We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for just under £100 per night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Apartments
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

First impression is Ok as Public areas have been decorated and there is modern artwork on the walls. However for nearly £100 a room I would expect a shower, not a shower attachment on a bath and no means of attaching it to the wall. Consequently it was necessary to have two baths, during the second of which the hot water ran out. Also, bedside lights that were almost impossible to turn on and too dim to read by and windows that rattled loudly when the wind blew. A 4 poster bed is no substitute for a shower and adequate bedside lights especially as the mattress didn't fit the bed and the pillows consequently fell down a gap. Breakfast was mean looking with the smallest sausage I've ever seen for a breakfast and a tiny egg as well. Hoovering the restaurant carpet while breakfast is being served is also not acceptable. On the plus side, the location for the tennis is excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful with regards to parking. However, coffee was not available at about 6pm due to the chef preparing dinner, despite notices stating that it was available all day. Dinner was also not available unless ordered a day in advance, however, not having experienced the breakfast by then, perhaps that was just as well! The man on reception was, however, unable to recommend any restaurants - the same man who told us we couldn't have coffee, even though he was happy to serve drinks from bar. Less than Two star accommodation at 3 star prices. Gives the British hotel industry a bad name embodying as it does all those things that foreigners laugh at us for. £96 for 2 nights would have been nearer the mark.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a proper shower. Grab some beer mats to wedge the rattling windows if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoussa, Owner at Congress Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

We have tried to contact you to discuss your complaints but to no avail, this is why we are now replying to you through TripAdvisor.

It is always very surprising that guests who have much to complain about online, never mention anything during their stay. Constructive criticism is always welcome and is essential for any business to learn and grow. Putting negative comments online, without first mentioning anything during your stay (thus giving us the opportunity to address your issues), serves no purpose except to potentially damage the image of our family business.

The shower in your room is one that fits on a cradle on the bath, it does not (as mentioned by you) have a wall attachment. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room had you mentioned anything to us, as we only have a handful of rooms like this.

With regards to some of your other comments:

- It is highly unlikely that you ran out of hot water, our fairly new and highly efficient hot water system (less than two years old) runs 24 hours a day, and you are the first guest to say that the hot water ran out.
- The four poster mattress does fit, we had one specially ordered for this odd sized bed frame. You probably saw a previous comment and decided to repeat it, not knowing the mattress has since been changed.
- We do not serve sausages at breakfast, we serve chipolatas as our menu clearly states. Our eggs are regular medium sized eggs from a local farm.
- “Hoovering the restaurant carpet while breakfast is being served is also not acceptable” – We could not agree more, this certainly did not happen and would never happen in our hotel.
- Guests do not have to order dinner a day in advance but, as explained to your party of 5, we are not able to accept a booking once dinner has already started. You were very understanding when this was explained to you
- The barman you mention has been with us for over seven years, he is very familiar with the area and did in fact recommend several restaurants to you (3 Restaurants in Carlisle Road, and several in Terminus Road).

As a family hotel, we pride ourselves on our hospitality and always do everything in our power to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable and comfortable as we possibly can. We are very sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations, and had you mentioned any genuine concerns during your stay, we would have done our utmost to rectify them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Staying at the Congress Hotel is now part of my annual social calendar.

A group of us get together for a meal, a gossip and then to enjoy the entertainment. This time we enjoyed listening and dancing to music from Rick Bonner- a wide range of music and able to adapt to what was needed.

I always enjoy the food, it is always hot and well served, with pleasant staff.

We have stayed in many rooms over the last few years and have enjoyed each one, the rooms reflect good value for money, what more can I say?

Room Tip: Try for a room over looking the garden, it seems to get the sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunbeanlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My elderly mother came as a helper with a group from a day centre and they all had a good time.
They liked the attention from the staff; someone came onto the coach to greet them, and the staff waved them goodbye. Rooms were clean and comfortable and food 'excellent'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmetrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

we have just returned from Eastbourne ,staying at the congress hotel .we went with gb tours .I can truly recommend this hotel .very clean big bedrooms ,food excellent ,staff very friendly .will definatley go again .

Room Tip: we had ground floor , very nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Service from the staff was excellent..The hotel was average, needs a update in some places such as, bedroom windows needs replacing, was very cold. Saving the Enivornment to a take shower, no shower hook and bath tile only done halfway, we took bath all the time. Mmm, sleeping during the night, lets say you can hear everything snoring, Tv and the person walking upstairs squeeky flooring board. Be Warned. If I knew this hotel was catering for pets, I wouldn't have booked and this hotel it what it says, Average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had another Easter break at the Congress and as usual the staff were fantastic, food excellent. 1min walk to the Theatre and back to the hotel for live music in the very comfortable bar.We even had a Easter gift each on our table at breakfast. Going back in August. Such value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SallieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from the Congress having spent the Easter weekend, travelled as part of a coach group from Leons holidays Stafford. Upon arrival Carol the manager come onto the coach to welcome everyonen and explained about the meal times,a cup of tea or coffee was waiting for you in the lounge area where carol also came and gave you your room numbers, your cases were taken to your rooms unless you wished to take them yourself. breakfast, cereals and fruit juices were buffet style but main course were served to you as were tea or coffee, evening meal was all served to you at your table, food was well cooked but the portions were not over size. Good clean hotel, friendly staff. The hotel does accept dogs which does not go down with me very well, I think that hotels are for people, dogs are for kennels, this may upset some people but I do not want to think I may have a room that a dog has been in. On Easter Sunday morning breakfast you found a present of a knitted bunny with a cream egg in a basket which was a lovely touch by management at this time of the year. I will return and look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel look out onto a patio and grassed area so no noise from any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alk27194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
395 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Apartments

Address: 31-41 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JS, England (Formerly The Congress Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £30 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Congress Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing