We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

There are certain basics I look for in a hotel; clean, warm and friendly. You get all of these at The Winchmore.
We arrived at this Llandudno 2 star hotel one evening in late April, the welcome was friendly and helpful. Our room was freshly decorated, clean and comfortable. We had a few issues but the management were keen to sort them out. The food was fresh cooked to order though the 6pm time for dinner was, we felt, too early. When we asked about it we we found that at busier periods there will be later time options. Dinner must be prebooked so if you are arriving late let them know. The hotel has been under new management for just 6 months and they are putting a lot of work into it. This is a 2 star hotel with rooms at reasonable prices, we enjoyed our stay and hope to return again. We didn't expect 5 star service but we got a much more personal service than at so called better establishments. Check out the website at http://www.winchmore-hotel-llandudno.co.uk/page.asp?id=1 The car park to the rear is a good feature in the centre of this busy North Wales town.

Room Tip: If you want a view choose a room on an upper floor. They have a good modern lift. Sea view rooms cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    124
    51
    13
    11
See reviews for
150
217
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I went for a nice quiet relaxing trip with my dogs ,but it ended up a Nightmare trip and i couldnt stand it any longer and came home the next day very upset . Im glad to say that this kind of treatment to me and my dogs have never happened before in other places we have stayed and others have only showen me and my dogs great kindness and understanding . All i can say is very unkind people ....

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank 50sham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

After requesting a list of disabled friendly hotels from the Tourist Information Office, we stayed here 30 Sept for a week, needing disabled facilities; access at rear of hotel in ample car park and easy access to hotel and lift to 3 floors. However, total lack of handrails, grab rails in tiny bathroom, which was disappointing. The shower door didn't open as full as needed due to washbasin opposite and toilet adjacent, and there were no grabrails inside the tiny cubicle, which was quite raised, so made showering very difficult for my disabled husband, who had to cling to the shower pole for support while I washed him, far from ideal. A request for a shower stool produced a very small stool with rubber feet approx 18" height and there was no way my husband could sit on something so low. Evening meal on the night of arrival was £16 per head, not particularly cheap compared to local restaurants, and food average, no Yorkshire Pudding with the catering slices of beef. Staff friendly and rooms clean and attractive, central heating excellent with ample tea/coffee/biscuits in roooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Winchmore. Our rooms were all of a very good size and spotlessly clean, we had 2 twin rooms and a family room all with sea-views. I can't fault the rooms at all. Breakfast was a full English with a choice of cereal, fruit juice etc, again i cant fault it. We only had dinner on one night which was ok. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The Winchmore is a basic hotel but you pay for what you get and we felt the price was very good. The only thing i would say is that there is only one guest lounge that isnt big enough for a 30 room hotel, we were a family of 7 and filled all the seats. There was another lounge but it is now private and not for guest use..i felt that this was a mistake by the owner to keep it private as the size of the hotel really does need both lounges for guest use. All in all its a good hotel for the money and i'd definatly stay there again. I'm sure the new owners will make more improvements and i wish them all the very best.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband and I booked The Premier Room for 5 nights in August. If you are looking for a lively, bustling hotel then The Winchmore is probably not for you as it is a quiet, relaxing place. There was a private car park at the rear which was a big advantage and a small patio area with table and chairs. The room we were in overlooked the sea from a bay window with magnificent views,was very nicely furnished and decorated and was clean and tidy as was the bathroom. We understood it had been fairly recently refurbished so the other rooms may not have been up to the same standard. We did not use the public rooms so cannot comment on them but there was a bar area which was open in the evenings. The dining room was spacious and well set out and breakfast offered a good choice of hot and cold options with prompt and efficient service. We were staying on a half board basis with very few of the other guests opting for dinner which made it very quiet. The food was average but, again, service was efficient and friendly. This hotel lives up to its 2 star rating and, with some adjustments, could be even better. We understood the present owner, John, and his family had been at The Winchmore for less than a year so are still finding their way. They try very hard to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable so the odd minor hitch can be overlooked. We wish the Storer family every success in their venture.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and book The Premier Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

For a two star hotel, the Winchmore is quite good. It was well located, the rooms are basic but all essential facilities were provided and the room cleaned daily. Parking at the rear of the hotel was also a bonus. Breakfast was good, three courses which included fresh orange juice/cereal/fruit followed by a full English breakfast and finally toast/tea/coffee. The only criticism was that some of the hotel staff lacked basic social skills. For example, a smile or 'good morning' or even asking how we were enjoying our stay. These are simple gestures that cost nothing but go a long way in enhancing a guest's experience. In summary, if you don't mind curt staff and a 'no frills' hotel then this is a good base from which to explore North Wales.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Last minute getaway so we booked at Winchmore hotel as we didn't have many options. Not a good value for money. The rooms are pretty basic. Old furnishings, old carpets, there are stairs in order to access the rooms on the top floor, I thought the window was left open because of the noise but it was not! Just very old. Room walls thin as a paper. Didn't really enjoy the breakfast as well, as some products were cheap. There are not enough parking spaces. Not all the staff is polite and friendly.
But I got to say that it has a great location, right on the promenade just like most of the hotels in Llandudno. With 210£ for a family room for the weekend, I expected much more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#11 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#12 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#36 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 59 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#16 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swn Y Mor Hotel
Swn Y Mor Hotel
#8 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Property: The Winchmore Hotel
Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#20 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing