We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Gyves House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gyves House
Ranked #5 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend 11th to 13th October, the welcome was warm and friendly, the room was lovely with quality through and through. Made to feel at home , with the cooked breakfast (Full English and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs) the best we've had in a bed and breakfast. Overall an excellent stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    42
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
169
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent visit, rooms well equipped and presented, very comfortable. The breakfast was extremely well cooked and the choices very good. The hosts were very helpful in all respects. I would recommend this B&B also for its location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for a great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at Gyves House in September, I travelled with my cousin for an autumn break.
We arrived at Eastbourne Railway Station and walked it to Gyves House, it took about 15 minutes. We were greeted by owner Andrew, he took our bags to our room (2)
Gave us information about the B&B, breakfast time, also nearby places to eat.
When making the initial booking I requested one bed not to have feathers and it was great when we arrived this was remembered.

The room was lovely and clean, nice fresh bedding and a VERY comfy bed, hard to get out of in the morning! We had en-suite which was a shower which we preferred.
The breakfast room is on the ground floor on the front, it is a pleasant room, wooden floors.

The breakfast started with cereals, yogurt,fresh fruit, also Orange and Apple juice.
We had the English breakfast which was nice, loved the scrambled eggs!
There is a menu with other items, if you're not wanting a full breakfast.

Also included is free wi-fi which had an excellent signal, there was a television in the bedroom with Freeview channels.

We used to walk to the centre as we were not in a car, we liked to walk on the front (prom) into the centre and took us a good 10 minutes.

All in all we had a nice time at Gyves House, both Andrew and Angela are lovely hosts and very welcoming. A nice place to go back to, which we may just do!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kitteecatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks so much for the fullsome review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Arrived exhausted and stressed after a busy week and left energised and refreshed after being looked after so wonderfully well by Andrew & Angela. Nothing seemed too much trouble! The room was warm, spotless and very comfortable. I NEVER sleep well on a first night in a different bed to mine but I did here as did my husband! Homemade bread & fresh coffee at breakfast was great. The rest of the breakfast looked amazing. Great to be so near the sea yet away from the traffic along the front. Andrew was very knowledgeable about the area and advised on the best spots for our shortish walks, as well as the best pubs! Will recommend on to friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graciebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked on the day, all went smoothly. Lovely place to stay, close to seafront and town centre. Very clean, beds very comfortable, quiet and delicous breakfast. Parking on street but found one straight away opposite the front door. Will be visiting Eastbourne again so hope a room will be available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

A wonderful welcome upon our arrival. Lovely clean, comfortable room with the best bed ever, wanted to take it with us!! We had a side sea view and had a very good choice when dining out!! Took a lovely walk to Beachy Head. Andrew and Angela were such fantastic hosts and gave us all the information we needed on the area!! Would definitely stay there again!! Fresh roses in the rooms were such a beautiful touch!!!

Room Tip: We had the room at the top, side sea view which was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Andrew & Angela have made this a delightful place to stay. Agree with previous guests that the breakfasts are very good. Home made yoghurt and bread. Locally sourced organic quality food. Fresh fruit salads, delicious granola/muesli and fairtrade coffee.
The room was clean with crisp white fresh bedlinen (important).
Fresh flowers in the bedroom and the dining room.
Close to all amenities. Good local restaurants. Plenty of choice.
Go to information centre for tourist advice and discounted fare tickets to Brighton and other attractions. Recommend Redoubt Fortress exhibition just up the road. There's something local for everyone.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39spark_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thanks for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,961 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyves House

Property: Gyves House
Address: 20 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gyves House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star gold rated lovely Victorian guest house just 30 metres from the seafront and in a great central location. All rooms are en-suite, clean and comfortable with freeview tv, hot drinks, wi-fi. Great breakfasts.Great b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gyves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing