We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy”
Review of Courtlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I was on a short term contract and needed to stay in Eastbourne for about 10 weeks. After looking hard for a place to stay, I came across Courtlands hotel with an excellent offer for long staying guests. The hotel is located near the sea-front (2-3 minutes walk), and the station (10 minutes walk), which was ideal for me.

I would like to add by saying that, the owners were welcoming which made my stay very pleasant.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank solomon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

We spent 21 nights in June-July at the Courtlands while visiting family in Eastbourne. The hotel is situated very centrally and particularly close to two very good Italian restaurants. Our room, which had a lovely garden view, was very comfortably decorated and had recently been refurbished. The bathroom was particularly well equipped for a 3 star hotel.

Sandy and Tom, the owners, are very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for them. Tom has a particularly wicked sense of humour and keeps the guests amused with his jokes and tall tales.
There is a cosy bar and a light, airy restaurant where the food and service are both of a high standard.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as did our two teenaged daughters who joined us for the last week of our holiday.
Furthermore, the hotel rates are very reasonable.
Many thanks to Sandy and Tom for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tingram9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for the managers. Despite turning up with a dog which they were not aware of (apparently an error on the on line booking service, I think if you are taking a dog, might be a good idea to ring them direct?)They still welcomed us into a very grand room with a four poster bed and absolutely insisted it was no trouble. The look on my face was not unhappy but "wow they are letting a dog in here!" They also gave us an external door key so we could come and go what ever time of night/early morning our dog needed to answer to the call of nature! Although there was a manned reception, this took away the embarrassment of us having to ask each time. So many lounges to choose from to meet up with guests/family, friends. But if you are someone who likes to stay in their room to relax, you might want to take a few extra tea bags or coffee. However, there is room service if you prefer, for hot drinks snacks etc or pop down to bar/lounge.
The hotel is clean with lots of period furnishings, furniture’s, oil paintings, antiques, all befitting of the age of the building. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing and laid back. You get free parking on site. The hotel is sited on a quiet area so no noise yet seconds away from the beach.
Breakfast was relaxing and enjoyable. Service was polite, friendly and decently quick. (I am sure that if I had asked they would have moved us to a table over looking the garden where we could have left our dog. As it was, we left her in the car in case she barked whilst we were not with her)
A varied menu to choose from freshly cooked or chilled.

Room Tip: Quite a few stairs to each landing but there was a stair lift to get to lower floor to the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I spent 7 nights at this comfortable and lovely Hotel. It was a very pleasant experience, principally because I felt like at home. The owners are friendly; the rooms are recently renewed, very comfortable and extremely clean; and the food was delicious. I totally recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are recently renewed. The 3rd floor was completed just before I arrived, the bathrooms looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hely R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The owner operators of the Courtlands are very friendly, helpful, and flexible in their attitude toward guests, and there is a sense of genuine welcome. (A small gesture, but at breakfast on Easter Sunday there was an Easter egg awaiting every guest.) The place is clean, quiet, and comfortable. The dining room is bright and airy, and the breakfasts served to order very satisfying.

Room quality can be a little variable and fittings occasionally tired and dowdy, and the hotel lacks a certain finesse, but it is undergoing a long programme of revitalisation. It most definitely does not deserve the slating it has had in other reviews which do not seem to describe the same establishment. I can only wonder at the motives of the authors of those reviews. Having stayed there three times in the last 8 months (the fact that we have chosen to return should say something) has seen steady improvement in the decor and the room fittings. Given the convenient location so close to the seafront and amenities, it would be hard to find a better place for the price. It is ideally suited particularly for visitors to the summer air show.

Room Tip: Two rooms have modern four-poster beds. Having had the benefit the one in room 5, I can vouch for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GDR-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Had a brilliant break @ Courtlands Hotel Eastbourne. A wonderful friendly welcome to greet us the food is delicious & they do like to feed you! Our room was spotlessly clean the staff were very helpful & friendly well done all, you have restored our faith in Eastbourne Thank You

Room Tip: rooms to the rear very quite tell them if you would like a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

3 nights on DBB basis. Beautiful decor; comfortable beds in roomy bedroom. Thomas has great sense on humour (even when I dropped the room key down the lift shaft!) and Sandy gave me a great sauce tip. Food was very good with choices for all diets. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: our room G2 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#36 of 40 in Eastbourne
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glastonbury Hotel
Glastonbury Hotel
#37 of 40 in Eastbourne
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mansion Lions Hotel
Mansion Lions Hotel
#35 of 40 in Eastbourne
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtlands Hotel

Address: 3-5 Wilmington Gardens, Eastbourne BN21 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing