We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent and flavoursome”

Mirabelle Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 395 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$47
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mirabelle opened in 1989 being named after its famous Sister Restaurant in Curzon Street, London, which was at the time under the same ownership. Immediately after opening, the Restaurant gained an enviable reputation and is featured in many fine dining guides as a consistent entry year on year. A modern approach to flavours and textures has always been an important aim. The French Plum variety found in the Lorraine region, the Mirabelle, is famous for its full and pleasing flavours. We trust that your meal reflects these characteristics combined with service that complements the efforts of the Kitchen.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Consistent and flavoursome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Mirabelle didn't disappoint again this Easter Sunday. We were a little late sitting after getting quite comfy at the bar! Food was tasty and well cooked with good portions and delicious wine to accompany, lamb for the boys and fish for me. The set menu is great value at £35 for 3 courses. Ben is a great head waiter and always manages to make us all feel totally relaxed and well looked after - hes a delight and his professionalism and style makes you feel instantly welcome and at ease. Nothing is too much trouble and he always makes me smile. A complete asset to the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    39
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful evening. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. Ideal for a special occasion and most definitely worth every penny.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Grand last week for a birthday celebration and had dinner in The Mirabelle. We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The starter of Hare Pasta with Parmesan, was full of flavour and the contrasting textures of The Crispy Duck with Asian Coleslaw were a hit with one of the party.
Main courses of Lemon Sole with Crayfish and Guinea Fowl, were serves under impressive Silver domes - a nice touch.
When the waiters realised that three of our party were celebrating birthdays, their desserts arrived with candles accompanied a chorus of Happy Birthday. Much appreciated. We enjoyed a decent Chilean White from a moderately priced wine list.
Coffee and a selection of Petit Fours were served in the lounge.the service, at all times was attentive, without being intrusive. All in all a memorable meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Magslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A relaxed evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We were not staying at The Grand as it was half term and we don't like children everywhere,so we booked into a hotel down the road ,and walked along for dinner.The room is large,and tables are well spaced.We received a very warm welcome from Benjamin and his team.Dinner was excellent.Pumpkin Risotto,Pork and to follow a souffle with coconut ice cream.I agree that the room is traditional,but as always we found the food and service to be very up to date.If we lived in Eastbourne we would go every week!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely, if a little starchy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I took my parents here for their wedding anniversary and we enjoyed it though it the service was a little stiff and the room itself lacked atmosphere. The hotel was lovely. The food was not quite as memorable as I had hoped, given the price (I can recall meals I enjoyed from very early childhood and am happy to pay more for an unforgettable experience). The galette served alongside the goose brought nothing to the dish, though I did appreciate all the other elements of the meal. My parent's dessert plates were decorated with a 'Happy anniversary' message which was a very nice gesture. The amuse bouches, starters and desserts were very good. Next up on my list is The Square in London and The Curlew in Bodiam.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejd825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mirabelle Restaurant also viewed

 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Mirabelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing