We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Entering this hotel was really nice. Bedrooms ok. We had a sea view which was nice. Staff very helpful.
The evening meal was basic and I wish we had eaten out. The entertainment was really pleasant.
I was very annoyed that they had ran out of parking permits which to be honest is a high priority when booking accommodation along the seafront. Having been told there would be permits prior to arriving I felt very annoyed as would have booked somewhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayum A, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for your review and i am glad you enjoyed your holiday. I am sorry for the parking permit. We will make sure we do not run out of it in future. Soon we are opening a new restaurant within the hotel which will take care of the dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    116
    144
    102
    203
See reviews for
106
294
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Little Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night I feel that for the price paid was exceptional. Check in was fast, friendly and professional. I've seen some of the other reviews regarding the staffs lack of English which to me is laughable, the girls on the desk spoke very good English. The bar area and restaurant are furnished very well, the bedroom was clean and comfortable. The only let down is the stairwells and approaches to the bedroom they appear to be very jaded. Altogether good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner47Beaconsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayum A, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your review and i am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue our effort and make more improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our room was sea facing and very good value for money. The bathroom was clean and bed very comfortable. Crisp clean linen. A big improvement from February when I last stayed there. The lounge area is very relaxing, view of the sea is amazing.

Room Tip: Out of hundred rooms, only fourty or so are very good, with the others looking tired and carpets wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayum A, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. This shows our hard work is getting noticed and i am sure in coming days we will do much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just spent one night at this hotel, which was one night too many. Hotel seemed OK on approach to reception, but of course, this is the public face of the organisation. I became extremely disappointed as we made our way to our room. The corridor carpets were ill-fitting, dirty and threadbare. The décor tired and untidy. The room was even worse. A pokey little hole slightly bigger than a broom cupboard containing second-hand flat pack furniture. The net curtains had never been washed and although the shower room was reasonably clean there were signs of the previous occupier. The walls formed from stud partition plasterboard and the main walls not much better, being able to hear people in neighbouring rooms. The room was stiflingly very hot due to its pokeyness. There was air conditioning, but not as you would expect – the only air coming from a tiny cat-flap size window, which, although wide open failed to provide any circulating, cooling air. Really, just a hell hole. The included breakfast was no more than expected of a third class greasy spoon café, everything was swimming in cooking oil with the sausages typical of a very large catering pack, no taste, very little meat but plenty of cereal as bulk. The dining room again looked OK, but as I sat eating my breakfast, I could see that the cleaning had only taken place in obvious places, closer to the walls the floor appeared unclean and dirty. We had very little interaction with the staff, but the few we came into contact were pleasant. Probably not worth the price we paid and if I had booked to stay for more than one night I would have created a fuss and/or moved to another hotel. The best view of the Hilton Royal Parade is over your shoulder as you walk away.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!! I'm sure you would get a better room at Battersea Dogs Home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank DJD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayum A, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Sorry to know that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. This hotel is under a new management and we are trying our best to bring the hotel to the good standard. Soon you will see a difference. Look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked in on a Friday afternoon, staff were plesant enough but spoke very poor english. Lift up to the room was the loudest I've ever been on - sounded like it was going to drop to the floor. Room was impossible to find and happened to be right next to the lift - where it was just as loud if not louder than being in the lift. Room was roasting hot. Pidgeons were outside on the window all night, were very loud and the side of the hotel was covered in their droppings.

The walls were poorly cleaned and in fact the whole place was a bit dirty and needed a lick of paint and some maintainence. The water in the shower was a dribble and the hot was either boiling or not at all. Because the staff could not communicate breakfast was poorly organised and the service was terrible - the second day it took 20 minutes to get a cup of tea. They could not explain how breakfast worked so not surprised they didn't want to take an order. Continental breakfast was a slice of meat (it was like leather) or some slices of cheap cheese and a roll slapped on a plate.

The room was so loud we heard a couple arguing for about 3 hours at night.

Absolutely appalling - do not book here if you want to enjoy your stay. So poor that we ended up falling asleep on the beach 3 days in a row.

The worst hotel in the world - why they can be called a Hilton I have no idea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 12SH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were charged £69.99 for a double room 135 which is as basic as you can get with no sea view or anything special. The room was not a deluxe room. Bog standard. Booking.com, laterooms all stated £49.99. But we arrived 1am and couldn't use these sites. We were ripped off and had to pay upfront. In the morning we asked about the price difference at reception and we were told £50 is the price without breakfast and £70 is the price including breakfast. We'd been taken advantage of and sold a room at a premium it was not worth it. Nothing special here. Go elsewhere!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BillUK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayum A, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am sorry to know you were not happy during your recent stay with us. We have different rate structures and if you book in advance you can get a best value rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From outside it looks like a lovely hotel. Don't be fooled! Inside, you enter a 'refurbished' hall containing a green, half filled fish tank that smells.
On receiving our key, we went to our room. We were appalled! The toilet door didn't close, the wash hand basin was too small to use to wash faces. Forget about filling up the kettle, we had to use a cup. There were no hooks or shelves in the bathroom for towels and toiletries, so we had to keep these outside the broken door. The wardrobe door did not open as the bed was so big it was too close to the door. It meant that we could not move comfortably around the room.
The curtains were incorrectly hung so we could not close them properly. We paid for a room with 2 single beds and ended up with a king size that was far too large to fit in the room.
The room was shabby - to say the least.
The dining room felt as if you were in a dungeon. However, we did have the option of eating upstairs for an extra charge, which was for the sea view! I would rate the food as 1/2 as we ate out the whole time. I don't think the coffee and teapots had ever been cleaned.
We asked for a change of room and we were told to come back 3 days later as the hotel was full. Luckily we only stayed for four.
If you've booked, get your money back NOW!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayum A, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Sorry for the Inconvenience and we are concerned about your reviews. We have already started the work and the necessary measures are being taken to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Alexandra Hotel
The Alexandra Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing