We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Gyves House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gyves House
Ranked #8 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Happy with the room and happier with the bed,extremely comfy.
Big size bathroom and very clean!
Very good and early breakfast arranged due to my running race.
The owner was extremely helpful and friendly.

Satisfied!
Paolo

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paoloapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks so much for posting a nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    42
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
170
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here the night before a coastal trial run and the host was very welcoming. Very nice place just of the boulevard with nice room and good beds. Breakfast was good, although I only took small amounts in anticipation of the race.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurits_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks a lot for the nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Gyves House is cleaner, warmer, friendlier, more comfortable and serves better food than other guest houses we have used when visiting family in Eastbourne. And what's more it is far better value. We would have no hesitation in making it our first choice next time we visit, particularly as they can do 'Boiled Eggs'!

Room Tip: I am sure having read other Trip Advisor reviews that each of the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanaldLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for such a nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I had a great stay here. Super room which was spotless, great bed for a good nights sleep, and a warm welcome from the hosts - with just the right balance - really interesting and informative and good to talk to but not at all intrusive. Breakfast was great and we could not have been made to feel more at home. Would highly recommend Gyves House - and there is lots to do and see in and around Eastbourne - I was really surprised. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks so much for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

After a 4 day camping and cycling trip around the Kent coast we decided to treat ourselves to a bit of luxury for our last night. Booked here as close to seafront and secure cycle storage. It was a great decision! We were warmly welcomed in spite of our wet sweaty appearance. Our room was spotlessly clean (even though we wern't!) and the bed didn't want to let me leave. Although my preference was to stay in bed for the whole stay, we did force ourselves to take advantage of the owners local knowledge and try out a local hostility or two. Breakfast was excellent - plentiful varied and well cooked. My only complaint was the owners failed to clean and service our cycles! We were so well looked after I almost expected them to have done so! Thoroughly recommend this lovely place and will definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Many thanks for your very nice review, I hope you will be cycling here again this summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at Gyves House a few years ago by chance. Originally, I had booked a different B&B, but they messed up the booking and were full when I arrived, so I got a room at Gyves House. Looking back, I am really glad that the first B&B messed up, because they could hardly have been any better than this! The room was cozy and spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable, breakfast was fantastic, the service was fantastic, our hosts were welcoming and very friendly, and the location is just perfect. I will definitely stay here again if I return to Eastbourne!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks for the nice review. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

You need to stay at Gyves house to appreciate the fantastic service and wonderful hosts.
We booked two rooms at Christmas as we had to take our mother in law who i must say is very fussy and she had a lovely time. The rooms are impeccable and very clean with all the creature comforts you require.The breakfast was amazing with a personal touch of service! i could have been at home! we would highly recommend Gyves house and will definitely stay again. Thank you for a welcome stay. Best Wishes Trevor & Lynne Tidman-Barrett

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic as we looked at them all so no need to choose!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for such a great review and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
929 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyves House

Property: Gyves House
Address: 20 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gyves House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star gold rated lovely Victorian guest house just 30 metres from the seafront and in a great central location. All rooms are en-suite, clean and comfortable with freeview tv, hot drinks, wi-fi. Great breakfasts.Great b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Gyves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing