We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly treat”
Review of Gyves House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gyves House
Ranked #7 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A friendly treat”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed with my husband for two nights over the first May bank holiday weekend and it was lovely. Great location right next to the beach and near the restaurants. Breakfast in the morning had a great variety and good quality. Andrew and Angela has some good suggestions for walks and places to eat, including a Thai restaurant at the end of the road.
Only negatives is wifi signal in our room wasn't great but that didn't matter too much to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for the very nice review and glad you enjoyed your stay. The wifi is a tad weak in a corner of the room you were in , but pretty much good mostly in there. I am though going to experiment with a new booster on the first floor. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    42
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
170
35
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the first moment- Andrew and Angela make you feel like old friends. The place is right next to beach and it so easy to reach everything by foot or by car. The room we stayed in was tastefully decorated and spotless-with all the small touches to make it cosy and welcoming.


Andrew has a wealth of knowledge about the area and was very charming and helpful as a host. The breakfast cooked up by Angela from local produce was fabulous and the experience was like a 5 star hotel. Really cannot think of anything that could have been better- I just don't know how they do it for such low rates- the best value and best B&B we have ever stayed in without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Máté K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for such a really great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and this sort of feedback is so nice for us too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we were cycling the South Downs way and this was our final destination accommodation. The premises are spotlessly clean and nicely appointed. The welcome we received from Mike was excellent and very welcoming. We were keen to watch Heineken cup rugby and Mike made an excellent suggestion for a local pub that was showing the game. We had an early start on Sunday morning so had a rushed breakfast - we had continental selection which was lovely but jealously looked at the lovely cooked breakfast other guest were having as we left.
It is a lovely B&B and only a short distance from Seafront.Excellent value for money

Room Tip: very cycling friendly - Mike locked our bikes away in a very secure shed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnprend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
haha, it was Andrew not Mike, but that's fine :-) thanks for the very kind review and sorry Munster lost on the Sunday. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Everything was first class. Andrew and Angela made us very welcome and clearly take a great pride in their business. Their home is fresh, modern and spotlessly clean with a lovely Mediterranean feel. Breakfast was delicious! Thank you for a lovely stay and we will definitely come back. Sharon & Mike C (26th April 2014)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived late to a very friendly greeting and a lovely clean room. Although we only stayed one night we would definitely go back - it's a sweet and tidy house that is much nicer than the nearby hotels and very well located near to the seafront. The breakfast was delicious and accomodated my dietry restrictions - well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny94London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks a lot for your very nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I arrived late, but got a cheery welcome from Andrew and Angela. The room was very clean and tidy, warm too. The back garden was compact but neat with a nice look to it. The whole house from what I saw, was tastefully decorated, modern and fresh. I didn't take the cooked breakfast due to work constraints, but had a good selection of cereals and drinks to choose from. Parking was basically finding a spot out on the street, but the area felt safe so wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: Ask the owners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi, Thanks for the nice review and the witty headline :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay here located so close to the promenade and town centre yet very quiet. The decor throughout was very good. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable although perhaps a bit on the small side, while the shower room was spacious and attractively decorated. Water pressure was rather low, but sufficient and perhaps not a bad thing from the "green" point of view. Breakfast was really good, with an excellent choice available. Andrew and Angela are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterP48551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks a lot for the very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
890 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyves House

Property: Gyves House
Address: 20 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gyves House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star gold rated lovely Victorian guest house just 30 metres from the seafront and in a great central location. All rooms are en-suite, clean and comfortable with freeview tv, hot drinks, wi-fi. Great breakfasts.Great b&b. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gyves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing