old and in my opinion needs a complete refurbishment. The lift is from the year dot and you need a strong man to hold the door and pull back the sliding metal door at the same time. We had a sea view room so it was a pleasant view to see the sun shining on the sea. Food was very basic but entertainment in the evening was good as the owners son, who was a young crooner, entertained the guests and we played Bingo before that. Some of the staff were friendly, especially the South African guy. We went with a coach company so never had a choice of hotels but it was satisfactory for a lovely weekend. Would not have liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room but if you are a light sleeper the windows rattle loudly from the sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Welcome back to the '70's in this incredibly cheerless hole. The food is awful, the rooms are dire and there is no air conditioning. The evening entertainment is predictably old fashioned with either crooners or bingo. Dinner is at 6.30pm sharp which is far too early for the less than elderly.
There is no lift to the basement which is where I and my 82 year old mother were put. No shower in bathroom.

Room Tip: Essential to not face the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from a 4day stay.had room 208 sea view.FOOD EXCELLENT.ROOM CLEANED EVERY DAY.ENTERTAINMENT FIRST CLASS......one complaint shower base and tiles not very clean apart from that first class stay,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sammegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Location is lovely right on the seafront. Rooms are atrocious - even their good rooms! We had a spacious room with sea view with tall windows you could step out on to small verandah - but the windows were that rotten, the 'door' fell off in my hand! They don't have a proper disabled room but do have a small room on the ground floor they use for those with mobility problems - not really big enough to get a wheelchair and 2 people in though! They do have a small lift so there's no reason why they can't really convert any room to a disabled room any where in the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was ok, some meals very good. We were there 2 nights and entertainment on the first night (Friday) was awful - they really need to get rid of him. The 2nd night a younger singer did rat pack style and was better but still not
great. However, even with the shortcomings, for the money we paid (cheapie David Urquhart trip) our group made the most of it and had a good laugh! We've been to Eastbourne before and probably will return again but unlikely to stay at the Glastonbury again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acorn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#30 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#34 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#16 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glastonbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glastonbury Hotel

Property: Glastonbury Hotel
Address: 4-9 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Hotel Class:2 star — Glastonbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run seafront hotel, some bedrooms affording magnificent views of the sea and pier. Home cooked traditional English cuisine, regular live entertainment. The hotel has a full length sun lounge, and for warmer days and evenings, a sunny outside patio with seating (smoking area). There is also a Snooker Club on the premises, which is open to the public, and residents can use this at concessionary rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing