We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”
Review of The Pilot Inn

The Pilot Inn
Ranked #29 of 411 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Pilot on a Friday and Sunday night and the food was so good on the Friday that we went back to the restaurant on the Sunday night. Bar staff are very attentive and happy which makes all the difference, and getting a table was easy and quick. The restaurant serves high quality food finished beautifully with a selection of veg cooked perfectly and I see from a comment that the veg was "raw"; I would say that if you asked the waiter the chef would do the veg to your preference but is served Al Dente which is fine for us. The rooms were a pleasant surprise, very modern and comfortable and a fantastic huge bathroom. Lisa the owner couldn't have been more pleasant and also allowed us to leave a car from Saturday to Sunday in her car park when we were walking the Seven Sisters by Beachy head to seaford. All in all a perfect stay and a surprise find in Eastbourne that we look forward to using again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    99
    26
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice beer garden”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Good standard pub food, plenty of choice, friendly efficient staff, nice surroundings and a lovely beer garden. My father and I enjoyed two excellent pints of Timothy Taylor Landlord on tap. At the time of our visit (08.08.2014) Sharps Doom Bar and Harvey's Sussex Best also available on hand pumps.

Helpful?
Thank JamesClough1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An excellent meal out”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went as a party of 4 and wondered whether we should have booked, but no worries, we were seated immediately. There was a board with a wide range of specials of the day - the 4 different ones we tried were all excellent and very tasty. The bar had a good selection of real ales, we would certainly go there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very popular with the locals, quite busy so it looked promising, but its nothing special, vegetables were raw. would not return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pub Grub in lovely garden”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Good standard pub food, plenty of choice, friendly efficient staff, nice surroundings, lovely garden.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AuntySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pilot Inn also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Pilot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing