We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Congress Apartments
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent short break”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

On Wednesday 31st July my wife and I visisted Eastbourne on an organized coach holiday and stayed at the Congress Hotel. On arrival we were greeted by the manager and provided with refreshments. We were allocated Room 26 situated on the 2nd floor. It was a large twin room with ensiute and overlooked the College grounds opposite. The room was clean bright and well presented. Our stay was on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis and we were not disappointed with any of the meals. The staff were all pleasant and only too pleased to help.
The hotel is accessed by a ramp which facilitates wheelchair users. One of our party had a motorised invalid scooter and she was able to drive down the ramp and into the hotel. The hotel also has rooms on the ground floor to assist people with disabilities. It is situated a short stroll from the seafront and a walk of about 20mins to the town centre. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HappytravelerSouthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    50
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
23
40
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lanzarote
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A 7 night stay with a coach party from the Midlands, coach company and driver excellent and this hotel has been used by the Company for a long time. The hotel was full as two coaches and individuals staying there in mid July. Greeted by a welcome cup of tea as allocated rooms. I thought the hotel public rooms were in quite good condition and although an old hotel, the room allocated to us, was clean and quite large and comfortable. The shower/bath were not a problem for me and was not concerned about only having two soaps for the week as had brought our own shampoo etc. Enjoyed the entertainment in the hotel that was on during the week and all the guests were very friendly. Overall the hotel was very good, but would like to make some comments about the dining room/Service. Breakfast was overall efficiently served, helping ourselves to grapefruit,prunes, cereals, yoghurts etc. Tea / coffee / toast served, most days reasonably quickly. The cooked breakfast was always good and the eggs perfectly done. Generally the hiccups were related to evening dinner service. Usually the table of twos were always served first and later the fours in what appeared to me in an erratic order. I never worked out the system. Usually starters came along reasonably quickly and then the waiters/waitresses disappeared - perhaps they were plating up ? Then some waiters/waitresses would walk around the room but did not seem to be able to 'clear' till everyone had finished, frequently waited half an hour or longer for the main course, the main course was usually reasonable, sometimes not so good and sometimes very good, the dessert came a bit quicker and I have to say I thought the desserts were excellent, the toffee and pecan roulade to die for, the gateaux and cheesecakes superb, in fact all desserts were exceptional, this was followed by coffee or decaf if needed, but only so so. I think this is a fair comment. Many of the waiters/waitresses were pleasant, some less so but maybe the system used to serve up seemed rigid although I realise the restaurant was full. I would certainly stay at the Congress again if I were in Eastbourne as it was situated close the several theatres and the prom/pier and Eastbourne has a good shopping centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzainsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the Congress hotel and enjoyed ever moment of our stay.
The food was good and so was the service,the staff were so friendly and very helpful they are a credit to the hotel We were a party of five taking my elderly mother away .The rooms were cleaned daily and the cleanliness of the hotel was good.
They had entertainment in the hotel every night which was excellent as a family we would like to think we could return again some day
I would just like to thank glenfield travel who we booked this with and a great big thank you to pete our bus driver he was brilliant many thanks Mrs V Dean

Room Tip: As the hotel is set back from the town all the rooms are good there was no noise we had three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

First impression is Ok as Public areas have been decorated and there is modern artwork on the walls. However for nearly £100 a room I would expect a shower, not a shower attachment on a bath and no means of attaching it to the wall. Consequently it was necessary to have two baths, during the second of which the hot water ran out. Also, bedside lights that were almost impossible to turn on and too dim to read by and windows that rattled loudly when the wind blew. A 4 poster bed is no substitute for a shower and adequate bedside lights especially as the mattress didn't fit the bed and the pillows consequently fell down a gap. Breakfast was mean looking with the smallest sausage I've ever seen for a breakfast and a tiny egg as well. Hoovering the restaurant carpet while breakfast is being served is also not acceptable. On the plus side, the location for the tennis is excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful with regards to parking. However, coffee was not available at about 6pm due to the chef preparing dinner, despite notices stating that it was available all day. Dinner was also not available unless ordered a day in advance, however, not having experienced the breakfast by then, perhaps that was just as well! The man on reception was, however, unable to recommend any restaurants - the same man who told us we couldn't have coffee, even though he was happy to serve drinks from bar. Less than Two star accommodation at 3 star prices. Gives the British hotel industry a bad name embodying as it does all those things that foreigners laugh at us for. £96 for 2 nights would have been nearer the mark.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a proper shower. Grab some beer mats to wedge the rattling windows if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoussa, Owner at Congress Apartments, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We have tried to contact you to discuss your complaints but to no avail, this is why we are now replying to you through TripAdvisor.

It is always very surprising that guests who have much to complain about online, never mention anything during their stay. Constructive criticism is always welcome and is essential for any business to learn and grow. Putting negative comments online, without first mentioning anything during your stay (thus giving us the opportunity to address your issues), serves no purpose except to potentially damage the image of our family business.

The shower in your room is one that fits on a cradle on the bath, it does not (as mentioned by you) have a wall attachment. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room had you mentioned anything to us, as we only have a handful of rooms like this.

With regards to some of your other comments:

- It is highly unlikely that you ran out of hot water, our fairly new and highly efficient hot water system (less than two years old) runs 24 hours a day, and you are the first guest to say that the hot water ran out.
- The four poster mattress does fit, we had one specially ordered for this odd sized bed frame. You probably saw a previous comment and decided to repeat it, not knowing the mattress has since been changed.
- We do not serve sausages at breakfast, we serve chipolatas as our menu clearly states. Our eggs are regular medium sized eggs from a local farm.
- “Hoovering the restaurant carpet while breakfast is being served is also not acceptable” – We could not agree more, this certainly did not happen and would never happen in our hotel.
- Guests do not have to order dinner a day in advance but, as explained to your party of 5, we are not able to accept a booking once dinner has already started. You were very understanding when this was explained to you
- The barman you mention has been with us for over seven years, he is very familiar with the area and did in fact recommend several restaurants to you (3 Restaurants in Carlisle Road, and several in Terminus Road).

As a family hotel, we pride ourselves on our hospitality and always do everything in our power to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable and comfortable as we possibly can. We are very sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations, and had you mentioned any genuine concerns during your stay, we would have done our utmost to rectify them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewMaldenLittlemiss
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Staying at the Congress Hotel is now part of my annual social calendar.

A group of us get together for a meal, a gossip and then to enjoy the entertainment. This time we enjoyed listening and dancing to music from Rick Bonner- a wide range of music and able to adapt to what was needed.

I always enjoy the food, it is always hot and well served, with pleasant staff.

We have stayed in many rooms over the last few years and have enjoyed each one, the rooms reflect good value for money, what more can I say?

Room Tip: Try for a room over looking the garden, it seems to get the sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunbeanlady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My elderly mother came as a helper with a group from a day centre and they all had a good time.
They liked the attention from the staff; someone came onto the coach to greet them, and the staff waved them goodbye. Rooms were clean and comfortable and food 'excellent'.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

we have just returned from Eastbourne ,staying at the congress hotel .we went with gb tours .I can truly recommend this hotel .very clean big bedrooms ,food excellent ,staff very friendly .will definatley go again .

Room Tip: we had ground floor , very nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Apartments

Property: Congress Apartments
Address: 31-41 Carlisle Road, Eastbourne BN21 4JS, England (Formerly The Congress Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Congress Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing