We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What do people expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strand Hotel
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What do people expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was clean (that's the most important thing for me) comfortable enough for a cheap short break and decent breakfast ! Eastbourne is lovely with plenty to do , look this hotel isn't " THE HILTON" but come on your not going to get that for this price ! It is a little run down inside but fine for a base , it is full of old people but why is that such a prob ( I'm 33 btw) when we arrived I did notice a small amount of hair n make up on one of the towels that is bad but I had them changed if there were other issues or I was paying more money then they would have a problem on there hands but that is not the case . If you want a nice short cheap break it's fine . We didn't check reviews b4 booking but after booking read something about forty towers hysterical ! I know it was a complaint but watching what I took to be the mngr at breakfast trying his best to do everything himself we see the funny side of that comment .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cherie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    114
    140
    98
    194
See reviews for
103
280
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked a 3 night stay, bed breakfast and evening meal for just under £100 each. Was pleasantly surprised. Room which we were not in for long was ok. Service was excellent. Clean towels everyday. Self service buffet breakfast with all you could wish to eat. Decaf coffee, scrambled egg provided on request. With some buffet breakfasts you get left with all the dirty dishes on the table. Not here, they were all taken away in a timely manner. Evening meal was pre- ordered from a choice. Service was again very good allowing meal to be taken with time left over to get to theatres etc on time. Free wifi an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulfareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My father has been stays here for years ! Had some great times ! He even come for New Years because they do great deals and good entertainment .
This time the place only 6 mouths later all run down and food rubbish and all hard . And no entertainment only on the days the coaches arrive !!!! Monday & Thursday . So if you go at weekends there not a thing going on . And new management is coming in so bit of a problem going on . Thank u

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickystrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Well I can honestly say I have never stayed at such an awful hotel ever. Myself and my husband have stayed at many hotels in Eastbourne before and this was a real last minute booking as didn't realise we would be free to go but eventually managed to get a twin room as no doubles left. When we arrived the initial entrance was clean but maybe a little tired looking and things gradually went down hill from there. We were given a triple room which had the most amazing view of the sea, and when you laid on the bed nearest the window you could see the whole of the pier. Any nearer the window and you would have been outside on the window ledge/balcony. The room looked like it had been recently painted to try and hide a multitude of sins including the very musky, stagnant smell but unfortunately they had missed the big round bubbling mouldy patch in the ceiling where the toilet was - call this cupboard number 1. This had a sink and toilet in it. Toilet takes three attempts to flush and mind your feet on the broken tiles on the floor too. The other cupboard 2 was the shower and must at some time been a built in wardrobe. We were lucky the two tiles hanging off the wall stayed up whilst in the shower. Curtain was mouldy at the bottom and just a really strange layout. We went down for a pre dinner drink at about half past six and was then told it was cash only at the bar and no drinks could be added to our bill as new owners had taken over and that was not possible yet. We paid and went and sat down with our drinks. Then the fire alarm went off. They had the poor barman going around and checking all the rooms and later on we overheard that there was in fact a fire which he had to put out with an extinguisher. They could not turn off the alarm after half an hour and as everyone was then out the front people were then being allowed to go back in whilst they sorted the alarm out! un knowingly into a place which had a small fire taking place! No fire brigade turned up whilst we were there and after half an hour decided we would go out as the noise was getting on our nerves by then. Later that evening we went back and had a drink in the bar listening to the singer. The poor barman was rushed off his feet and appeared he was running the place on his own. He then said he would have to shut the bar at half past ten because he needed to sort out the rooms which had been affected by the earlier episode as well as sort out the glasses. We then went up to the bedroom and walked in to the smell of stagnant water. This appears to be from the toilet room or the leak upstairs. We left before eight the next morning as was certainly not going to chance breakfast. We knew through trying to book anywhere else that we would not of got another room at this late stage and the only blessing was the fact that the sheets and bedding were spotless. They are just not making the most of a wonderful asset and that room should have been made into a wonderful double with proper ensuite with such a good view.

Room Tip: Room 125 was fantastic view and quiet at night but they need to update it more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Looking forward to a weekend away in Eastbourne we booked this hotel a couple of weeks ago. On arrival (a little too early) we tried hard to find a parking space but eventually drove quite a distance away. We liked the look of our hotel from the outside so leaving our bags in the car spent a pleasant afternoon in Eastbourne in the sunshine. Great! Then we tried to book in but couldn't find any staff, despite calling, banging the counter and looking around the ground floor. Eventually we were given our key and sent into the lift which was smelly, old and creaky and up to room 225. The carpet in the hall area was stained, badly fitted and dirty, the woodwork also in bad repair. The slope leading to our room was creaking and unsteady underfoot. In our room were 3 single beds a rickety old dresser (1970's style) and a poufe which had a phone on it but took up too much room!? The tiny shower room was mouldy and had tiles falling off and had an stiffened plastic shower curtain that had seen better days. The toilet was mouldy and also tiny and no hook for a towel to hang on, so that was left on the shelf next to the toilet. There were stains on the curtains, blistered walls which appeared to have been painted to hide the marks and only one window opened. But we did have a view of the sea and pier!
We settled down on our beds with the thought of exploring more of the town in a while. But then the fire alarm went off. So we hurried downstairs to find out the source of the fire but couldn’t find a member of staff to assist, ask or help anyone. We saw a couple of chaps trying to turn off the alarm but obviously there was a problem – er a fire perhaps? – but no sign of a fire engine! Some people were still being served beer; the whole farce was treated as a joke with the only communication was with the bemused customers who didn’t know what was going on! We went next door to the very smart, welcoming hotel for our beer!
Eventually the alarm was stopped but it didn’t give us a sense of security as no one has given us any information to say the hotel was safe!
A sleepless night, due to heat, noise and being very uncomfortable we went down for breakfast at 8am. The food was no better than the rooms with poor quality bacon and sausages being served with sloppy beans and hard fried eggs. The serving spoons had been put under the lights with the food and were therefore too hot to handle!
I can honestly say that this is the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. It was a shambles as there is such potential for them having a roaring success with the views and the location right on the doorstep!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirlJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hitlon royal parade is an interesting hotel. Me and my husband enjoyed our stay. Yes there was problems with someone individual smoking in the room and caused a fire issue so I over heard. But that's common in hotels unfortunately. This wasn't really a problem our stay was fun and amazing. The receptionists were so helpful mostly polite. The food was nice and well presented with nice professional service. What I have seen is this is a budget hotel. The duty manager explained that it's had new management and are refurbishing the hotel. We had entertainment every night which was a delight. The bar man duty manager man was rushed of his feet but he gave a professional service and helped us with any problems we had. Although it was hot the bar was closed at 10:30 but who came blame him it was a sauna. The staff are the best at what they do. I will vist again with my husband. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssnobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel at last minute as was unable to get on campsite we were booked at due to adverse weather conditions. It was the only hotel that had availability in the area, so whilst we were lucky to have a roof over our heads at such short notice, if I had booked this as a holiday maker I would be very disappointed . The room was tiny with two single beds and the smallest shower / toilet imaginable. It didn't help that it was one of the hottest days of the year so the lack of air con or an opening window made the night almost unbearable. The hallway / stairs were shabby and in need of decorating. The bar area was adequate and the bar man very pleasant . The vinyl chairs in the front bar window area were something I would expect in an old people home !
Beware parking is almost non existent. You can park on the road outside or in the side roads but good luck finding a space. Would we return - definitely not, but we were desperate that night so.....ll

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank luckilucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.6 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#31 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#35 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Property: The Strand Hotel
Address: 35-42 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England (Formerly Hilton Royal Parade Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located directly on Eastbourne seafront opposite the beach with easy walking distance to the pier, bandstand, theatres and the main shopping and town centre facilities. The Hotel has 110 bedrooms with a Bistro restaurant , an Indian restaurant, 3 bars and function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Eastbourne
Eastbourne Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing