We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay with super breakfasts and friendly hosts!”
Review of Gyves House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gyves House
Ranked #5 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A really lovely hotel just 30 metres from the beach front and a few hundred yards walk to the main shopping area in Eastbourne.
Room was clean and comfortable and was kept that way throughout our stay with clean towels in the en-suite bathroom everyday.
My daughter and I stayed four nights here on a photography trip, room had small flatscreen TV of which I was able to plug my HDMI for my tablet into and watch our movies through which was great in the evenings.

Breakfasts were cereals and fruit plus toast and conserves, the Full English was very tasty but the highlight for me was the scrambled eggs with Salmon which I had on two occasions and was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection, I think Angela must have attended the Escoffier school of scrambled eggs..Andrew was equally attentive at breakfast serving us coffee and toast in double quick time.

Definitely recommend this small hotel

Room Tip: Room 2 is a small but quiet room with twin singles and gets the afternoon sun with the window lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazylegsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks so much for the nice review and for the hdmi tip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here in July for 1 week and really enjoyed it. The house was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and a lot of it was home made. The bedrooms were very nice and it was quiet at night time. It is situated in a perfect location - only a minute from the sea front and close to the town centre. The hosts were very nice and helpful and gave us tips on local attractions and transport. Would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernIreland4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent location 2 minutes from the seafront. Well-kept, comfortable and clean. Our hosts were friendly and helpful in every way. Breakfast was excellent - especially the home-made bread! Highly recommended and very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

thanks so much for the very nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The accommodation is only a few yards from the sea front.
The hosts, Angela and Andrew, are very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable with nice décor, and there was a good selection of food at breakfast , which was well cooked, served and presented.
,

Room Tip: We would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaroleCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your very nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and I had a lovely (though unfortunately too short) stay at Gyves Houe. Our hosts were more than friendly and helpful in every way. Rooms were in excellent condition and tastefully decorated. An overall very personal atmosphere with the hosts paying great attention to detail. Highly recommendable.

T. Stephan, Germany

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Torsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks so much for the very nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Gyves House for just one night during the recent Airbourne and only wished it could have been for longer. The exterior of the building is immediately appealing and Andrew and Angela are excellent hosts: they are friendly, welcoming and a pleasure to talk to. The bedroom we had (No 1) was well appointed, spacious and clean with a nice sized and well equipped en suite with a good over-bath shower. The breakfast room is beautifully done, as are the full English breakfasts: ours sustained us through to the evening despite our doing a lot of walking. Additionally, the property was really well placed for our needs on a side street just off the seafront and close to the pier. It is also close to a great Harvey's pub, The Victoria, and to a range of restaurants. Excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks so much for the great review and your illuminating stories of other guesthouse experiences :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Booked this excellent B&B, based on the 100% rating on both 'trip adviser' and 'laterooms'. Being a natural cynic, part of me yearned for disappointment, but that was not to be the case, as everything about our stay was truly excellent - Gyves House IS only just around the corner from the promenade; it IS very clean, quiet and practical; the hosts ARE as welcoming as the other comments say (...they've been at it only two years, so are still enthusiastic, but have now honed their skills); and the breakfast IS superb! The whole experience was indeed 100%.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewc186, Owner at Gyves House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks for the great review ( not so cynical :-)) !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
917 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,881 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#2 of 75 in Eastbourne
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyves House

Address: 20 St. Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £25 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gyves House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star gold rated lovely Victorian guest house just 30 metres from the seafront and in a great central location. All rooms are en-suite, clean and comfortable with freeview tv, hot drinks, wi-fi. Great breakfasts.Great b&b. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing