We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, really bad”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad, really bad”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The worst hotel for me so far! There was no shampoo and only 1 little soap in my room, they never put more. The towel I left on the floor for cleaning was on the rack the next morning (still wet!), the restaurant staff is mostly unprofessional and they always want you to share the table with more people so they have less to clean! (they clarified the reason to us!). If you don't want English breakfast, you get nothing extra from people who do, you can look forward to toast, bad cereal and bad canned fruit, all in very small portions. People who had the English breakfast said it was not good. My Ikea furtniture in the room was cracked. Oh and the hotel is so outdated and boring white, with no personality at all, except some handwritten signs taped around the place to indicate where the restaurant, etc is!!! I am sure there are worse places, but for a Hilton? OMG.

Room Tip: Don't go at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaliaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    117
    149
    105
    211
See reviews for
109
305
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Room was terrible, dirty, bed not made properly. Noisy (door banged everytime someone walked past in corridor and constant noise from above).

TV didn't work (only three channels which kept cutting-out) and no wi-fi available. We checked out after three hours, after trying to have an afternoon nap and realising that we could not stay any longer.

We wouldn't even consider ourselves to be overly fussy people! I have stayed in nicer hostels

No refund and no follow-up from management.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

eastbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I had my hen night here on 5th may 2012 and it couldnt have gone better, the hotel manageress debbie was there to help from the day we booked till we checked out she could not have been more helpful and friendly, all the staff were so nice and made every second special so friendly and was so helpful. the hen night package they do it fantastic and amazing value.
The actual hotel still needs a bit of doing up but i understand this is in progress and from the rooms i see that have been done when finished will be to a very high standard but even the rooms that are not done yet are still in good clean order and have everything you need.
I highly recomend this hotel its the staff that make a stay what it is so no better place to stay.x

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

we originally were going to stay in another hotel in eastbourne where we had booked to hold our wedding reception this year .
Debbie the manager there is amazing , soo much so we cancelled the other hotel and we are now booked to have our wedding there.
they are really doing soo much to the hotel that every time we go back something else has been revamped or redone , its a huge hotel right on the seafront and yes you know its not part of the hilton hotel chain like some people say on here, however there prices are definat not Hilton prices . come on people give them a break if you wre used to staying at hiltons you would,nt be paying the kind of prices they charge there!!!!!!

I have always found them very helpful there and like i said we were booked to hold our reception in another hotel , we tried four of the big hotels and stayed in them all to try them out and the hilton royal parade has been the best out of them all.

Debbie and all her staff are all very helpful and yes they are refurbishing it all slowly , in fact the last time i stayed there last month they were painting and changing the doors .
its good value for money and they will go out of their way for you .

I dont know what it was like before when the previous people had it but i can only give it a big thumbs up . every thing is on your doorstep and you can enjoy a good old english riviera holiday without the coldness of a big hotel chain group and big hotel prices
well done hilton royal parade i think you are doing a great job which must be very expensive and i hope more people put on the good reviews you deserve
mr m simpson

Room Tip: sea view rooms are amazing !!! friendly staff and very helpfull , cant wait till the hotel is comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9191929292929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

So- we stayed here for a hen night. Great package: £45 for cream tea, bucks fizz reception, 3 course meal Inc glass of wine, disco, complimentary pj's and breakfast.
Cream tea was a scone with squirty cream?! Although it came with popcorn and lots if other pastries and was nice.
Bucks fizz was nice
3 course meal was questionable- they obviously started to run out of food towards the last guests as we all had different quantities- some got 3 types of pate and others got 1!
Main course was edible, desert was edible but a confusion of food thrown together!
Complimentary pj's- we were asked to return them at then end of our stay!!
The hotel itself is clean (to some standards) and for the price I didn't expect much but the rooms (we were in 311) need updating- seriously. Threadbare carpets, Lino was cracked, bathroom looks like it was the one originally put in when the hotel was built! However, the room was warm and comfy and had sea view. The staff spoke English and were helpful. The hotel 'club' needs updating and dj was funny- only just out of Nappies and didn't have many requests. However, we had a good night and I think that they are in the process of updating.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylou86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

When I booked a hen weekend through Harry shaw we didn't know what hotel we were going to until 5 days before we travelled. When the details of this hotel came through and I checked the reviews I was very worried and apprehensive about our weekend away and contemplated ringing to change hotels. However after visiting the hotel I feel some of the reviews on here are harsh and unfair! There were 10 of us that stayed here and we all had a lovely weekend!! Upon arrival there were Pleasent and friendly staff waiting at the door to welcome us and the manager came and introduced herself and said to speak to her if we have any problems. The reception areas are clean, modern and welcoming. We checked into the rooms which were basic but nice! They have been refurbished but this hasn't been done to a high standard but still clean and suited us just fine! The rooms were hard to find as its a bit of a tardis but we found it quite funny trying to find the rooms! The staff were helpful and friendly throughout and DID speak English!! The only part that let it down for us was the food as it wasn't very nice but we still ate it and there was plenty of places to eat near by too! The location of the hotel was fantastic and overall I feel this hotel has been unfairly criticised on here!!! Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Sadly this was a disappointing return visit to this hotel, first room we were given was smaller than some cupboards, quilt didn't even reach the sides of the bed, shower room didn't have a door and I didn't know you could fit toilets in spaces that size, even fitting the toilet in was a struggle! Although staff were helpful, the second room was better but still shabby, only one one hand and one bath towel, showerhead not actually attached to the wall and a hole in the wardrobe door! Breakfast was average at best (although previously had been good) Having said that staff were friendly and had a great weekend in Eastbourne despite the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterside Hotel
Waterside Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing