We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed of lies...”
Review of Hadleigh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hadleigh Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 22 April 2014

When we entered the family room in the eve's we were a little disappointed that the shower had no screen or curtain & you can't stand up because of the low ceiling. Our cases never arrived but we found them in a corridor 2 floors below. The ceiling paper was hanging down over my daughters bed.
Then we found that 3 bulbs were out & the bathroom door didn't lock.
Returning after the first day we found the room had not been cleaned so we decided a trip to reception was needed.
When telling the general manager our problems he said that he'll get the room cleaned straight away & the bulbs changed & the bathroom door sorted.
Later that evening we found that the room had been cleaned but 2 bulbs still out & the door was the same. We went back to the manager to be told he made the door shut better but none of bathroom doors shut in the hotel. We said there was nothing wrong with the shutting & if there is a lock surely it should work, he said no & dismissed us by moving papers around on his desk. We asked 8 other people who were on our coach & surprise yes they all locked.
Having a problem is one thing but being blatantly lied to is very annoying so i would not return to this hotel.
But the food, restaurant staff & entertainment were very good, the hotel was clean & drinks were very reasonable...

Room Tip: Don't accept the top floor rooms or ask the scottish manager for help..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was there with Buckleys with my walking group. My single room was very small but apart from that I agree 100% with john g. How they serve such good food so efficiently and with a smile to so many people at once leaves me open mouthed in admiration.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

just got back went with BUCKLEYS OF BLAXTON first class company .trevor the driver great .the hotel is very clean and warm this time of year.from entering to leaving everone brilliant.food very very good a quick mention to michelle because she told me to .rooms comfortable as with all old propety they need a little t l c i can highly recomend this hotel and coach company

Room Tip: twins are good and they say singles are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We went to Eastbourne with our local coach company MM Coachlines who are excellent.
Food was good; efficient waiting staff; comfortable beds; lots of help from Reception for extra pillow etc.We are going there for Easter and looking forward to our stay there again very much.

Room Tip: Corner suites are generally colder in the winter months so avoid a room with a Bay Window. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I found the staff very friendly and obliging.
The food was very good and served very quickly, no waiting.
Hotel comfortable and clean with good entertainment on the two night weekend stay.
A staff member checked my whereabouts when I did not make it down to breakfast.
I was then provided with very welcome cup of tea and a bacon sandwich when I arrived down very late.
The single room was small, but comfortable with a good size bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Went on a Christmas break for 5 days with Jay and Kay coach tours, They always get it right,
What a brilliaant hotel, nothing and I mean nothing was to much for them, what every you asked for they got for you we wanted to play crib and like a flash cards and crib board were there for you, all the staff, Bill, Sara, Sam( a look alike for David Tennent) and Tony our lovely Waiter where all Brilliant they really looked after you.and worked very hard, Sara was very entertaining and kept the Christmas mood going.
Would we go there again, You bet your life we would,. well done everybody, even our lovely lady who cleaned our room every day

Room Tip: we were on the third floor with quite a nice veiw, everything you needed was there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Camberwell194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from the Hadleigh Hotel stayed Tuesday to Saturday, having stayed there before we knew it was ok, this time it was a Tinsel and Turkey Week with Buckleys Coach Tours ( can highly recomend this company), from arrival to departure in was excellent the food was first class and plenty of it, the staff worked hard to make our stay pleasant, the bedrooms and everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean, very professional entertainment every night, We have only one complaint and that was the entertainment hostess Sara, she was very unprofessional and she lost the plot on more than one instance, having been told she was only employed for the tinsel and turkey weeks lets hope they hire somebody else for next year as we are returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cockles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haddon Hall Hotel
Haddon Hall Hotel
#18 of 40 in Eastbourne
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadleigh Hotel

Address: 14-22 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £33 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hadleigh Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Hadleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing