We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked this through travelstyle for my sister and her friend. The hotel from outside looked very nice with the entrance and reception looking very stylish. When we went to our rooms the smell on the stairs was a very strong musty smell. Carpets not vacuumed and doors leading from corridor to rooms covered in dirty finger marks. The carpet in the room was dirty and stained and could do with a clean. The food was worse than basic. Ordered a ploughman's lunch and received chicken and bacon baguette with salad. Pointed this out to bar staff who didn't understand so asked for manager who said it was ok to serve this to me. I pointed out that this was not acceptable and would be disrespectful if given to a vegetarian or non pork eater but he disagreed. Very very poor service! Evening meal very poor food. Breakfast was the only meal worth turning up for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRP_Management, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We have noted your issues with the cleanliness and passed this on to our head house keeper. We understand you had some issues with the quality of food and can only apologise, it is usually something we excel in. We will be retraining staff for our new menus and hope you give us another chance and see for yourself.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very average hotel and don't let the name confuse you! Just because it says "Hilton" does not mean it is hilton. Normal average hotel, a bit overpriced i will say for what it has to offer, the only good thing is the view to the beach if you manage to get one. All the other rooms are bad, no view, you can hear your neighbors next to you and above you. The bathroom is tiny, i could barely wash my face in the sink as it was like a hole in the wall. Breakfast was included which was ok. Finally, there is a big problem with parking. You park on the street and costs 1 pound for 24 hours which is a very good deal but find a parking spot is really hard especially on a busy period. I wasted hour an hour going around the block to find a spot.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with a view and on the last floors as they are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xose j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRP_Management, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your sea view but for you to comment on all other rooms being bad can only mean you stayed in all other rooms and we don't know of any guest who has. With regards to parking, there is plenty of parking around the side of the hotel which is free.
We hope you visit us again and if you have any problems with parking or any other issues, our staff at reception are always happy to help.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked Hilton Royal Parade Hotel through Travelstyle for 4 days ( 12th-15th July)
This Hotel has a perfect location right on the seafront. The food was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room had a nice sea view although we did have one or two niggles about it... the room was very warm and the windows could not be opened for some fresh air making it quite uncomfortable.. The carpet was dirty and there was no curtain in the bathroom.
The weather was good and we enjoyed some nice walks.. the pier and town centre are not too far away.
This was our first visit to Eastbourne and it was a very nice break.

Room Tip: Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHLYN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRP_Management, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your break staying here at the Hilton Royal Parade Hotel. We have noted your comments about the carpet and curtain and will convey this on to our head house keeper.
We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and my first impression when I arrived was soon shattered. The entrance & lounge areas were brightly lit with extensive gleaming chandeliers, comfy seating and clean shine slippy floor tiles in the Reception areas (not the best of flooring for the majority of the guests, bearing in mind the frailty of the average person staying there with their accompanying walking appliances). All the stairs were in need of a thorough hoovering, skirting areas were filthy. A large hotel with only one lift and the Dining Room situated on the ground floor - not ideal for the elderly. Our room was a double with the most fantastic sea view - shame about the window frames - gorgeous sash windows in dire need of much needed maintenance and decoration. Our room was decorated & not to a very high standard, chipped paintwork, tired looking paper on walls with assorted scuff marks. Furniture a bit out dated and the lack of decent coat hangers - plastic/wire ones supplied but in very poor condition - I threw 2 away as broken . Bed was comfy and sheets changed daily along with the hard towels. Thankfully we took our own kettle - the one supplied was so furred up we daren't use it. Once we wound our way down to the Dining Room (via a very steep staircase) & again not suitable for the infirm we were met with what can only be said by a very basic menu - in fact we skipped one evening meal as there was nothing on it we liked. We stayed 3 nights but, by the 4th had decided to move to a smaller guest house down the road. I don't think that I would stay there again out of choice - one good thing though - its right opposite the beach ....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a cheap one night stay as we were attending a birthday party in another hotel. I found this one and read all the good/bad reviews. Thought I'd take the chance anyway. So glad I did, ok so it's a little tired in places, but they are not saying they are a 4/5* hotel. On arrival the receptionist was extremely helpful and polite, we were given the option to park on the sea front for a £1 or find a free space in the surrounding streets. We found a space on the front with ease. Our room had a sea view, clean, windows with opened and a nice comfortable bed. The bathroom was very compact, and clean, and the towels made into swans was a nice touch. After reading reviews I was expecting a whole lot worse. Yes there was a bit of peeling paint, but nothing that would put me off staying here again. The breakfast was of a good standard and the staff very helpful and accommodating, free newspaper was a nice bonus. The location was fantastic as it was next door to the hotel where our party was being held. I can only comment on our room, but I would ignore the bad reviews and give this hotel a try, so glad I did.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creeky19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked into this hotel mid week whilst in the area for work.
Had a lovely sea view from the room that I had booked, but was unable to open any of the three sash windows as they had been painted shut, repaired with mastic which prevented them from opening or repaired so badly that they were incapable of being opened to allow fresh air into this room.

The outside temperature was in the high 20s C and the evening/night temps were due to be high.

No fan available, no other rooms available, decided not to stay for the night.

Poor customer service, poor housekeeping and building maintenance, the stair and landing carpets could do with a good hoover and proper window maintenance should be carried out on the lovely sash windows to the front of this property.
Still waiting for the promised telephone call from the manager.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here for a short break in June and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Very friendly and welcoming staff who couldn't do enough to help. The room had a fantastic view of the Beach. We had a double that was nicely decorated and finished and the bed was very comfortable. All in all a great hotel in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#21 of 40 in Eastbourne
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £34 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing