We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy expience made Faulty Towers seem sane.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crazy expience made Faulty Towers seem sane.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were a party of 6 in 3 twin rooms. It seems which side of the hotel you are in there is quite a difference. Our room windows wouldn't close then following morning water pouring through the ceiling of the bathroom when I went to reception was told they had other guests had complain of the same thing. The plumber had looked at it and it was "condensation". We had taken showers the day before dinner and hadn't even been in the bathroom that morning. I think I can tell the difference between condensation and a leak. Tour driver came said "that's not condensation" and promptly switched off the lights. and phoned his head office. Saw the manager who also said it was condensation. We finally got moved but only I think because the tour driver and tour head office phoned.

Plumber came and filled in the cracks with mastic which will probably hold for a week or so. Would suggest if anyone is offered room 130 refuse it. For anyone else make sure you know where the fire escapes are, and if anyone from Eastbourne Council or Fire Service who read this would suggest you check out the plumbing carefully.

Room Tip: seems the hotel is updating rooms. Make sure you get one on the lefthand side of the hotel as you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosem202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    114
    141
    100
    195
See reviews for
103
284
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

What an utter dungeon. Worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. When we got there early evening there was no one at reception, stood around waiting for ten minutes, finally we were given the key to our room but when we got there it hadn’t been cleaned from the previous guests so we had to go back to reception and get another room. The room was ok fairly basic and the decor was of poor standard, the door for instance hadn’t been painted, it was just bare wood with paint splashes over it. The shower was either burning hot or freezing cold and the toilet had some sort of pump thing in it so after flushing there was a terrible racket from this pump which seemed to last forever. One of the windows was smashed and had been tapped up with sellotape and there were no locks on the windows, anyone could climb up and just open the window and walk straight into our room. The whole place smelled of rotting fish and was dark and gloomy. Breakfast was appalling. Luke warm filth dripping in fat and to top it all off we were woken in the morning by very loud creaking from the floorboards of the room above. On departure I wanted to speak to the manager who was unavailable so I emailed her, Debbi Blythe, on my return to be told it was an old hotel and what did I expect, she then said she refused to discuss the matter anymore and didn’t answer anymore of my calls or emails. This place needs to be raised to the ground, rebuilt and new management. Woeful.

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyandroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We have just returned from what should have been 4 nights at The Royal Parade. However when we arrived we were told that we would be staying 3 mins down the road. What they didn't say was that was 3 mins by car if you happened to be facing the right way. We were told that we could come back there for meals if we wanted to. But they did not tell us that no evening meals would be available at the alternative hotel. On the Monday evening we walked the 15mins down there but the meal ws so sparce and poor that after that we ate in the town.
This hotel has done this and ended up phoning round other hotels looking for beds twice in the last 6 weeks to the hotel we were moved to alone. Always becauce they have overbooked.
They have now lost their star rating and are currently not graded.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had to write this after reading the other reviews I was down there with travel styles the weekend of the airshow £59.95 for two nights full board.
So ok there are some problems but you get what you pay for the food was hot and the dinning areas are clean the bar area is ok and they do attempt some entertainment the location is great the rooms are dated but who stays all weekend in their room.
Yes the shower area was small but the water was hot
Believe me I have paid a lot more around the world and had a lot worse so enjoy It is not the Hilton London but you get what you pay for and in case you are wondering I will go again £120 for two weekend a way I paid this for one meal out on saturday.

Room Tip: You get more noise from the sea veiw rooms ie passing traffic and holiday makers having fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Recently stayed for two nights as my friend was having his wedding there. We were luckier than some of the other couples, we heard some terrible stories, rooms that were that poor they should have been condemned.Our room had a decent size bed but the mattress was thin therefore the bed was hard. The bathroom/cupboard was a complete joke, only a very small poor shower with about one foot gap until you hit the toilet, when using the loo you had to but your arm on the basin.My partner is 6ft tall and he could not close the door as his legs are long!
Money has been spent on certain aspects of the hotel and my friend had a lovely suite, but I cannot understand how they can rent these other rooms out at such poor standards.Creaky floors no do not disturb signs therefore maids walked into some of the guests rooms. Food poor in the evening, breakfast not too bad.
Investment is needed, it is a shame because the location is good.
If you have booked I would cancel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julernie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Dirty tired and old, not just old, there are plenty of wonderful old hotels and this is not one of them. Food was terrible, had taste of cold flavourless soup and left...
Unfortunately I came back the next day to attend a wedding reception. I suggest the need to complete the building work and decorations then employ a manager, chef and wedding co-ordinator before they ruin another poor unsuspecting couples day. It was only the wonderful company that kept it from being a complete disaster. Shame on you for taking their money.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Worst hotel stay ever, booked 3 week in advance and paid a deposit, yet had no record of it when we arrived. The room was small and dirty, stains on the walls, coffee spilt up the bathroom door. In the bathroom the shower was hanging of the wall with a small sign next to it warning of very how water... Hot water would have been nice all we could get was slightly warm. Bare live wires were also another feature of the bathroom, hanging out of a light fitting... Went to make coffee the next morning but couldn't, the kettle was full of black sludge in the bottom. Packed and checked out straight away, complianed at the front desk but they didn't seem that bothered. How they can justify £71 a night for that s..t hole of a hotel I'll never know...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 77scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#32 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#30 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing