We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Winchmore Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

stayed here in june for three nights with my wife, and friends joined us for a couple of days, we all had a good stay here the rooms were a bit basic but more than adequate for what we needed. Breakfast were always served with a smile from all members of staff, and the food was always hot and tastey. The car park at the rear is a god send , Llandudno is nt the easiest place to find a car park in. Would definetly recommend the winchmore to anyone who wants a fuss free break in Llandudno.

Room Tip: obviously a sea view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

The room was extremely clean and well equipped. Then it went downhill from there.
We ordered our evening meal. When I asked for wine everyone looked shocked liked they had never been asked about wine before. The host offered me red or white!! I don't think she knew anything about wine. We chose white and it was served warm. The food was poor. Soggy chips and chewy meat. Starter and desert very average. Certainly not worth £16.00. Gin & tonic in bar later served without lemon and ice melted as soon as it hit the gin. Staff very unconfident and unprofessional in my opinion - like they haven't been doing this for very long. Following morning on reception different lady who gave a much better impression. Breakfast poor, over cooked scrambled egg, cold bacon, milk had to be sent back as it was sour. I wouldn't return. Room was £40.00 so it was very cheap but overall a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with a seaview were very nice. Don't bother with food. Useful carpark at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Excellent service at all times, room with sea view and appropriate sofa was visually stunning and very comfortable, en suite bathroom with shower over was spotless, Wi-Fi worked easily and with free parking and lift to all floors a great place to stay. Breakfast was as expected and pleasantly served with a smile. Location within Llandudno was so convenient for just about everything, particularly if you are in need of retail therapy. Would certainly book here again for a holiday break in North Wales and would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the promenade with the sea views, worth a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas-upnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just to say a great big thankyou to all the management and staff at The Winchmore Hotel who made our recent visit so pleasurable and memorable.We made the trip to Llandudno without a prior booking and we were so glad that we chose the Winchmore Hotel. The reception we received was very welcoming, the room was ideal and thanks to the lift we were able to come and go without any problems. The large carpark at the rear of the hotel meant that we didn't have to search for a parking space every time we came in. As we were celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary we decided to have an evening meal in the hotel on the first night. This was a lovely meal, well prepared and cooked and served by pleasant and friendly staff who looked after us very well.The hotel is very well situated and has a lovely outlook over the bay. It is close to the shops, in easy walking distance which is very useful. Overall we would highly recommend it to anyone choosing to visit this part of the welsh coast and this town in particular.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

On the 18th June 2013 my wife and I had three nights stay at Winchmore Hotel. On booking this special short break we were greeted with a welcoming friendliness.

The room we booked was perfect.

Breakfast and evening meal was lovely, served by friendly,efficient staff - with nothing too much trouble. The friendly approach we received throughout our stay could not have been improved. The cleanliness was also impeccable in all areas of the hotel.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our short break so much that we have booked for June 23rd 2014.

We would certainly recommend this very centrally situated hotel, one that caters for all ages along with many facilities such as free parking.

(Please feel free to share this information as desired.)

Brian and Gill Bennett.
Shropshire.
Sent using BlackBerry® from Orange

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left you could not fault this hotel, we were made to feel very welcome . The hotel is also pet friendly which was one of the reasons we chose it . Every member of staff we meet we're very friendly and appeared to be enjoying their work . The location is spot on and the free parking was a bonus.The meals were excellent and the bar prices very fair for a hotel. Can't see it being too long before a revisit is planned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdmm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

we stayed at the winchmore in 1974 and returned 20 june 2013 the hotel had been nicly up gradded. we found the saff very frendly and pleassent .the bed room was warm and clean with a walkin shower tv &hair dryer car parking was free. lift to all flores. breakfast was excellent. this hotel is a little gem. we are returning soon for another wonderful visit

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#32 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Tudno Hotel
St. Tudno Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karden House Hotel
Karden House Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#5 of 60 in Llandudno
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 60 in Llandudno
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchmore Hotel

Address: 7-8 Mostyn Crescent | Central Promenade, Llandudno LL30 1AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Winchmore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchmore Hotel is ideally situated on the Promenade adjacent to the beach, with panoramic views overlooking the Bay. Family run Hotel, great accessibility with lift to every floor and FREE car park for guests. 32 en-suite single/double/twin/family and Premier rooms. Sea View rooms. Every room has tea & coffee making facilities & flat screen TV. The Hotel has a bar and also offers optional 3 course evening meal. Open for Christmas and New Year. The Hotel caters for large groups and private functions, i.e. Anniversaries, Funerals, Christenings, Weddings etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Winchmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchmore Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing