We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, welcoming, comfortable hotel, good food and entertainment, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Apartments
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very clean, welcoming, comfortable hotel, good food and entertainment, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Congress Hotel Eastbourne, we were with a coach tour. We had a lovely time, the staff were very friendly and helpful, providing good service. The hotel is a short distance from the sea front, theatres and the town centre, it caters for elderly and disabled visitors, although younger visitors seemed to enjoy themselves just as much! We discussed the poor reviews with other guests and came to the conclusion that some of the people who posted the poor reviews want 4 star service for 2 star money so should have stayed elsewhere!!! Many of us will be more than happy to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186460Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
30
51
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We took a party of 33 older folk from Age Concern Swaffham & District (in Norfolk) for a six day holiday in August. Everyone had a really good time, enjoyed the food and found the staff most helpful. There was a unanimous decision to re-book the entire group for next June. The hotel was well geared up for coping with elderly people and represented particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James503738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This was our annual holiday. The website and brochure actually boasted chef's traditional english cuisine and a la carte menu together with a fine selection of wines - the food was insipid and the wine was merlot only (the rest of the wines came in bottles - which they do not open for you to have a glass you have to order by the bottle), we would not put 'Jacobs Creek' as a fine wine!!! The hotel decor is very tired anddoesnt look anything like it does in the brochure. We had a four poster bed with a mattress that did not even fit it! We actually left after two days and must say it is the WORST HOTEL we have ever stayed in. /The bonus was that they only charged us for staying the two days. If you are over 70 you will enjoy it!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chase15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I have just returned from a five day break at the sunny seaside resort of Eastbourne. For the past ten years I have visited this resort at least twice a year, on each occasion staying at the family run Congress Hotel, Carlisle Road. Why the Congress?Because it is a family run hotel, owned by Mr & Mrs C Harrison and managed very efficiently by their daughter Carole, ably assisted by Rachel & Lynda at reception.

The resturant & kitchen is also very efficiently organised by Carole's husband Atef, the chef, who offers a varied breakfast and dinner menu to a very high standard with food presented by very capable and friendly restaurant staff. The familiar faces we see on each return visit shows the job satisfaction their employees have.

The Harrison's took over the hotel 6 years ago and during the following years have made big strides in updating and refurbishing the accommodation to be more appealing to their guests.

On arrival the greeting and help from reception is second to none, the food and service is first class with entertainment most evenings. The comfortable bedrooms cannot be faulted, spotlessly clean. I have also found that any complaint made by guests have been dealt with immediately.

Over this period of time of staying at the Congress I have spoken to many guests and they are always very complimentary, the number of guests we recognise on return visits shows they have a large repeat business.

I have read a dated review of the hotel dated September 2008 and i completely disagree with the authors report on the Congress. Under no circumstances would I or my stay in a hotel so blatantly bad as he states, to the contrary I shall continue to stay at the Congress twice a year for as many years as I can.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

this hotel was recommended by the tourist board, we wanted a cheap hotel that was near the sea front, for a quiet btreak, and got what we paid for. the staff were lovely, especillay the night porter. the breakfast was a bit on the small side. the bed was very very comfy, but we had a brilliant 4 night stay and couldnt have been made to feel more welcome, especially as we were young people so to speak. if you want something that it clean, and cheap and welcoming, i couldnt rate higher than the congress hotel. thank you for making our first holiday together as a couple a really pleasant one. i hope to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyhands67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed during a weekend conference together with many other delegates.
On the good side, the hotel was extremely friendly, and our room enormous (at least 14ft high ceiling!), with what my back-troubled wife said was the best hotel bed she'd ever slept in. The room was clean, as was the rest of the hotel. It is situated about 1 minute walk from the Congress Theatre!
Negatives are that the room we stayed in was very tired, and looked like it has been fitted out in the 80's (formica everywhere). The TV was a small colour portable way across the (admittedly enormous) room. The Full English breakfast was very dissapointing, small and with indifferent ingredients, which, for over £60 a night, wasn't really satis.

It wouldn't take much effort to make this hotel a great deal better, and upping their game in the catering department when Conferences are on, rather than the usual (I assume) Saga crowd , would pay dividends.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stay-puft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock chase
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I read some of the silly reports online about dirt and poor service..Get some new spectacles. We, my husband and I travelled with a party from the midlands. The welcome was warm service good..everyone seemed pleased to help. My husband has to have a specified diet for his health..we requested Bananas for breakfast and Yoghurts and these were provided..Had I been looking for negativity perhaps the radiaterswere a little scratched BUT I would have moaned about fresh paint smells especially when it gets warm..Soldier on dear people it was a pleasure to kn ow you....Margaret and Ren room 7 ....

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Apartments

Property: Congress Apartments
Address: 31-41 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JS, England (Formerly The Congress Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Congress Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing