We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exclellent.... Friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gyves House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gyves House
Ranked #6 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket
2 reviews
“Exclellent.... Friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We found Gyves house by accident......... and so glad we did.
Very friendly people and the house is very clean. The breakfasts were very good. Andrew was very helpful.
We'll be recomending this guest house to family and friends..... and we'll be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Thank you so much for the nice feedback. Looking forward to seeing you in Eastbourne again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    40
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
163
33
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

A cosy bed, nice room, excellent breakfast (perhaps the coffee could be stronger for the German taste ..) and above all the warm and friendly welcome by the hosts made the stay quite perfect. Good location near pier/city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Thank you for the nice review, I will definitely be double checking if my German guests are strong coffee likers in the future. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My friends and I booked two twin rooms at Gyves House after doing the 13.5 mile Seven Sisters walk from Seaford to Eastbourne. The walk was stunning but exhausting so when we arrived at the B&B we were very happy to be staying somewhere so homely with such friendly and helpful people!

The rooms were very clean and comfortable (the beds were really comfortable - just what you need after a hard day's walking!) and the owners were really helpful with their advice of where to go for dinner and drinks despite not having been in the area for very long. Breakfast in the morning was spot on - perfectly cooked english breakfast with homemade bread which was delicious!

I would definitely recommend this place - it's in a great location not far from the centre of town and just by the sea front. I would stay here again if I ever visited Eastbourne again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feolamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for your nice review of your stay which really describes how we want our guests to feel when they have stayed at our bed and breakfast - enjoying what Eastbourne and East Sussex offers (a lot!) , clean, attractive and comfortable bedrooms , a nice fresh, healthy breakfast in a friendly and quality house in a convenient location. The weekend you were here was a healthy life fest - 6 mountain bikes in the courtyard from the guys doing the South Downs cycling and you 4 walkers. Was great!! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

we stayed at this guesthouse after we had been rudely turned away from a nearby guesthouse due to overbooking error by the landlady.Andrew welcomed us with a large pot of tea and made us feel at home. Andrew and Angela have recently started running Gyves house and what a great job they have made of it. The room Andrew had for us was spacious with a large bathroom and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and had an excellent duvet and feather pillows, large TV and tea and coffee facilities were provided. The following morning the full English breakfast was freshly cooked and huge,it set us up completely for the rest of the day. Gyves house is a stone's throw from the seafront and close to the town .We have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse.When in Eastbourne again we shall certainly be visiting Andrew and Angela again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garry437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thanks so much for this nice review. Was a pleasure having you stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This B&B was well run by novice B&B owners, it was extremely good value, the rooms were lovely and the breakfast cooked very nicely. It is in a great location, a stone's throw from the sea in easy reach of everything, but quiet so we had an excellent night's sleep. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Very friendly, and some lovely local pubs. Very accomodating, clean and tidy and conveniently right next to the sea! Excellent range of facilities and they're happy to make a coffee or a brew for you if you are waiting to be collected.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gregbaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your nice review. Was a lot of fun having you and your colleagues stay with us during your filming. Look forward to seeing the finished work on the silver screen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Gyves house is a very friendly and comfortable guest house. Our party of five stayed in a double, a twin and a single room. All the rooms were well equipped with tv's,coffee making facilities and en-suite bathrooms.
Breakfast was excellent and set us up very well for our days walking. Andy and Angela were very helpful and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southdownswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Than you so much for your nice review. We are just discovering the beautiful walking here in East Sussex ourselves and so easy to access from Eastbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyves House

Property: Gyves House
Address: 20 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gyves House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star gold rated lovely Victorian guest house just 30 metres from the seafront and in a great central location. All rooms are en-suite, clean and comfortable with freeview tv, hot drinks, wi-fi. Great breakfasts.Great b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gyves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing